The Boob, Among Other Things

20 May

I don’t know how interested all you are in hearing about my boobs, but since they are the center of my son’s universe, I thought maybe you all would enjoy an update as well.

(Wow, my mind is spinning wondering about the hits this post is going to get from Google searches! lol)

Nolan was exclusively breastfed for the first six months. I would pump twice a day at work and any other time that I got a free moment in an effort to build up a huge stock pile in the freezer.

On May 5th he turned 6 months old and we started him on solids. He’s had bits here and there before that, but he’s enormous and so when he turned 6 months we started making sure that he gets food on a regular basis. I wanted to do Baby Led Weaning with him but, of course, my mom refuses. So he is currently getting baby food with her and table food with me. It works I suppose. For now.

Now several things are occurring at once. I’ve run out of frozen stores of breast milk and can’t pump as often at work to replenish them because I have taken a new position with my company. So, I have made the decision to go ahead and give Nolan formula while I am at work. I am still pumping some and so he will get the occasional bottle of breast milk but by and large it’s going to be boob when he’s with momma and formula when he’s not. I’m very comfortable with this since a) he is still getting breast milk when I’m around and b) he was starting solids anyway. I’m just thrilled that he was exclusively breastfed (well, he had a few bottles of formula in the very early days) until he was 6 months. That’s way better than we did with the twins!

However, since he is now getting solids he has suddenly gone from nursing all night long to sleeping all or most of the night. This means that on work days I am only nursing him once or twice before work, pumping once (if at all!) at work, and then nursing him two or three times in the evenings.

I’m actually pretty happy with how things have worked out thus far! He doesn’t have any teeth yet so nursing is still pretty comfortable. Although, he’s VERY interested in everything that’s going on in his environment these days so if his sisters are playing with an interesting toy or he hears a noise in the next room, or a fascinating dust mote floats by….we get the “clamp and tug” as I like to call it. In other words, he bites down with this gums and whips his head around with my poop bewbie still attached. Yeow!

It’s all worth it though, I suppose. The kids a tank. He’s never really been sick a day in his life (*knock on wood*) and he’s wearing size 18 month clothing at 6 months!

He rolls both ways now and can sit on his own for a long time without help. No crawling yet, but he’s trying.

The girl’s favorite phrases, by the way, include such gems as “Where is baby?”, “That is baby!” and “That my baby!”.

LOVE IT!

7 Responses to “The Boob, Among Other Things”

  1. Ms. J May 20, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Ah yes, the boob. My supply remains pitiful, and I think Peanut uses it more for comfort (the b.oob) than anything else. I am in awe of how long you’ve been able to. BTW I am typing this one-handed from work (private office) as I pump. LOL.

  2. Stephanie May 20, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    I bet those girls love the baby! He’s probably almost their size by now, right? We need to see some new pics of those three.

  3. battynurse May 20, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Ok so I just cringe at the clamp and tug. Sounds so painful.
    Good job on exclusive breastfeeding for 6 months. That’s awesome.

  4. studentrntiffany May 20, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Can I please have the info for your PWP? I need to see Nolan!

    my email: rosales.tiff@gmail.com

    Love!!

  5. Theresa May 22, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    My dd is 3.5 months old & all of 11.5 lbs, she does the “clamp and tug” (love how you worded it, I think I’m going to borrow that) and it hurts now, I can only imagine how she’ll be at 6 months. Ouch, the girls quiver just thinking about it!

    Congrats on bf’ing for 6 months already! Impressive!

    Hope the new position is going well.

  6. Chelle May 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    That is so awesome you have made it to 6 months and beyond! I am glad it worked out for you. I wish I had been able to bf for that long. I wanted to, it just didn’t work out. Maybe next time. 🙂

    Give the kiddos hugs and loves for me!

  7. noswimmers May 28, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

    Owie owie owie on the clamp and tug. My little dude does that as well. He’s also recently discovered he can reach for my nipple with his hand and pinch/pull. Fun times.

    Good luck with “the girls” (ummm…the twins…oh…ummm…the little human girls that walk around, as well as “the twins” on your chest). Both…both sets of girls.

Leave a Reply

