We’re Home!

8 Nov

Nolan was born at 4:34pm on 11/05/09. 7lbs 4oz and 18 inches long.

He does have a huge head. And REALLY long fingers. And HUGE feet. And a big nose.

He is fantastically perfect and I can’t stop kissing and loving on him.

I did not get my VBAC, though I got pretty darn far.

At 5 cm my water broke and Nolan began to crash (his heart was slowing down and looked as though it was going to stop). SO, we had an emergency c-section. Turns out he had a cord prolapse.

I will write a formal birth story soon.

We just got home from the hospital and he is snoozing in his bassinette. He’s a great sleeper – I’m going to wake him up in about 30 minutes to breastfeed him and then I’m going to attempt to sleep.

Breastfeeding is a bit of a struggle, my milk is just baaaarely coming in (today is day 3) and he is a hungry little monster! He is a great breastfeeder (though we are having a few issues with him having a shallow latch) but he wants WAY more food than my body has had to offer. After a 4 hour marathon feeding session after which is was still completely hysterical and rooting like crazy I finally broke down and asked for some formula and a tube and syringe to supplement him. He was a happy camper after that and we’ve been having to wake him up to eat (I let him go for four hours once or twice and still had to wake him).

Today we’ve made it through most of the day without supplementing. YAY!

I’m stressing about my milk coming in though. ::sigh::

That’s about it for now. More to come soon.

27 Responses to “We’re Home!”

  1. Michell November 8, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    Welcome home!! Glad he’s here safely and that you’re all doing ok. Good luck with the breast feeding and hope you get some sleep.

  2. Alex November 8, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    Big Congrats!! Take care of yourselves 🙂

  3. Laura November 9, 2009 at 4:31 am #

    Yay! From one NICU survivor to another, I’m so glad Nolan didn’t have to do any time in Level II or III!

  4. Michelle November 9, 2009 at 6:14 am #

    Congrats! That is so exciting. At least you got close on the VBAC. Your milk will come in soon and then you won’t know what to do with it. I think mine took about 4-5 days to really come in and then I wished it hadn’t. lol

    Rest well. Thanks for updating us.

    Welcome to the world Nolan!

  5. Lauren November 9, 2009 at 6:40 am #

    Yay, I’m so happy for y’all!! Glad he made it here safely.

  6. Sweet Georgia November 9, 2009 at 6:43 am #

    Congratulations again! The milk will come, but if it doesn’t you will supplement. Don’t stress yourself about it. I’m so glad that everyone is healthy and happy. Hope you are healing up quickly as well.

  7. Away2me November 9, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    Congratulations. Can’t wait to see pictures.

    And don’t stress about your milk, just keep putting him on the boob as often as you can, your body will work for you!

  8. kjames603 November 9, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    Congrats!!! It will come in, I promise! Just keep letting him latch, that is the best thing you can do! I’m so excited for you and your little nursling.

    How are big sisters doing with baby bro?

  9. monica November 9, 2009 at 7:48 am #

    Congratulations! So happy he is here and healthy. Enjoy every precious minute =)

  10. Ms. J November 9, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    How’re the girls reacting to their little brother?

    Any word on the tests that were needing to be done after his birth (liver, et al)?

    SO HAPPY FOR ALL OF YOU!!!

  11. Aunt Becky November 9, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    Congrats. YAY! Nolan!

  12. Orodemniades November 9, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Congrats!

  13. Observer November 9, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    So cute. Congrats!

    Now you need to re-name the blog!

  14. April November 9, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    The more he nurses the quicker your milk comes in. No worries! And the colostrum is the best thing for him anyway right now. Soon he will have a big full belly of breastmilk! :o)
    Congrats!!!

  15. annacyclopedia November 9, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Congratulations and welcome, Nolan!!! Glad to hear you’re both safe and sound despite the scare of the prolapse.

    As one who is going through getting breastfeeding established, perhaps you’ll forgive my assvice about milk supply. Drink tons of water, let him nurse as much as you can stand and switch sides every feed, eat lot of protein, and hang in there with the latch issues. We are struggling with a shallow latch too. Is there a lactation consultant available through the hospital who could help with that? Oh – and try not to worry about the timing. I don’t think my milk was fully in until day 4 or 5. And did you know that a newborn’s stomach is the size of a cooked chick pea? So he doesn’t need much at once. Thinking of you and sending you good vibes for all this stuff to go smooth – it’s not easy.

    Congrats again!

  16. MC November 9, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Woohoo! and welcome to the world, Nolan!!

    Congratulations! I’m so glad that you’re both home and well!

  17. Julia November 9, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    Nipple shields. It will help him get a better latch. I used them for 3 months (they wanted me to ditch them after a few weeks, but she like them). At 3 months we did go skin to skin and I’m trying to wean her before her 2nd birthday next month. They are not to be feared 🙂

    Congrats to all of you. I’m so glad Nolan is happy and healthy.

  18. seussgirl November 9, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    Congratulations!
    Your early b/feeding issues could be mine word for word! My milk also took probably the full 5 days of the “3-5” they say it can take. We supplemented with the syringe method for a couple of days. Pumping helped, b/c I could put that in the syringe too, when his latch wasn’t great. A shield also helped for a couple of weeks, and now we’re doing great! (as in he’s gained 5 lbs in 8 weeks on b/milk!)

    So happy for you! I know that rest is REALLY hard to come by in your situation, but I hope you can find it somehow. 🙂

    Good luck with everything! If you need a fellow three-under-two commiserator, e-mail me. 🙂

  19. seussgirl November 9, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    Er, encourager, I meant encourager. 🙂

  20. Tammy November 9, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

    Congrats!!! Can’t wait to hear more!!!

  21. S November 9, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    Welcome home! I’m so happy you guys are home and healthy. What wonderful news. I can offer no advice on the bf stuff (mine were bottle babies), but will be more than happy to always listen to your worries.

    Congrats!!! How are the girls handling the newest edition??

  22. Deanna November 10, 2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Congrats!!! I’m so happy for you guys… about your milk, don’t stress, it makes matters worse… and eat oatmeal, it does help!!! Can’t wait for the birth story 🙂

  23. Katie November 11, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    Congratulations! I am so happy for your family! I am sorry that you didn’t get your VBAC, but I am just glad that you are both okay!

  24. jessica ratliff November 11, 2009 at 7:32 pm #

    so glad that you are at home now, i bet it is such a relief to be in your own bedand surrounded by family…..like everyone has said dont worry about the milk it will come…your body works on supply and demand, so if he is tring to nurse then the milk will come and also if you find that you are not getting the amount that you want pump after you nurse him for 20 min on each side then you will be busing at the seems and it will also be a good way to start a back up supply in case someone else has to feed him……so happy for you and i am totally feeling the million bottles thing i am so over it but i have to continue on that road till his body fixes it’s self…..if you have any questions we have pretty much gone through it all, so feel free to call…love you and congrats again….dont for get the lots of water!!!!

  25. Heather November 11, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    Congratulations!! So glad he made it here safe and sound. 🙂

  26. Jodie November 14, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    CONGRATS! I would love to see pics but have misplaced the password I think it was on my old email. So if you have a minute I would love to get the password again. I am sure Nolan is beautiful just like your girls!
    Izziemommy@Insightbb.com

  27. tracey November 16, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Congratulations! Could I possibly have the password?? tracey@cs.otago.ac.nz

Leave a Reply

