Makeover

13 Jan

I finally did it. As promised.

I’m not sure I like the look of things yet. We’ll see.

And I decided to keep Empty Uterus. It’s empty now. It probably will be from now on. It says a lot about who I am, why I am the way I am, etc.

The header is just something I came up with goofy around in paint (as if you couldn’t tell!). But it’ll do for now.

I deleted the blogs on my blogroll that hadn’t posted in a very long time, and I started going through and adding some new ones but I’ve run out of time. If you would like to be added to my blogroll please just leave me a comment letting me know and it will be done.

And I hear all three little ones starting to stir so before I am called away to feed and feed and feed some more tiny humans:

The Boob:

– survey says? Clogged duct.

Soon after posting that the pain started to get worse. It felt like I had been beaten in the boob with a brick. Mmm, not so pleasant. I went to bed that night  w/ a heating pad and fed Nolan on that side first all evening. By morning it was a bit better and by today I am almost back to normal. Wow. That felt NOTHING like I would have expected, sure glad it’s gone! Strange that I never felt the “hard spot” that everyone describes with a clogged duct…but it was so tender (and my girls are pretty freakin HUGE right now, so that’s a lot of ground to cover) and honestly I didn’t go prodding around all that much.

Today:

– Nolan scared the SH*T out of us. First of all, he went to sleep at about 11pm after eating and didn’t wake up at 8 like he usually does, he slept until a little after 9. I was THRILLED. Until I went to change his diaper. There was a red spot right in the middle of his peed on diaper. Blood! I screamed for hubby to bring me a baggy and the car keys cause we needed to get Nolan to the hospital ASAP.

Ha.

After running my screaming (in hunger) 2 month old to the pediatrician’s office at top speed…it turns out it was something called Urate Crystals. Um. Yeah.

Apparently when anyone goes a long time without eating (like, overnight) their urine can become more concentrated. To the point of turning dark reddish-orange. (NOTE: He was NOT dehydrated. They checked. )

Scared. The. CRAP. Out. Of. Me.

Oh, and Nolan?

14 lbs 1 oz

10 weeks old.

(In other words, he’s a CHUNK! He’s already in size 6 month!)

Gotta run. Time to produce some boob milk and some chicken nuggets for the screaming masses.

14 Responses to “Makeover”

  1. Sweet Georgia January 14, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    I like the new look and am glad you kept the name. Sounds pretty scary with Nolan, glad it turned out to be something minor.

  2. Michell January 14, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I like the new look too.
    When I worked NICU we used to have that happen with diapers sort of frequently even though we were waking them up every 3-4 hours. They called it brick dust. It was definitely freaky though the first time you saw it.
    Glad the boob is feeling better.

  3. annacyclopedia January 14, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Yay for Nolan being such a chunk! Charlie is one, too – I love the chubbiness!

    Glad your boob is better!

  4. Chelle January 14, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Ugh, clogged ducts are the WORST! Even worse than that is mastitis. I’m so glad you got it resolved so quickly. Those things mean business.

    Too funny about the red dot. At least you know for future reference now.

    Give the kids big hugs!

  5. Deanna January 14, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Quick bullett point commen LOL!t:
    How do you know who was who in your u/s photo?
    Nolan is only 4 or 5 pounds smaller than my tiny Nathan who is nearly 11 months!
    Glad the heating pad worked. Clogged ducts are no fun.

    • mrslala January 14, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      Good question! I know who is who because Lennon had low amniotic fluid, so her sack is always small and she looks “cramped”, so I can tell her and Evy apart. And I know the one in the middle is the one we lost.

      Connected by MOTOBLUR™ on T-Mobile

  6. Merlot January 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    Very spiffy!

  7. Ashley January 15, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    Glad you are feeling better! And I am glad you are keeping the blog name – I think it fits still 🙂

    If you want, you can add me to your bloglist if I am not already on it.

    Also, can I have your password to see your picture posts? 🙂

  8. Babychaser January 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    I’m still around, though I’m not blogging as much as usual. Am finding pregnancy (preparing for two, no less) incredibly time-consuming and exhausting.

    I think about you and your babies a lot, now that I’m on my way to the same place.

  9. Tanya January 26, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    I like the makeover! I am a lurker – 3 yrs of miscarriages then IF and now I am a mom to my 2 week over miracle little boy! Can I please have your password? Love your honest blogging and your kids are awesome!

  10. eagoggins January 27, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Hi Mrs. LaLa, can I have the password? I have been following you for about a year. eagoggins@att.net is my email, and http://www.thegoggblog.blogspot.com is my blog. Thanks!

  11. Chelle January 27, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I noticed I didn’t make it back onto the blogroll. 😦

  12. Jackie January 27, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I would love the password? 🙂

  13. Ashley February 25, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Hello LaLa! I’ve been following you for a while now and would love the password. 🙂

Leave a Reply

