Lil Update…

19 Apr

So sorry for the lack up updates. Things have been crazy post-transplant…as I’m sure you can imagine.

Hubby is doing well…

The transplant was two weeks ago today and it did not start working right away as we had hoped that it would. Apparently this happens it about 20% of transplants, particularly when the organ has been on ice for an extended period of time (in Hubby’s case it was 26 hours). Usually it only lasts for a few days but occasionally it takes a few weeks and even more rarely a few months for the kidney to start working…in very rare cases it never functions at all.

We know a bit about the donor but I’m not sure if I want to post what we know because I don’t know if I want anyone to be able to put together the pieces and figure out who he was. But lets just say that I *really* hope that it all works out and lasts us for a long, long time. Not only for us, but for this man’s family as well.

Just today it seems to be actually picking up steam (it’s been making SOME urine, just not enough to keep Hubby from having to do dialysis).

Other than that…everything’s going great. Just hoping to get off dialysis soon so tha all of this seems REAL!

I’ll update more soon (now that things are starting to calm down).

In the mean time, please go visit my friend Tammy…she really needs some love right now.

8 Responses to “Lil Update…”

  1. Michell April 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Good to hear that hubby is doing well. I hope the kidney starts functioning well soon.

  2. Orodemniades April 19, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Good news – soon to be beyond excellent, I hope!

  3. Ms. J April 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    thinking of you five and sending love!

  4. Chelle April 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Wow! That is AWESOME news about the transplant! I can’t believe it came so quickly after the last one fell through. That is great! I hope it starts doing its job sooner than later so your hubby can get off the dialisis. I bet you two are over the moon for him to be healthy again.

    As for Tammy, it totally breaks my heart. I thought for sure she would be pregnant. I wish there was something we could do for her. I am sure she is completely devastated. I know I am devastated for her. 😦

  5. S April 19, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I’m glad that you checked in! I need to follow you on twitter but always forget to do it. I hope it starts working very soon and you guys can settle in to the new improved hubby. Hugs.

  6. studentrntiffany April 19, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Im so glad that everything is going well! Making urine is huge progress!

  7. Bean April 20, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    So glad to hear from you and to hear that things are going well. Thinking of you all and hoping that the kidney starts rockin’ and rollin’ so your hub can be off the dialysis!

  8. Sweet Georgia April 23, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Glad to hear that hubby is doing well. Hope he’s off of the dialisys soon.

Leave a Reply

