Adventures in Breastfeeding

28 Jan

When I was pumping breastmilk for the girls the most adventurous place that I ever pumped/fed was in my car with a hand pump (I had a hospital-grade pump which was provided by the girl’s insurance because they were preemies. It was HUGE and hedious.) And, as we all know, I was unable to continue pumping and caring for my very sick little girls once they came home – so that only lasted for about three months.

Anyhow – totally different story this time around. I now routinely pack up my awesome Medela pump (a VERY generous gift from a lady on my twins message board) and hit the road. Usually I just pump in my car (I just use a nursing shawl, it works great), but I did pump at Disneyland last week. They have AWESOME baby facilities and a great pumping area – I was SO impressed!

Where am I going with all of this you might be wondering?

A friend of mine had booked a huge group of us (myself included) tickets to be in the audience (and, therefore, potential contestants) on The Price Is Right next Wednesday.

My sweet friend even called ahead to ask if I could bring the pump past security and if there would be any facility I could pump in (they have graciously offered me a bathroom, lol).

This should be interesting.

We have to leave by 6:30am to get to the studio by 8:45am. The show tapes at 1pm.

Wish me luck!

4 Responses to “Adventures in Breastfeeding”

  1. Alex January 28, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    LOL I could swear you were going to say you were planning on pumping while in the audience 🙂

    Good luck!! Let us know if you get one. I don’t usually watch it but I’d tune in to see someone I “know”. LOL let me guess you’ll be the one with the nursing shawl around your neck?

  2. Michell January 28, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Whoohoo!! Have fun!!

  3. Carrie January 29, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    I am so jealous! I have always wanted to be on The Price is Right! You must let us know when it airs because I watch it almost every day!

  4. Ms. J January 29, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Now that’s a new one! Is there a web site for “Strangest Place I Ever Pumped”?! If so, this should be added.

    If only Bob Barker were still there . . . he could pop in to supervise, and remind you to spay and neuter your animals.

Leave a Reply

