Cloth Diapering and a Little Theft…

2 Jul

Yes. I am stealing someone’s internet right now. Don’t even get me STARTED on the heinous nightmare that has been trying to get internet/TV service here. Holy HELL…I *will* post about it, and soon.

Right now, I wanted to debrief after my first full week of cloth diapering.

I am at an impasse because Hubby and I prefer two totally different types of diapers. He likes the hybrids (gDiapers) and I prefer all in ones or all in twos (pocket diapers). I hate the hybrids because they are more work, IMO. I have never changed one where the liner did not get soiled and they require THREE different pieces to do their job…where as the AIOs are just one (or two). Simple.

Also, my girls have learned to remove diapers with velcro and so I like that the AIOs come with snaps.

(They take them off when they need to poop, BTW. We will start potty-learning very soon).

What I DO like about the gDiapers is that they are much trimmer and could fit under their clothing. The AIOs are SOOO bulky that the girls will only be able to wear dresses and the boy can only wear the diaper w/o pants. This isn’t TOO much of an issue since we are only going to cloth diaper at home for now and we are home 90% of the time.

I started writing this post with the intention of stating that I would be buying 1/2 and 1/2 so that Hubby and I both got the type we prefered but I just realized that if we only CD at home then I really don’t NEED the trimmer diaper and if that changes I will still have a few of the gBaby ones to go out with anyway.

So, I win! =)

Off to make my purchase…

11 Responses to “Cloth Diapering and a Little Theft…”

  1. Jess July 3, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    I love our BG3s and am now am looking into some fuzzibunz. As for the bigger butt, I just buy her clothes a size larger, or if I can buy pieces individually, I just go up to the next size.

    DD hasn’t started unvelcroing yet, but I always have pants or a onesie on over her diapers.

  2. Elle July 5, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    I started cloth diapering my daughter a few months ago and tried the gdiapers first but didn’t care for them. Then I tried the Bumgenius all in one and it was LOVE. I even got my hubby to use them when he’s home. On our daughter, not himself b/c that would be weird.

  3. BlueBella July 8, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Good job dollie on the cloth diapering! You will save so much $$$ and it will surely help with the potty training.

  4. Jen July 12, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Just found your blog and agree with you completely on Gdiapers. I tried (and failed) at them miserably as they were so much more work than regular diapers. We are now attempting the potty business (though my Little Guy is not very fond of it), but have been BumGenius (AIOs) fans since he was 6 months old…

    Oh, and we have saved a ton of money. Not only on the diapers, but not buying other junk I don’t need at Target b/c I stopped in for diapers and wipes (we also do cloth wipes) and couldn’t resist x, y or z….

  5. Jennifer July 27, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    How are you liking the brand of diapers you chose?? I am making the switch to cloth and am trying to decide on a brand. I am leaning towards some fuzzi bunz perfect fit and aio bumgenius. The ones you chose are super cute and a really great price so am thinking about those too! 🙂

    • mrslala July 28, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      I really, REALLY like the Kawaii Baby diapers. I have one bum genius and two Sun Baby (or Sunshine? IDK)…anyhow…I like these by FAR the best. And ya can’t beat the price!

  6. Jennifer July 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Are the Kawaii diapers the ones in the link you have in your post at theluvyourbaby.com website??

    • mrslala July 28, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      Yes! And if you want some ideas on which to purchase, I have a bunch of different ones, some I like better than others.

  7. Jennifer July 28, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    I would LOVE to know which ones you like best 🙂 Thanks soo much!!

    • mrslala July 28, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      We really like the minkis the best, but the PULL ones are good too. We prefer the kind where the pocket is in the back rather than in the front, and we do NOT like the velcro at ALL. Not only does it wear out quickly and destroy everything it touches, but the kids can undo it (even Nolan).

      These are our fav: http://theluvyourbaby.com/Minky.htm

      Then these: http://theluvyourbaby.com/SnapClosure.htm

  8. Jennifer August 12, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    I ordered some of the one size snap closures and got them yesterday. The quality is much better then I thought they would be!! I am going to wash them today and if we like them I am going to order more plus some of the minkys. Thank you so much for your suggestion!! I read that it says not to put the cover in the dryer so do you just hang dry them and put the inserts in the dryer? Also, do you stuff the pocket with the insert or do you just lay it in the diaper?? I have heard of people doing both but not sure which works best. Thank you soo much!!

Leave a Reply

