Out damn spot(s)!

27 May

When I was pregnant with Nolan I developed a pretty bad case of Melasma (also called “pregnancy mask”). It is a darkening of the skin caused by a combination of hormones and sun exposure. That trip to Hawaii had a greater cost than I realized! I now have a dark patch on my forehead between my eyebrows and on my upper lip. Yea, I’m looking good.

Notsomuch.

For most people the “mask” goes away after they give birth or (when the hyperpigmintation is caused by the pill, after they discontinue those). I was not that lucky.

I’ve tried exfoliation and the Olay microderm and home chemical peel and tons and tons of sun screen. No luck with those either.

It is now time for drastic measures. I have ordered a strong(ish) chemical peel from Amazon.

I am either going to burn the ever-loving shiznit out of my face and look like the swamp-thing…or this is going to be the most brilliant money saving venture I have ever attempted.

The kit should arrive in about a week…so we shall see.

Anyone else have hyperpigmintation? How did you treat it? Any luck?

12 Responses to “Out damn spot(s)!”

  1. studentrntiffany May 27, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I had a chemical peel a couple years ago when a sunburn left me with some hyperpigmentation. My skin looked horrible for a couple weeks but got way better!! And even better, when the new skin grew in, my face felt like a babies butt!

    Good luck!!

  2. Stephanie May 27, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    The pp makes me want a chemical peel. I want my face to feel like a baby butt!!!

    I had that whole pigment thing going on too. Most of mine faded except for a spot on my cheek. It really only shows up after a beach week. My derm told me she would give me some bleaching cream for it, but I just let it go. If the peel doesn’t work search out some bleaching cream.

    The craziest place for my darkening was around my lips. It was like I had a permanent lip liner in dark brown on the OUTSIDE of my natural lip line. I’m so glad that one went away!!!

  3. Ms. J May 27, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Ugh, that sounds awful!!!

    Ever since becoming pregnant with Peanut (and giving birth – which still shocks me most days), I have had this flaky, saggy, flesh-toned crap under my eyes which is making me look so old and nasty. Sigh. I think I need to see a cosmetic dermatologist to get it resolved — esp. since I don’t want to spend time or money on the wrong things bought OTC. Sigh again. It really bothers me. I am not tired yet I look 10 years older and more tired.

  4. Laurel May 27, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Please tell me how this goes! I have HORRIBLE Pregnancy mask! My mom came over yesterday when I had no make up on and said WOW you have MUSTACHE! I said thanks mom its the pregnancy! Well let me know I would love to be able to get rid of it after this baby is born it never went away after my first one either!

  5. elxcel May 27, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Poor Mr. LaLa. Are you SurE you want to risk doing damage to that beautiful face of yours? I don’t think you need it. But if you insist, I’d rather you just spend the money and have it done professionally. ❤

  6. elxcel May 27, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    MRS. LALA. damnit!!

  7. battynurse May 28, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Good luck. I hope it works.

  8. jwhite05 May 29, 2010 at 6:10 am #

    I’ve always had freckles and they get MUCH worse in the sun. My mom kept telling me that she thinks I have pregnancy mask and I honestly can’t tell if I still do or not. I still have a ton of freckles from last summer (they usually get lighter during the winter). I don’t have any large spots, but there are clumps that make me look like I have dirt on my face.

    I hope the peel works for you 🙂

  9. seussgirl May 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    I don’t know if it’s the same thing or not; I had skin darkening on my underarms and in my belly button of all places. The doc said it would go away. I’m still waiting. Not a fun thing with summer coming on strong and being too embarrassed to wear tank tops. (The belly button cleared up oddly enough.)
    Good luck with the peel!

  10. Ashley Beasley June 1, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    Hey, I see you talking on twitter about gdiapers lol. I don’t tweet lol, so I thought I’d comment here. I used them for about a year. Exclusively. I’m destashing now. I have smalls, mediums, and larges I’m selling. Let me know if you decide you like them and are interested in what I have. 🙂 Just shoot me an email. I would have emailed you, but I didn’t know it. Addie is so slim, they have started leaking on her. Until now though, I have never had a problem with them. I used the cloth inserts too. Loved them!

  11. jodi June 8, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    i’ve had melasma for years – i used to get this fade cream from the dermatologist (but only as samples because the RX was too expensive)… i’m using one now, that i found at the drug store, and it seems to help though i forget the name… i’ll check tonight… it will never go away (i’ve been told) but does fade in the winter…

  12. Two Makes Four June 14, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Ooooh, let me know how it turns out. I got that lovely Mask of Pregnancy with my girls and it never really went away. (I still have my stomach line, too. I’m a hormonal skin changing magnet.) Now that I’m expecting again, guess what’s back? DAMMIT. I look like I’m constantly walking in a shadow.

Leave a Reply

