Potty Learning

5 Sep

After talking about it all day for the past few days I finally admitted to myself that it was time for the twins to start potty learning.

Actually, its been time for awhile.

They have both been talking about poop, pee and potty for a long time. Showing interest in Alex and I using the bathroom and announcing when they needed to go/had already gone.

Honestly, it was ME that wasn’t ready.

Yesterday I decided that it was finally time and I set out to Babies R Us for some potties and “training” pants.

I came back with two of these:

They seem to be well-reviewed and the girls are able to get on/off of them easily.

I also ended up with Pull-Ups…though I’m not sure why. I wanted cloth “trainers” but the BBRU in the middle-of-nowhere (where I currently reside) does not carry such new-fangled items.

And Yo Gabba Gabba undies.

The girls have not gotten to wear them yet though – they are going to have to earn them. By peeing (and pooping) in the potties consistently.

For part of yesterday and all of today (except nap time when they wore Pull-Ups) they have been sans clothing from the waist down. We prompt them every so often (we really need to get a timer) to go and sit on the potty.

No one did anything yesterday, unless you count Evelynn peeing all over Alex’s work chair.

But today Lennon peed on the potty as soon as she got up this morning. Then she peed again (just a few drops). Then Evy peed on the floor. And then Evy peed a few drops on the toilet.

Over all, I am very impressed. I thought it would take days for them to pee in the potty at all. I think I’ve really been holding them back and they’ve been ready for quite some time now.

Goodbye babies. Hello little girls.

7 Responses to “Potty Learning”

  1. S September 5, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Sweet and smart girls. I must admit that I’m not overly interested in #2 learning to potty. I actually do not miss the days of shopping and having a small child announce the need for a bathroom, NOW!!! I would, however, love to stop changing diapies!!!

    Have you heard of the potty watch? I didn’t use it for #1 but have purchased it for #2. (Who is quickly approaching her 2nd bday and already wakes up dry from overnite….am I lazy or what?????).

    • MrsLala September 7, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

      I just saw it the other day and was thinking about ordering it (it was in a magazine).

  2. Michell September 5, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Good luck with the potty learning. I hope it goes well with minimal accidents around the house.

  3. Maura September 6, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    Potty training twin girls is a challenge! I’m glad you got 2 potties. It saved us when one girl was taking “too long” on the big potty.
    One piece of advice… don’t clean panties after a “big” accident. I did the math. They are roughly the same cost as a pull up. Life is too short to clean poop out of panties!

    Good luck!

    • MrsLala September 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      Good advice!

  4. Chelle September 6, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    I do not look forward to potty training. At all. Not even just because I don’t want my baby to grow up (which let’s be honest, what mother wants her babies to grow up), but because of all the hassle. I hate potty training dogs, let alone kids. lol

    Good luck with the new adventure.

    • MrsLala September 7, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Yeah, my offical advice is put it off as long as you can. The view from here pretty much sucks! lol

      Honestly, I didn’t want to start but I also didn’t feel like hearing people comment about how they were two and we weren’t “potty training” them yet. Now I’m thinking I’m just going to have to deal with the comments for awhile.

Leave a Reply

