The End (for now) of Potty Learning

7 Sep

Yep.

TWO mother-humping days later.

Everything went great for awhile – Lennon promptly peed in the potty thee second I brought them home and plunked them on the floor. A few hours later and Evelynn was getting in on the action.

They would both excitedly run over to the potties each time they were prompted (every 30 minutes or so) and would sit – concentrating intently – and even occasionally producing some urine.

A few hours after that – they both started  peeing on the floor with reckless abandon.

Both Alex and I tried patiently to remind them that “the pee pee goes in the potty, NOT on the floor.”

They didn’t much care.

In fact, they soon started to argue with us. NO they did not want to pee on the potty. NO they did not want to be big girls.

After several attempts at getting them to sit on the pot resulted in tears and tantrums, we gave the eff up. Yep. We’re quitters.

After a full day of diapering (today) with intermittent asking if they were interested in the potty (NO!) I brought out the big guns:

I presented the Yo Gabba Gabba underwear.

They were thrilled.

They named all of the characters…

(And then I almost passed the hell out because a few weeks ago Lennon was a catatonic zombie disaster!)

…and begged to put them on.

Over their diapers.

When I explained that they could not pee in these Lennon promptly handed hers over and turned her attention to the TV.

When I went on about how only big girls who went pee in the potty got to wear underwear like these and “ohhh, see how nice and soft and DRY they are?” they both reached out to pat them appreciably.

When I asked if they were ready to be big girls who peed on the potty and not in their big girl underwear Evy shook her head “no” and handed her’s over as well.

Phuck.

Obviously, they get the concept. Obviously, they are not ready.

Double phuck.

Nothing to do now but wait them out, I suppose?

4 Responses to “The End (for now) of Potty Learning”

  1. Ellie September 8, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    I think this is pretty common. I have 4 kids, and my youngest is now 22 months so we decided to start trying. We bought a small plastic potty, yea not so much. So I went back out and bought a Dora potty seat that goes over the regular toilet. This is what I used for my other 3, and frankly it is so much easier. No cleanup! Anyway, she peed a coule of times, and wanted to sit on it frequently. Now, she will not even go near it. Except to flush the toilet after I go. That she is very excited about. So we are just going to wait. Once they are ready, it is easy. The key is waiting until then. Some mothers don’t believe in that, they believe in forcing the issue based on age. I don’t know about that.

  2. S September 8, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Oh my word…this one has me giggling out loud. How can it be that such small people have such strong opinions???

    I think that now you wait…..or either make yourself crazy by arguing with them and cleaning up lots of pee.

    Did I already mention the candy trick that worked with my first daughter? A small container of skittles or m&m’s worked wonders for her. One for tee tee and two for poop. However, I have a feeling my little girl has bigger ambitions and won’t feel rewarded by candy, but in a couple of months I plan to give it a try!!

  3. seussgirl September 9, 2010 at 6:01 am #

    I wouldn’t worry – they’re still so young! (Some days it doesn’t feel like it, right?) We had some early success, and then nothing, too. Now we’re trying again. I also believe in waiting and not forcing. Now, we’re just trying to “encourage” at several times a day, especially before bed. Hoping it takes soon!

  4. Michell September 9, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Ok so sorry I’m laughing but this is actually sort of funny. They will get there and now that they’ve had some experience with it when they do decide they’re ready it will probably happen quick. Hang in there mom.

Leave a Reply

