Nolan is on his way!

2 Nov

Last night I started having back pain and random contractions. Of course they won’t organize, it was just enough to keep me awake all night (i.e. nothing until I would start to drift off to sleep, then OUCH!).

Today I had an appointment with a different OB because my usual Dr is on vacation. In the waiting room my contractions started coming more frequently, though still not at regular intervals. He checked me and I am still only 1.5 cm dilated but I have progressed to 75% effaced and he said that the baby is at -1 (I believe) – he said the head was WAY down. We also asked how big the baby was: he is currently just under 6 lbs, but with a huge head apparently. =) The doctor said not to worry about the head though because he is so far down already he’s sure its not going to be a problem.

He also said that he stripped my membranes, but I didn’t feel anything when he did it (I’ve heard that its very painful). I’m also not spotting, so I’m honestly not sure if he really did it or if he did it right…::shrug::

Anyhow, long story short – he offered to induce me. He said that I’m far enough along (effaced, etc) that he feels comfortable giving it a try. He warned me that he will only give me 24 hours before sectioning me, which is honestly fine. I just want a chance to try.

So, the long and the short of it is that I may already BE in labor (I’m pretty miserable right now, but again, the contractions don’t seem to want to “organize”). If not, I will be induced this Thursday morning at 6am. If he’s not here by Friday morning I will have a c-section.

I’m nervous and excited. I know an induction is a bit riskier with a VBAC so I’m not crazy about that…but this is a GREAT hospital, so I am just going to relax (hope things get going on their own before then, seems like they might), and see what happens.

Sorry if this doesn’t make much sense…I’m rather miserable (currently contracting every 2-5 minutes)! But I wanted to keep you all updated.

I will be Tweeting (to your right).

11 Responses to “Nolan is on his way!”

  1. cookieoftheday November 2, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Good luck!

  2. Ashley November 2, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    OH man! Congratulations! I had my membranes stripped and I literally came off the table crying. WAY worse than back labor 😦 Good luck! I hope it’s quick and painless for you!

  3. S November 2, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    Yipppeeee! I’m so excited for you! I hope things go just as you wish.

  4. Alex November 2, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    Yay!! Congrats and safe journey!!

  5. Chelle November 2, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    Wow! So Nolan will make his appearance no later than Friday. That is so exciting! I am sorry to hear you are so miserable in the meantime. I wonder if the contractions will ever fall into a set patter? I hope things go quickly just to get you out of your misery.

    *hugs*

  6. leahboral November 2, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    Yay!!! I know you are sooo ready to meet this little guy!! Can’t wait to see him!

  7. Michell November 2, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    Glad to hear he will be arriving soon. Hope he decides to show up sooner.

  8. Leah November 3, 2009 at 5:30 am #

    Good luck! I’ll be waiting on pins and needles to hear about his safe arrival!!

  9. noswimmers November 3, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    One word: EPIDURAL.

    Good luck, can’t wait to see the beautiful little man!!

  10. Sweet Georgia November 3, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    I was so excited to see this post. I keep checking in to see if Nolan has made his way into the world yet. I

  11. Tammy November 4, 2009 at 3:55 am #

    Yay! I’m so happy for you!!!

Leave a Reply

