Is there a polite way to tell someone they are an idiot?

2 Dec

Well, he’s sitting here in his bouncey seat with his blanket and his binkie…we’ll see how long this lasts. He JUST ate…but that means nothing. lol

Anyhow, I have a million things I would love to post about – but this has to come first because I am PISSED and I have to get it off my chest.

On Thanksgiving my brother in law brought his idiot girlfriend over for dinner. She is very young (21) and very…ditzy.

She spent the evening playing with the girls and poking the baby. I asked Hubby to ask her to wash her hands several times…he didn’t do it until she had already had her hands all over them for quie awhile. After a few hours I noticed she was sniffling, I almost asked her if she had a cold, but I figured that no…no one could be THAT stupid…I must be allergies. Right? (Nolan was 2.5 weeks old at this point.)

Nope.

She’s that. Freaking. Stupid.

The next day we were at the in-laws and she announced that she couldn’t touch Nolan because she had a cold…then she reached for the twins. I elbowed Hubby and he asked her to not touch them either. Then my MIL said something along the lines of “Oh, it’s too bad you’ve caught a cold” and she responds with “Oh, this isn’t new! I’ve been sick for DAYS!”.

Arrrrrrrgggghhh!

So now poor Lennon is SO sick and miserable that she screams for over an hour whenever we put her down for a nap becuase all she wants is to be held. Snot is litterally POURING out of both of the twin’s noses and I am sitting here looking at my 3.5 week old infant and hoping against hope that this isn’t going to put him in the hospital. Oh, and wondering what sorts of cold remedies I can take while breastfeeding.

So, I know I should keep my mouth shut…but I just can’t. This brilliant young lady just shared with me that she is thinking about taking a new job working with chidlren. Oh, and she lives with my in-laws (well, with my brother in law who lives with his parents still ::cough::29yearsold::cough::) and so she spends a LOT of time around my children.

So, dear inernet…how to proceed?

Matter of fact or full on bitchy?

(Perfect timing, the Noalie is stirring…WOW! I got a whole 5 minutes! lol)

PS Yes, I am a germaphobe. I know kids have to get sick, and if it was just something they picked up at the park or something I wouldn’t be this worked up about it. But HELLO! To knowingly infect a family with a brand new infant!?

11 Responses to “Is there a polite way to tell someone they are an idiot?”

  1. leahboral December 2, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    How about just telling her she’s an idiot. Or at least tell her to get her germy paws off of your children. A woman at the book store the other day saw BB is her carrier and asked if she could touch her. I asked her if her hands were clean and she said no. I also said no..you can’t touch her. Sorry your girls are sick…hope Nolan stays well!

  2. jamie December 2, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    full on bitchy. you have worked & wanted & treasured all 3 angels. tell her to keep her mitts off & not to come anywhere near them while sick.

    or worse case, tell her you have the swine flu & the family must stay quarentined…lol

  3. Aunt Becky December 3, 2009 at 5:31 am #

    Bwahahahaha! I’m sure she didn’t think about it. What an asshole. (her, I mean)

  4. Michelle December 3, 2009 at 6:49 am #

    She is definitely a twit. I would be seriously pissed off too. You’re like me, you’re to “nice” to say something. I would have had a hard time telling her off too even though I’d want to strangle her. I think you just need to stand up to her and tell her to back off while she’s sick and let her know she got your girls sick. What a twat!

  5. cookieoftheday December 3, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Wow. That’s past stupid and irresponsible and just mean. I’d be suuuuuuuuuuuper nice and matter of fact. Like you would be with a 4 year old who needed some explaining on something like this…. good luck!

  6. Observer December 3, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    Nothing is more important than the health of your children. Next time, tell Miss Dirty Hands Sniffly-Face in a very polite way to please not handle your children while she is sick. They are your kids- not hers!

  7. kbreints December 3, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I think calling her a ditz was very nice of you! I hope the kids get better soon! no fun during the holidays!

  8. Susan December 3, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    I have no suggestions, but I will just add my BIL still lives with his rents (at a young 31!) and dates stupid women who know nothing.

    I hope the twins feel better and Nolan stays healthy!

  9. Merlot December 6, 2009 at 5:51 am #

    Don’t be shy! You’re the mom and you will be the one stuck with sick unhappy baby. Be polite, but explain about having a sick baby and the hell it wreaks. If your husband won’t ask her to wash her hands simply hand over a bottle of hand sanitizer and make sure she uses it before touching any of your kids. You can even make a joke about being your germ issue.

  10. Two Makes Four December 12, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    Oh my god, what an idiot. Her age really shows. Is Nolan okay? I’d assume with the BFing, he probably won’t get anything….maybe?

  11. crazygingerroot December 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Wow… I mean wow. I’m younger than that *cough*…ditzy woman and I know better than to touch any kid w/ out washing your hands! It’s not like it’s hard… 20sec and you’re done!
    Just tell your husband that if he doesn’t want to face your wrath (and/or snot tissues) to man up and tell her. It’s not rude if the other person jeopardizes your childrens’ health.
    Next time you see her or your BIL give them a piece of your mind! She might she how stupid and irresponsible she was being…. that’s if she doesn’t forget it in the next two secs.

Leave a Reply

