38 Weeks (tomorrow)

27 Oct

Nolan 012

[According to the Dr’s dates at least. Again, according to mine, I won’t be 38 weeks until Sunday. ]

ANYHOW – I should have mentioned on yesterday’s post that I do NOT have pre eclampscia – though I appreciate the concern. =)

They checked me for it over and over at the hospital and again today at my appointment. In fact, she didn’t even LOOK at my feet today. I told her that they were EXTREMELY swollen and she just said “uh huh”. Oh well.

Since we’re on the topic, she really doesn’t do ANYTHING at my appointments. I’m starting to be annoyed that I even have to go in once a week, its not exactly anywhere near my house.

They weigh me. They check my pee. They check my BP and they check for Nolan’s HB and that’s it. They don’t do any pelvic exams or anything. WTF? Shouldn’t they be checking for dilation and effacement!?

She did send me for an NST because I mentioned that he hadn’t been moving as much. Another waste of time – he got the hic ups as soon as they hooked up the monitor.

About the only exciting thing that has happened is that I lost my mucous plug yesterday (parts of it at least…ew). Though I’ve Googled it obsessively and it appears that losing the mucous plug means basically NOTHING.

Of course.

Who the EFF thought I would carry him this far AND that there would be NO signs of him coming anytime soon?

I think he’s mad that we didn’t let him come when HE wanted to come so he’s decided to just stay.

Forever.

I also think I’m starting to feel a little bit better.

I did pass one TEEEENY stone that I noticed (they gave me a strainer).

Seriously, it was slightly larger than a piece of sand.

They warned me that it would be small and that I would be pissed…but SERIOUSLY!?

I’m still sore in the ribs and having shooting pains in my groin, but overall the pain has lessened quite a bit. Hopefully it stays that way. Maybe I’ll be able to go off the pain meds tomorrow…hopefully that won’t be a huge mistake like last time. =/ I just hate to expose Nolan to all those drugs if I don’t have to. Not to mention that they can be addictive, and these are goooooood meds. I can see how people become addicted to them.

10 Responses to “38 Weeks (tomorrow)”

  1. Away2me October 27, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Cervical checks tell you absolutely NOTHING. Be glad your doc isn’t causing more harm than good by checking you. I refused to be checked by my OB. I asked her point blank why they want to check, if it could determine when I would deliver (I knew the answer) and she paused and said, “No, we just always check”. I said, “thanks, but no thanks”.

    Glad you passed something. Hope you are feeling a bit better. I’m so glad Nolan is not making an early debut. No NICU time will be a wonderful thing for him, you and the girls!

  2. annacyclopedia October 27, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    I hear you on the frustrating dr visits. I had to ask him to do an internal last week and today I was too grouchy after waiting for an hour to see him to even bother. Luckily my city is small and it’s not a long drive at all but parking is a bitch around the hospital, so that always helps me be in a good mood when I have to go.

    Hmm. Hope my grumpiness is a sign of impending labour. And hope you are feeling much better soon and that things get moving for you, too!

  3. BlueBella October 28, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Thinking about you tons LaLa! Take care of yourself and can’t wait to see pics of gorgeous Nolan:)

  4. noswimmers October 28, 2009 at 6:19 am #

    What a beautiful belly!! Please little man, make your grand entrance soon, mama is gettin’ tired!

  5. Michell October 28, 2009 at 6:39 am #

    Hope he decides to come out soon!

  6. Michelle October 28, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Isn’t it amazing how something so small can cause such a great deal of discomfort? I’m glad you are starting to feel better.

  7. Beth O. =o) October 28, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    Just keeping a check on you and your family. Your belly is *SO* cute!! It won’t be long before Nolan is here! Hope the girls and hubby are well. =o)

  8. Tammy October 29, 2009 at 3:29 am #

    Glad you feel better or at least a little better. 🙂 I wish Nolan would soon make his appearance! 🙂

  9. Sweet Georgia October 29, 2009 at 7:10 am #

    I’m glad that you passed a stone and the you’re starting to feel better. I think that even though you don’t think the weekly appointments are doing anything, that they are still worth going to!

  10. Samantha November 1, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    I’d love the password!

Leave a Reply

