The 11th Hour

4 Nov

Actually, I have 17 hours until my induction (unless he decides to get things moving before then…C-MON Nolan!).

After my appointment on Monday I had pretty painful contractions (not unbearable, but enough that I had to stop whatever I was doing and breathe through them) for the rest of the day. BUT they never organized. It was 36 hours of this and then they stopped, almost entirely (yesterday morning at 5am). Nothing since. Total calm. Well, I have the occasional (still fairly painful) contraction, but only a few a day. ::sigh::

I don’t understand why labor doesn’t start on its own. I am 75% effaced and (I’m assuming) dilated to about a 2 by now. What GIVES!?

Hubby has me feeling guilty for being induced tomorrow and not giving it another week (I’m 39 weeks according to their dates, 38.5 according to mine). He almost had me convinced to call and reschedule the induction for next week, but then I remembered that they said that Nolan’s head is HUGE (Evy has a huge head as well). I’m afraid that if we don’t do it now, he won’t fit…this may be my only chance at a VBAC. Besides, you can’t really get any closer to being in labor than I am right now without actually BEING in labor.

I think the issue may be that I’ve been so miserable due to the kidney stones that I hardly ever get out of bed. Maybe if I get up and walk around I will go into labor on my own?

I am considering having Hubby take the day off to walk me and the girls around the mall for a few hours. I hate to have him miss out on the income, but he already missed half the day taking Lennon to a Dr’s appointment this morning. On the other hand, however, what if it just causes more irregular contractions and I end up with another miserable night of “not quite” labor and then have to go in to be induced all cranky and exhausted?

I never did try the caster oil. I have done the Red Raspberry Leaf tea…I drank four cups before having all of those miserable contractions. It seems like it does SOMETHING, but it wasn’t enough. Obviously having my membranes stripped did nothing (like I said though, I’m not sure he really did much).

The only thing that I have been doing that I think really works is the Evening Primrose Oil. I’ve been taking them orally for about a week and inserting them vaginally for the past week (I did it off and on for a week or two before that as well). I have noticed that I efface during the periods when I have been inserting the pills but not during the times when I stopped using them.

I’m rambling, can ya tell I’m nervous?

I’m scared that something is going to go wrong – like a uterine rupture, though I’ve done all of my homework and I know that its only an ADDED risk but not a higher risk than many other complications that ALL laboring women have, VBAC or not. Even though the fact that this is going to be an induction does raise the risk a tiny bit, the fact that I”m already so close makes it pretty safe.

I’m worried that I won’t be able to handle the pain. These contractions I’m having now are really killing me and I know they can’t be anything compared to the “real deal” particularly with the pitocen. I am going to have an epidural…but what if it doesn’t work, or stops working, or they take to long to give it to me….

I guess these are normal fears that everyone must have. I just never got to the point where I had them with the girls, I never had a chance!

Any last minute advice? What to do? What to pack?

Should I eat breakfast before going to the hospital, or skip it?

Should I bother wearing makeup (I have gotten REALLLLLLY bad acne during this pregnancy, so I’d kind of like to…but what’s the point if the labor takes 24 hours or I sweat it all off my face)?

Should I give myself an enema, or not bother since I am leaning towards having the breakfast anyway. 😉

17 Responses to “The 11th Hour”

  1. Alex November 4, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I attempted a VBAC and while it didn’t work for me, and I had to have another c-section, that could be because they didn’t let me labour for more than 17 hours just in case. But I wasn’t dilating much either so…who knows. But either way I had strong contractions and it didn’t case any issues with my previous section scar. So(and granted I don’t know your how surgery scar history), chances are yours should be fine. You are having smaller contractions now that are putting stress on it and it seems like you’re holding together(LOL no pun intended!!) okay. So I wouldn’t worry too much about rupture…those are pretty rare.

    You shouldn’t feel guilty for wanting an induction now. He is “cooked” enough to be safe for him and given our stress levels recently and your health issues(stones) its probably safer for him and you to have him out sooner.

    Good luck with your labour and I hope everything goes as you hope for a VBAC. Having had 3 c-sections I can tell you that in my experience, each c-section was easier than the previous one in terms of tolerance and recovery. So don’t be too hard on yourself or worried if you do end up having one. The most important thing is for Nolan to get here safe 🙂

  2. S November 4, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    You are cracking me up!!! I would say don’t eat, no enema and think positive!

    I’m so glad the evening primrose seems to be working. Here’s the best part that I forgot to tell you about my experience with EP. It helped my cervix “ripen” so that I could be induced but the greatest part is no stitches, no tears, no rips NADA! I think it had to do with all that EP I had been inserting LOL!

    I pushed twice in the first contraction and then she was born. I also had been researching “laboring down” before C was born. I gave it a try and it worked like a charm. Granted they were monitoring me to make sure she didn’t have any decels. I was at a 10 ready to push and the doc had another call, so I had about a 45 minute delay. I had the epidural and had no pain so the wait wasn’t a problem. I started pushing at 6:05 and she was born at 6:11.

