::Whimper::

26 Oct

 

These are what used to be my feet. They are so swollen that I can stick my finger in the flesh and it leaves a hole. I’m like human play-dough. I have no idea if this is normal or not, but I have an appointment tomorrow morning, so we’ll see. The swelling is actually throughout my entire body, but its worst from the waist down. When I walk, it feels like I am encased in jello. Yuck!

I also had the brilliant idea of going off my pain meds today. I have been feeling much less pain and I decided that holding still as much as possible was much more effective than the narcotics anyway. Pffffft.

I’m an IDIOT.

My last dose was due at 10:30am. At 12:30pm I got up to pee and had such SEARING pain in my groin that I ended up crawling back to bed on my hands and knees with my hand clamped over my mouth trying not to scream and wake up the twins.

Yeah. Apparently a) whatever is pissed off in my system has moved from my ribs (which still hurt, but not as badly) to my groin and b) the meds were the only reason I was feeling better.

Brilliant, I tell ya.

::sigh::

13 Responses to “::Whimper::”

  1. Sweet Georgia October 26, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    Oh you poor thing! I hope that it won’t be long before Nolan is in the world and you’re body can focus on healing itself.

  2. April October 26, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    I have had stones- over 20. Your pain- especially moving from the ribs to the groin is a big red flag for me. I took pyridium, Flomax (miracle drug-dont know if its safe for pregnancy) and pain meds. Drink lots of water and fresh squeezed lemonade. I would say beer but….sorry! Hang in there- my daughter got here safely in spite of the threat of stones. Since her birth I have become a mine field of stones!

  3. Aunt Becky October 26, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh baby. Your feet look like mine did before I had Mimi. You poor thing. Almost done. Soon you’re feet will be normal.

  4. S October 26, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    The good news is you are almost there!! I’m sorry you are still in pain. The swelling makes me a little nervous. I’m a girl with a history of pre eclampsia so swelling is a big red flag. I’m glad you are going to the doctor in the morning. Keep us posted!!!

  5. Deanna October 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    hey crazy girl – you DO realize that you could be pre eclamptic RIGHT???!!! Hello MAJOR swelling… you being slightly neurotic and information seeker would have realized this already…. NOT a good sign!!! If I were you I would make sure you’re seeing a doctor soon and that they check your urine protein levels, and remember to keep doing your kick count because it’s your first indication that anything is wrong with Nolan. You need to be SUPER careful because with your kidneys possibly being the reason for your pain, that it could cause problems with your pregnancy… be VERY diligent and KEEP US POSTED!!!!!!!! You’re in my thoughts and prayers!

  6. Michell October 26, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    I will second the possibility of pre-eclamptic. I know some swelling during pregnancy is to be expected but when it’s a lot like that it could be an indicator of pre-eclampsia. Hope you get some answers at the doctor tomorrow. Hope your appointment goes well. Hugs to you.

  7. Wifey October 26, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    You poor thing!!! Praying for relief and baby to come soon! You’re almost there!!!

  8. ifthisworks October 26, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    Sorry I have not been keeping up! My internet time has been minimal!

    I hated the swelling. I had it all over my body too…. my ob told me I had 25+ lbs of swelling on me! My face, wrists, legs, ankles, and feet were swollen. I still cannot get into shoes I used to wear, and it’s sad.

    Sorry about all of the crap you’ve recently been through! I hope you get some answers!!!!

  9. annacyclopedia October 27, 2009 at 4:16 am #

    I hope you get some answers, too, but severe swelling isn’t necessarily dangerous. My sister’s feet were even worse looking than yours but other than that she was perfectly healthy. Hope it’s the same for you and you get some relief very soon!

  10. Michelle October 27, 2009 at 6:17 am #

    I worry about your swelling being due to pre-eclampsia. I am so glad you have a doctor appointment today because I think you need to get that checked out. I swelled with my prengnacy, but not like that.

    I’m thinking about you and sending well wishes your way.

    *hugs*

  11. MoDLin October 27, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    I can relate to your feeling like human play-dough, but… pre-eclampsia comes to mind and that’s no joke. Glad you’re going to the doc tomorrow, but don’t hesitate to take another ER run if the pain gets worse. Look forward to reading about Nolan’s healthy arrival soon!

  12. Cora October 27, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    I have never commented before but I’m a nurse and wanted to say that if you do have a kidney stone the reason your pain has moved to the groin would be from the stone migrating so hopefully you will pass it soon. Also while the swelling sucks it is keeping your kidneys busy helping to move the stone, that’s why they gave you so much fluid in the hospital, if you have a stone. But all taht is only if you have a stone so the concerns about pre-eclampsia are valid. I’m glad your going to the Dr.

  13. Io October 27, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    Owwwwwww. I hope the doctor cleared you as okay and just ready to pop.

Leave a Reply

