Yeeeeow! (I am warning you in advance, this post contains TMI)

10 Jan

Oh, Bloggy Friends, I need your help!

As I have mentioned, breastfeeding thus far has gone *amazingly* well. Yes, there were a few hic ups in the first week or two…but that’s pretty normal I think.

Weeeeell, a little less than a week ago my right nipple started hurting. I thought it was poor latch (we’ve gotten pretty lax, but it’s been working alright). It hurt MOSTLY in one particular place.  So I started working on better positioning, but things only got worse.

A few days ago I started having shooting pains in my breast (mostly the right, but a little on the left too). Then my right nipple started burning while I fed and Nolan was fussy and gassy. I decided it was thrush (I do not have a rash on my nipples, they are not cracked, redder than usual or flakey, and Nolan doesn’t have any rashes anywhere in his mouth or on his butt). BUT Evelynn DID get a yeasty diaper rash and I have had a yeast infection (we all share a bath tub…I don’t know if it could spread that way?).

So, I decided it was thrush. I started Nolan and myself on probiotics and have been using two different antifungal creams on my nipples and Evelynn (and I’ve been treating the YI). The probiotics seem to make Nolan’s gassiness and fussiness even worse, and the creams are helping Evy but I’m just getting worse (they burned a little at first, which I thought meant that I was right and that they were working, but that stopped).

But then today my whole rght breast is swollen and bruised feeling. It really hurts and it’s getting worse no matter how much I feed on that side. I don’t have a fever or flu symptoms and there is no redness.

So now I’m thinking… plugged duct? Mastitis? Thrush? All of the above?!

I’m stumped.

I am going to try and get in to see a doctor tomorrow, but it might not happen until later in the week because the girls have appointments all week this week.

17 Responses to “Yeeeeow! (I am warning you in advance, this post contains TMI)”

  1. Ashley January 10, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Hey!

    I had mastitis a few weeks or so after I came home from the hospital with my son. I can’t remember exactly when. But, I woke up in the middle of the night FREEZING and my breast was SO swollen and sore and hurt REALLY bad. I tried falling back asleep but kept waking up and felt HORRIBLE and was shivering uncontrollably. (mind you, I NEVER get sick) I woke my husband up and told him something was wrong. Took my temp and turns out I was running a fever somewhere @ 102. Long story short, it turned out to be mastitis and I was put on some antibiotics for it. The next day I felt MUCH better (still a little sore but no fever) They told me that we caught the mastitis early on, but if that is what it is, I wouldn’t wait too long before getting it to see the DR if possible.

    I did also do different holds with him to try and unclog the ducts. I was also told to pump as much as possible as well to make sure the breast was being emptied often.

    Wishing you the best! Hope you get it all figured out and start feeling better soon!

  2. Jillian January 10, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Sounds like a plugged duct, apply warm compresses, massage the breast in the shower, feed or pump frequently. You want the breast to fully drain to avoid a mastitis. good luck.

  3. annacyclopedia January 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Sounds confusing. It could be a combination of things and it could also be that Nolan’s fussy/gassy issues are unrelated to the yeast issues that it sounds like you may have. I know this is probably impossible, but you need to rest as much as possible. If it is a clogged duct, keep nursing, drink lots of fluids, massage the sore spot especially while soaking in a hot bath.
    I would also call your local La Leche chapter – they usually have an info line you can call with
    questions like this. Take it easy and good luck – hope you’re all better soon.

    A few random thoughts – is the probiotic dairy based? That might make him fussy and gassy. Also, have you noticed your nipples turning white ever – while the pain is happening? It is something called vasospasm or reynaud’s phenomenon and it also causes shooting pain from the nipple deep into the breast and it hurts like a mofo. I know cause I have it – ouch. Last, there is something called Dr Jack Newman’s multipurpose nipple ointment that treats multiple problems at once. You need a pharmacy to mix it up for you and up here you need a prescription for it – I just asked my dr and he gave me the script even though he didn’t know what it was. Email me for more info if you’re interested.

  4. Michell January 10, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Ouch. I hope whatever it is it clears up soon.

