Holy Kidney Transplant Batman!

28 Mar

Today Hubby and I got up and decided to take the kiddos on a walk down to the park and then to a local fast food restaurant for lunch. On our way back. Hubby’s cell phone rang. As I was popping a paci back in Nolan’s mouth the wind blew just the right way and I overheard “Is this the [Hubby’s name] who is on the waiting list for a kidney at Ceder Sinai?” and then I heard Hubby proceed to state that he had not had a fever or infection recently and that he had just eaten lunch.

My think my heart actually stopped beating for a few seconds.

That was at 12:30pm. It is now 4pm and the deal is this:

When you get to the top of the transplant list you are actually in a pool of three people. When an organ becomes available they cross-type (mix your blood with blood from the donor) and see who has the best (least) reaction. Then they decide which of the three people will get the organ based on those results and things like who is closest to the hospital, who has not been sick recently…etc.

When they called Hubby at 12:30 they told him that his blood was having a VERY favorable non-reaction to the donor blood and to wait by the phone. They will be calling us back between 5 and 6 to let us know if it’s our turn or not. Surgery is at midnight for whomever they choose.

If it’s just I’ll be Tweeting (look to the right).

Some prayers wouldn’t hurt…if you don’t mind. We appreciate all sorts – meditations, “good vibes”, we’re not picky.

15 Responses to “Holy Kidney Transplant Batman!”

  1. Vivid1230 March 28, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Holy Moly! Prayers a coming….

  2. Michell March 28, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Many many good vibes coming your way and hoping that you’ll soon be getting ready for surgery.

  3. Michell March 28, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Or that hubby will be is what I meant.

  4. ultimatejourney March 28, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Sending good thoughts your way.

  5. Ms. J March 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    thinking about the 5 of you and sending lots of strength and love and hope and prayers.

  6. Tammy March 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    OH MY GOSH!! I’m SOOOO happy for you!! Can’t wait to hear!!!

  7. Stephanie March 28, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Holy monkeys! Best wishes, lots of prayers, and good vibes all sent your way.

  8. annacyclopedia March 28, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Oh wow oh wow oh wow!!!! I am praying for you both and am anxiously waiting to hear what happens next – I hope this is his turn!

  9. Katie March 29, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    I was so excited to read this and then so disappointed when I saw your twitter update. Lots of prayers that the NEXT one will be IT!!!

    Hugs.

  10. Chelle March 29, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Argh! I just read your tweet before commenting. Blast it all! How frustrating. It makes me want to stamp my feet in protest. I realize that this is how things work, but I’m frustrated on your behalf. Dang it.

  11. Tammy March 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    DANG IT! I just read your tweet. I’m soooo sorry! But, you’re right there! It’s an awesome feeling, isn’t it?

  12. Alex March 29, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    fingers crossed for a match soon!!

  13. Kristine Brite March 29, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    Saw your twitter update to the right. I’m so sorry. What a roller coaster ride of emotions this all most of been for you. Lots of love. xoxo

  14. Sweet Georgia March 30, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    Sorry that this wasn’t the perfect kidney for your hubby. Hopefully the next one will be the one.

  15. bustedbabymaker March 30, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    So sorry this wasn’t the one….hoping you get that call again soon.

Leave a Reply

