I Need YOU!

29 Apr

Well, your advice anyway.

Remember back in December when my CEO called to tell me that I had been demoted (while I was on maternity leave)? And how I had a meeting with her after during which she promised that I would get first consideration for any new positions that opened up?

And then in the mean time I got the WORST employee review I have EVER had by Evil Ex-Boss.

Well, a new position has opened up and I am trying to decide if I want to bother trying for it or just stay where I am.

I hate the position I am doing now. When I say that it’s glorified babysitting, I’m not exaggerating. It involves working with disabled youth doing skill building (think, taking a kid with Down’s Syndrome to McDonalds and teaching them to order a hamburger). I also transport (read: glorified taxi driver) and supervise birth family visits. While this job has a lot of fulfilling and endearing moments – it has even more moments being attacked by a teenager hell-bent on smearing you with his/her own feces and watching drugged-up parents further traumatize their children.

In short: I used to LOVE this job. But that was when I was in college and a lot younger. I’m DONE with it now.

This new position would be a lot like the one I just got booted from. I would be working with teenagers who are exiting foster care or parole. It’s case management (which means I actually get to make a difference!). But the down side is that it is a 24/7 on call position AND it would require moving to an area about an hour from where I currently live. A yucky area (it’s in the desert on the way to Las Vegas).

While we need to move anyway and this is a very AFFORDABLE area…I just don’t know…

Plus I would need to have childcare at the drop of a hat…as long as the position did not begin for a month or so that probably wouldn’t be a problem…Alex can’t lift the kids for another month.

So, help me out folks. Help me think this through. I don’t know if it would be an increase in pay or not. It might be, but it’s doubtful because I work for a non-profit.

It would mean actually getting to use my BRAIN, not to mention my degree…which is nice…

Of course, there is always the possibility that Evil Ex-Boss will be the “Boss” of this position too (it has yet to be decided) in which case this is obviously a no-go.

And I have yet to hear whether or not I have been accepted (again) to the graduate program that I applied to (again). If I am then I might want to keep my current job and just work it part time.

I can always just APPLY for the position…I don’t have to take it if it’s offered. But if I apply and it’s NOT offered I will be PISSED.

3 Responses to “I Need YOU!”

  1. battynurse April 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Wow. Tough choice. Not sure where the undesirable place to live is but I have to say that some of the places in central valley that are viewed as so horrible aren’t half bad. It would be way easier for you to get a place in a cheaper environment. Although if evil boss would continue to be your boss I’d say no way. Also the graduate program could be an issue. When would you know about that? I think you should at least apply. It’s easier to turn the job down than to wish you had applied.

  2. sweet georgia April 30, 2010 at 5:03 am #

    I think you should apply for it for a couple of reasons. 1. It’s in an affordable area – this is something you need. 2. It’s doing something that it really sounds like you’re interested in doing (making a difference) 3. It will help with a potential lawsuit if things ever got that far re: your horrendous, unfair, lying review – if you don’t get the job it will be one more thing for you to use.

    Also, you can negotiate the job start so that it’s after Alex is able to pick up the kids and also to give you time to get your life set up (housing, child care etc).

    Good luck whatever you decide.

  3. Stephanie April 30, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Hmmm…that’s a hard one. I think you should apply. If you apply and get the position and don’t want it…then you can bow out. If you don’t apply you may wish later that you had applied. I have a big issue with regrets…….so it’s just my two cents.!!!

    I hope the evil boss doesn’t get in the way!!!

Leave a Reply