  5. Ashley January 11, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    Sounds like mastitis. If it was thrush, I think Nolan would have a white film on his tongue. Do you have a fever or anything like that. Usually with mastitis I think it’s flu like symptoms. Good luck girl, it’s no fun either way. I’m still nursing my 13 month old and I”m 15weeks pregnant. Ugh. She will NOT wean. Just won’t.

  6. Deanna January 11, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    Sounds like a plugged duct which can turn into mastitis. Nurse as much as possible, take some ibuprofin, drink TONS of water and use warm compresses as often as you can.

    I know it is impossible, but try to rest a bit more if you can so your body can heal. I used to take a recieving blanket, soke it in very warm water, ring it out, wrap it around my breast and then place a heating pad over it and try to fall asleep. Worked like a charm.

    Also, another thing. I never drank enough water prior to getting pregnant. When I got pregnant I started splashing my water with grape juice, or some other fruit juice. Oh my gosh, I trippled my water intake! And I’m only splashing the water, it’s still probably 5-1 water/juice.

    Good luck, let us know how it goes.

  7. Ms. J January 11, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    I have no idea what to tell you.

    But you are scaring the beejeebers out of me. Just when I think I might be comfortable with nursing, I hear of someone having a problem/health issue, and get scared & uncomfortable all over again.

    Sigh. If only formula were as inexpensive as tap water!

    Keep my posted on your ta-ta’s ;o)

  8. Sarah January 11, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    It’s mastitis and you need to see a doctor right away so that you can get on antibiotics asap. Also you will start feeling really, really, really tired and then you will get a fever (just like the other reader mentioned) if you don’t get on this.

    I had mastitis twice (once on each side) from over-pumping and not emptying the breast. The first time I didn’t catch it in time and after I got better, my milk supply was permanently lower on that side. The second time I caught it right away and got on the antibiotics and everything was fine.

    My advice is to pump that side and massage it with your hand (direction: body to nipple), almost like you are milking it if you can although you might be too far gone now. After I got mastitis those two times, while pumping towards the end of a session every single time I would massage both breasts to make sure there were no lumps. (Lumps = plugged ducts).

    For me it was over-pumping that caused it because over-pumping cause an over supply so the baby couldn’t drain the breast. I didn’t realize that when you pump you actually need to have your hands on your breasts and making sure the breast is getting drained. The baby is more efficient in draining a breast than the pump, but when you are doing both, your body produces extra.

  9. Alex January 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Could be a plugged duct. Have you tried warm compresses? Massaging it in the shower?

    As for the probiotics for Nolan…I have never heard of probiotics making a baby more gassy, since they normally settle the stomach. Thats strange that it could make him worse 😦

  10. seussgirl January 11, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I don’t have any advice, I just wanted to sympathize. 😦
    I hope you get good treatment soon!

  11. WifeyBoyd January 12, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    Wish I had some insight but I got nothin!! It sounds very painful and I will for sure be praying for you, hope the doctor can get it figured out and get you feeling better soon!

  12. ifthisworks January 12, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    I had a blocked duct, and the breast was engorged because the milk wasn’t getting out of that duct. I could also feel a small hard spot in the breast where the blocked duct was. It HURT to touch, felt like it was on fire. That was my experience with a blocked duct. It didn’t turn into Mastitis. It took several days to get rid of, hot showers, hot compresses, pumping and feeding off that side.

    I don’t have experiences with the other things you’ve mentioned.

  13. cookieoftheday January 12, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Thank you for posting this! I’m in the SAME boat. After 9.5 months of almost completely awesome nursing, I’ve got just about the same symptoms you do. I was going to stick it out with home remedies until all these nice folks started talking about how mastitis could actually totally and completely suck, and if I have/get it then we’re in big trouble. So it’s off to the doctor for me tomorrow. So thank you (and your commenters) for all the info, and for getting my scardy-cat butt to the obgyn.

  14. cookieoftheday January 12, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Oh! And I really hope you and your babies are all better very soon. It’s about time you caught a break and had an easily fixed problem it seems.

