Thoughts?

29 Oct

All day yesterday Noaln barely moved. At 1 am I got up to use the restroom and then did a kick count…for 45 minutes he didn’t so much as flutter. I woke Hubby up and we tried to find his heart beat with the doppler, we found it but it was really hard to find and took us BOTH a long time. Very strange considering how huge he is at this point – it hasn’t taken us more than a few seconds to find him in months. After that he did start moving, but not tons. We were sufficiently freaked out enough to head down to L & D. I knew as soon as we got down there and got on the monitors that he would go nuts – between the bumpy car ride in my husband’s SUV and the fact that babies HATE those monitors. That’s exactly what happened. It was Nolan aerobics by the time we arrived. However, the nurse also had a difficult time finding his heart beat. I’m not sure what that’s all about.

Oh, but they did discover that I now also have a UTI.

On top of the kidney stones.

Yippie.

What I think is going on are that the pain meds are sedating Nolan and he’s not moving as much because he’s sleeping essentially. The doctors agree (I waited a hour on my next dose while at the hospital during the time that he perked up). So now I don’t want to take the meds, but I’m in pain. The pain has gotten better (it’s bearable, barely).

From the NST that I had on Tuesday and the one from last night I know that I am having  regular, rhythmic “uterine irritability” with intermittent actual contractions. I have NO idea how dilated or effaced I am because no one has checked me. But I did lose my mucous plug, so I am assuming I am more dilated than the 1 cm that I was before (?).

All day today I have been having irregular, semi-painful contractions (false labor again, apparently).

So what I am getting at is:

I am considering going the caster oil route. (I am 38 weeks, and one day according to my Dr’s calculations).

But I wish that there was more solid research available. I have been Googling all day and all I can find is that it does work. But, obviously, I’m scared. I don’t want to do anything that could possibly put Nolan in danger. This seems safe enough – but I just don’t KNOW.

So, wonderfully wise bloggy friends…Thoughts? Experience? Wisdom? Please share.

20 Responses to “Thoughts?”

  1. annacyclopedia October 29, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    Red raspberry leaf tea definitely ramps up the contractions for me – start with one cup a day and work your way up is the general advice but you could do two or three cups right away if you really want labour to start. And have sex if you can bear it!

  2. Away2me October 29, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Don’t do the castor oil. It basically gives you horrible stomach cramp type bowel movements. It can also give the baby extra special bowel movements and the concern that I’ve read about is the baby pooping (meconium) and the worst case scenario is meconium aspiration.

    Hang in there!

  3. mrslala October 29, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    Anna – I’ve heard of the tea but have yet to find it. I know of a local health food store that I’m sure would carry it, but I’ll have to try to get Hubby to go down there for me.

    Away2me – I’ve also read about the concerns about CO causing the baby to have a BM. That scared me at first too, but the more I read the more I think it is not digested (which is actually how it works, it coats the digestive tract) and therefore cannot be passed to the baby. Most research I’ve found indicated that the babies who have BMs before birth are usually past due and that is common in that situation. Still a concern though…becuase you never know for sure!

  4. Leah October 29, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    A friend of mine who was overdue with twins (yeah, bizarre, i know. and naturally conceived at that) was desperate to go into labor. Her sister is a midwife and told her to do the castor oil. She made some gruesome drink involving castor oil, orange juice and melted ice cream. Apparently it tasted wretched, but it did the trick. She had those babies 10 hours later.

    But she tried it with her second child and it only gave her the runs. Rumor has it that it only works if the baby is ready to come out anyway, it just helps things along a little quicker. Who knows!

    I was terrified all. the. time. when my babies didn’t move. I would lie perfectly still, guzzle apple juice, and poke the holy hell out of them. It nearly sent me over the edge. So I understand the worry and concern. I just want Nolan out, here, happy, and healthy. Soon!

  5. Aunt Becky October 29, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    I had a flare-up of GI issues (similar to what castor oil would induce) that landed me in L and D for 3 days crapping my brains and guts out and you know what? The baby didn’t budge. Happened with 2 of my babies. And all it made me was more uncomfortable. But I’ll tell you, I thought about it.

    I understand why you’d do it.

  6. Michell October 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    I don’t know much about the whole castor oil thing. I’ve heard a lot say it didn’t work but who knows. Whatever you decide good luck. I hope Nolan comes out to play soon!

  7. S October 29, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    I never tried the CO. A really good friend did the CO around 39 weeks and had the baby within 24 hours. I’ve never heard of the meconium thing with the CO (but it doesn’t mean it couldn’t happen!).

    I was induced with both babies. With baby one I didn’t know induction was coming, so I didn’t “prepare” at all. With baby two I knew it was coming (b/c of the possibility of pre eclampsia setting in like it did with baby one). I started taking evening primrose oil orally and internally at 36 weeks. Within 7 days my cervix was “ripe” and could be induced.

