Still Alive

12 Feb

Before I forget – I wanted to thank everyone for the sweet comments on the blog that Hubby posted. =) He was really excited about it and he LOVED reading all of the responses he got – I think I may have created a monster! lol

The Lap went fine; My mother ended up taking me in for the surgery so Hubby could go to work (he doesn’t get vacation or sick days – huge bummer). I did OK until they had to take the IV out for the third time because they couldn’t find a good vein, for some reason that just set me off on a “feeling sorry for myself” rampage. By the time they got the IV in right and got me into the operating room I was hyperventilating (yeah, I’m embarrassed now, I don’t know what got into me). The anesthesiologist ended up asking the doctor if she could knock me out a few minutes early because I was panicking. All I remember after that is feeling a “tingling” sensation start at the top of my head and work down towards my toes – everything got “heavy” feeling and I allowed myself to drift off.

The next thing I knew I was laying on my side in the recovery area and a bunch of people were trying to wake me up – apparently they had a bit of a difficult time getting me to wake up. I felt OK after the surgery. In fact – I think the first thing I said was “Hmmm, not too bad. It just feels like bad period cramps.”.

I was up and out of the hospital pretty quick after that. I had no nausea or anything (I made sure they gave me anti-nausea meds). I went home, ate two bowls of mac & cheese and watched some movies. I was able to walk around fine but it was really hard to pee at first, I think because I was afraid to use the muscles to “push” like I normally would. OH, the gas did hurt. BAD. But thankfully I was able to find one spot (on my left side) that made the pain go away…

The second day I woke up feeling pretty good so I decided to take a shower. For some reason when I got out I started throwing up and couldn’t stop for the rest of the day. The pain of throwing up after having my stomach muscles cut into was not much fun…so I ended up having to call the doctor and have him call me in a prescription for anti-nausea meds to take at home. Those did the trick and by Sunday I was up and taking rides in the car. Monday we went out to eat. Today I ran an errand.

If it wasn’t for the nature of my work I would have gone back today or tomorrow, but since I have to do so much driving and lifting I am going to wait until Thursday to go back.

All in all though, NO where near as bad as I was expecting. If it hadn’t been for the puking it would have been no big deal at all. Of course, they found nothing inside of me so all they did was take pictures and look around.

Whew, I’m glad that’s over though. Right now I am still really sore and my stomach is very bloated (I look about 4 months pregnant), plus my belly button has a huge green bruise around it – very attractive. Also (TMI warning) my last BM was on Thursday even though I have been taking stool softeners every day since Friday…I’m starting to get annoyed.

Now that that’s all done, we accepted the loan (huge pain in the butt though, I’ll blog about that tomorrow) and ordered the meds. Weee hoo! Lupron injections start on Monday.

9 Responses to “Still Alive”

  1. Amy February 12, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Oh my gosh! That is wonderful how quickly you bounced back from the lap! I can’t believe you were eating mac & cheese the night you got home. That’s incredible! I don’t think I ate anything for the first three days post-op, and I was writhing in pain, so you managed the surgery SO much better than I did. Maybe part of it was that they had to remove endo for me? Either way, I’m so happy you’re recovered (sorry you were throwing up, that’s no fun) and that you’re starting Lupron on Monday. Yay!

  2. Michell February 12, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    Glad it all went well except the puking. Take care.

  3. BlueBella February 12, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Oh sweets you have been through so much! I’m so glad everything looks good – what a blessing and a relief!!!!!!!!!
    Take care of yourself of course and hubby take care of you too:)
    Here’s to hoping for quick success after all of this! At least now you can be confident you are all OK!

  4. noswimmers February 12, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    Ugh, what an ordeal–you poor thing. Sounds like hubby is a sweetie though and took good care of you!

    I’m so excited for you–things are moving along!

  5. futurewise February 13, 2008 at 5:42 am #

    Wow, what a speedy recovery- it must be cos’ of our vibes… 😉 You are such a strong girl, and it was very sweet of your hubby to keep us posted…
    I wish you good luck with the rest of the treatment…

  6. futurewise February 13, 2008 at 5:44 am #

    Oh I forgot to mention – seems like we’re going to have egg retrieval and BFPs at about same time… It’s so much easier when there’s someone we can relate to!

  7. Michelle February 13, 2008 at 2:43 pm #

    It all sounds like my own experience only you’re healing MUCH quicker. They ended up doing a ton of stuff to me though, and my outpatient surgery ended up being an overnight stay in the hospital. I’m glad yours went so smooth and your recovery was so quick. I remember the lack of BM being frustraing for me too. Then when it did happen, I just wanted to die. I had to take a percocet and go back to bed. lol But like I said, they did a ton of work on me.

    The good news is, it only gets better from here on out! I’m glad you’re feeling better. 🙂

  8. Trace February 13, 2008 at 5:39 pm #

    I am the queen of digestive issues. Try Benefiber! I has no flavor and you can sprinkle it on any food, mix w/any uncarbonated drink, or whatever. Oh, drink lots and lots of water.

    It sounds like you’re healing nicely!!

  9. Tashida February 15, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    So glad to hear that the lap went well! Speedy recovery!

Leave a comment