  15. Katie January 13, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    I thought I had mastitis a couple of times, and nope, just a plugged duct. Which really, really hurt! Like the other ladies said, though, mastitis can be very serious and needs to be treated as early as possible to avoid you getting even sicker. I would make a call to your primary care or OB doctor and see what they recommend. I would say it could be a plugged duct, but better safe than sorry! And I also always felt better after a medical professional told me everything was okay! 🙂

    Post soon to let us know the status!

  16. Two Makes Four January 14, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    That’s definitely not mastitis if you don’t have flu-like symptoms and redness on the outside of the breast. Sounds like a clogged duct. They suck. Keep nursing as usual, but try pumping and massage the HELL out of the sore spot while you pump. Seriously, crush that mo fo. And take hot showers and crush it some more. That “gentle massage” that you read to do is BS. A really clogged duct needs major elbow grease 🙂

  17. ReutbeaureBat May 16, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Buy Generic Cipro ONLINE today at [url=http://cart.onlinezpilz.com/?pill=cipro&lng=eng]US Pharmacy[/url]

    Several reasons to buy Cipro online:
    1. It’s easy and safe. Just visit site and fill the forms.
    2. No doctor visits! NO PRESCRIPTION!
    3. Cheaper prices!
    4. 100% Secure Shopping!
    5. Moneyback Guarantee!

    [url=http://cart.onlinezpilz.com/?pill=cipro&lng=eng][img]http://onlinezpilz.com/images/cipro-pill.gif[/img][/url]

    Cipro is used for:
    CIPROFLOXACIN (Generic Cipro) is a quinolone antibiotic. It can kill bacteria or stop their growth. It is used to treat many kinds of infections, like urinary, respiratory,
    skin, gastrointestinal, and bone infections. It will not work for colds, flu, or other viral infections.

    SAVE YOUR MONEY! [url=http://cart.onlinezpilz.com/?pill=pillsite&lng=eng]Buy Generic Pills ONLINE today at US Pharmacy[/url]

    [url=http://cart.onlinezpilz.com/?pill=pillsite&lng=eng][img]http://onlinezpilz.com/images/bestsellers-pills2.gif[/img][/url]

    Buy Generic Cipro ONLINE today at [url=http://cart.onlinezpilz.com/?pill=cipro&lng=eng]US Pharmacy[/url]

    Several reasons to buy Cipro online:
    1. It’s easy and safe. Just visit site and fill the forms.
    2. No doctor visits! NO PRESCRIPTION!
    3. Cheaper prices!
    4. 100% Secure Shopping!
    5. Moneyback Guarantee!

    tags:
    cipro pronounced
    cipro tendon tear
    tendon problems associated with cipro
    cipro tendon irritation
    buy cipro without prescription
    ketek and cipro
    cipro testicles
    foot surgery after cipro
    cipro mrsa
    cipro generic
    antibiotic cipro resistance
    does cipro treat strep throat
    uti cipro treatment
    interigo cipro
    cipro veterinarian
    antibiotic shelf life cipro
    cipro indications
    cipro sulfa free
    cipro use children
    cipro side effects precautions
    cipro side effects of cipro
    cipro recall
    cipro and achilles tendon rupture
    cipro and sprains
    prostatitis and cipro
    buying cipro without a prescription
    cipro cough
    cipro recovery
    paronychia cipro
    cipro and fetal deformities
    cipro cystitis
    cipro for bacterial vaginosis
    cipro pharmacology
    cipro prescribed for what infection
    cipro instructions
    breastfeeding while taking cipro
    side effects od cipro
    cipro given for sinus infection
    cipro for chrones
    chris cipro
    cipro reactions
    cipro ampicillin interaction
    taken off vancomyicin cipro
    does cipro cure mrsa
    cipro class action litigation settlement
    drug information cipro antibiotic
    cipro induced psycosis
    what is cipro mg
    cipro travelers diarrhea
    prolonged erection prostatitis
    bronchitis simtums
    chronic sinusitis sphenoidal
    bronchitis and natural remedies
    life threatening bronchitis
    pneumonia air travel
    klebsiella pneumonia esbl
    mycoplasma pneumonia precautions
    symptoms of pneumonia lungs
    typhoid fever spread and attachs
    peritonitis heredity

Leave a Reply