    I did lots of research on the EPR. It seems that it will sometimes give some the little push that is needed. At right around 35 weeks, I had bled a bit and knew my cervix was changing some b/c of the bleeding. The day of the induction I was bleeding again and had dialated more so maybe it can push you into labor!!! Good luck!!!

  8. amy October 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    i’m an L&D RN and one of our midwives has women do what she calls “jet fuel” 🙂 1/2 cup root beer 1/2 cup vanilla ice cream 1 tablespoon castor oil. blend and drink and chase with 2 reece’s cups. works like a charm if your body is slightly ready. i’ve never heard of or seen any increased mec with castor oil. good luck!

  9. jwhite05 October 30, 2009 at 4:56 am #

    I did castor oil yesterday afternoon. I will precede this with saying I border on the constipation side of bathroom issues. All the castor oil did was let me go #2, gave me some gas. Around 2 this morning I had false labor for about 3 hours, then it stopped (I don’t think that was related to the castor oil though). I do know that my cervix is mostly like a 4-5cm right now.

    I’m picking up red leaf raspberry tea today. Everyone keeps telling me have sex, but baby is so low and my cervix is so open, that the idea of sex causes me pain.

  10. Alicia October 30, 2009 at 6:36 am #

    Whether or not castor oil works is unclear to me, I’ve never had kids. However, the medical professional in me wants to tell you NOT to take this route. Not only do you have extreme diarrhea which is terrible in a healthy adult, you have kidney stones and therefore a compromised kidney function. It is highly not recommended for you to take castor oil. You can cause major dehydration and imbalances in your electrolytes, which I’m sure you know is never a good thing- especially if you want to VBAC.
    Good luck!

  11. April October 30, 2009 at 6:40 am #

    I would say don’t do it. It gives you horrible stomach cramps thus they say it brings on labor-but who wants to be in pain and running to the bathroom while in labor?
    Walk-I know it sucks but that is the way he is going to come down and out. I would talk to your dr. If your farther along what about induction? She needs to check your cervix.
    I used Raspberry leaf tea. Drank a ton of that. That’s supposed to help too. Unfortunately though walking is what works the best-the rest is really when the baby is ready to come out.

  12. Sarah October 30, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    Castor oil does do nasty things to your digestive tract which, since it runs fairly parallel to your vaginal canal is thought to induce labour by making you poo.
    My midwives also suggested the Red Raspberry leaf tea. I would get to a health food store and pick some up. I would not recommend castor oil (but I am only a second year midwifery student, so don’t consider me an expert).
    Hope you have this babe soon!

  13. Ms. J October 30, 2009 at 9:29 am #

    I know nothing and have nothing to share, only my support.

    It’s scary that the meds to help you out would have a sedating effect on Nolan (though it certainly make sense once it was explained in your blog entry).

    Is there any way you could scrub the floors and thus induce labor (ya know, how it always magically works in the movies?!) Kidding. Just sending you some speedy thoughts.

  14. Two Makes Four October 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    When I was pregnant, the ONE thing I wouldn’t do was castor oil to try to induce labor. I kept reading of women who took castor oil and either a) got horrible runs but didn’t go into labor or b) got horrible runs, went into labor and shat themselves throughout the entire delivery. I figure childbirth is messy enough without diarrhea getting involved.

    All I can throw at you is what you probably already know — evening primrose oil, lots of sex (ejaculating inside to let the semen do its thing with the prostoglandins — they use that to ripen the cervix in the hossy anyway), lots of walking, massage, accupuncture, using a breast pump.

    I know, it’s so ironic that you’d carry him this long! I say let him cook if he wants (don’t shoot me!).

    Good luck!

  15. Heather November 1, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    I’ve been reading for awhile but have never asked for the password. So, I was wondering if I could get it from you?

  16. Ashley November 1, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Hey, I was wondering if I could get the password so I can see the pictures. I’ve asked before, but I don’t know if you got the comment. I’ve been following for a while, and I’m currently pregnant with my second, due 18 months after my first 🙂

  17. Carrie November 1, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    password, please? 🙂

  18. Alex November 1, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Ya I wouldn’t go for the castor oil route either. I heard something about it once that scared the crap out of me about it, but sorry I can’t remember what it was. ust made a note to self that anyone asking about it I’d try and discourage it.

  19. KteeB November 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    *I asked for the password before but I think it got lost in your inbox 🙂 Could I get it now?*
    Castor oil worked for me. My son was born less than 12 hours after I took it. I didn’t have any GI distress until the next day, but honestly, that was ok with me because I’d had problems being able to “relieve myself” after vaginal births with my other children. In my opinion, it was one less thing I had to worry about after recovering from childbirth.

  20. Carole Tidwell November 2, 2009 at 5:42 am #

    I’ve been following you for some time now – but can’t follow you any longer without the password. :o) Hope you will share. :o) Blessings.
    Carole

Leave a Reply