    I can’t wait to hear your story and see that sweet baby!

  3. jkleisner November 4, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    I don’t have much advice but I wanted to say good luck! The only thing I regret is NOT wearing any make up or actually doing something with my hair. There are all these pictures after I gave birth and I look awful. I’ve lurked here for awhile and I hope everything goes smoothly!!

  4. Ms. J November 4, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    The only thing I have qualified to give you advice on is makeup . . . when we were planning to go to China I switched to Revlon, Ultra-Sweatproof, ColorStay (there are two versions of the ColorStay, and one is designed for ultra-sweatproof or active wear – I may be slightly off in the exact term they use). It’s a bit rough going on (due to lack of oil), so it doesn’t glide like most foundations. But DAMN, does it stay put!!! I topped with their ColorStay blemish stuff and powder (in the compact, but I use a retractable brush so I am not redipping a bacteria-laced pad into the powder over and over again).

    IT STAYED PUT IN THE 105 DEGREE HEAT AND 100% HUMIDITY OF CHINA! And girl, you read my travel blog, I think, so you know we were walking all over the place with Lil Pumpkin every waking moment!

    So, if you wanna wear makeup to the hospital, that’s my recommendation. Even if I don’t wear “full” makeup (I have very acne prone skin too, even since I hit the age of 25), I never leave the house without at least foundation on – just evens things out a bit.

    If you get too sweaty gross at the hospital, you can always wash it off (pack some wipes for that, maybe, in case you don’t feel up to hauling to the bathroom to do it?!)

    I fret about a giant zit messing up a photo of me and Urban Myth at the hospital, LOL, so I totally get ya!

    Please keep tweeting us updates!!!

    XOXO.

  5. Michell November 4, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    No advice but wishing you luck.

  6. skirk429 November 5, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    I would eat, i was induced and right before I got to the hospital we hit Quizno’s and I was glad I did because I didn’t get to eat for a LONG time. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear the details!

  7. April November 5, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    I say eat breakfast because usually in labor they wont let you eat anything. But don’t make it heavy and greasy-that can upset your stomach later in labor. I ended up projectile puking immediately after delivering my 2nd.
    I say no makeup-you have no one to impress and when he is born you will be crying all over because he will be so beautiful. No reason to mess up the makeup! :o)
    Wishing you labor vibes!!!

  8. monica November 5, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    wishing all goes well for you. Definitely don’t do the caster oil, just gives you diarrhea! Eating is a toss up. When in the transition stage (right at the end) I threw up with both my labors. Can’t wait to meet the little guy!

  9. Sweet Georgia November 5, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    Thinking of you! Hope all is going well.

  10. leahboral November 5, 2009 at 5:56 pm #

    I CAN’T WAIT to hear all about it! Sorry about your section but I’m glad he’s here and safe. Please udate soon!!! YAY YAY YAY YAY YAY!! Hope all is well!

  11. Laura November 5, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    Congrats on him being here!

  12. Chelle November 5, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    I caught up on blogs too late. I assume Nolan has already made his appearance into the world. I hope that everything went well, that labor wasn’t too intense or long, that Nolan made his appearance the way he should, blue and screaming. I hope that he is neither nestled snuggly in your arms, or that he is peacefully sleeping in the nursery while you are peacefully sleeping and recovering.

    You are always in my thoughts.

    Much love and hugs.

  13. S November 5, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Just checking in on you! I”m thrilled that he’s here and can’t wait for you to meet him and post us a picture!

    Congrats and hugs!!

  14. scorrysgirl November 5, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    do not eat, because the hospital does not recommend it. if something should happen, and you needed to go in fo a c-section, eating is no bueno. plus it makes the nausea that much worse. as for the enema? no. you dont want the runs while youre going through labor. trust me. bring makeup, but dont bother with it until after nolan is born- those pictures no one will be noticing your makeup, but after you get cleaned up, it’ll feel good to have that if you want it. pack the basics- granny panties, nightgown, slippers, toothbrush/paste, and shampoo/conditioner. other than that, you wont use anything. bring a baby manicure kit (his nails will be long), an outfit, and thats about all you’ll need. i can’t wait to see pics! ive been a chronic lurker….

  15. Ashley November 5, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    I am assuming that he is here now, by the previous comments!!!

    Can’t wait to hear and update and see pictures! Hoping all went well and smoothly.

    Thinking of you all!
    *hugs*

    -Ashley

  16. Leah November 6, 2009 at 3:33 am #

    Congratulations! Sorry about the crash c-section, but at least he’s here safe and happy. Can’t wait to hear the details and see a picture. xo

  17. Sweet Georgia November 6, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    Congratulations! Hope you are all doing well and that everyone is healthy and happy! Sorry about the c-section.

Leave a Reply

