Ding, Ding, Ding!

14 Oct

As of today, Nolan is OFFICIALLY full term!

If you are looking at my ticker, I set those based on the date I think that I conceived, not on the date that my doctors have given me via ultrasound (which have been very consistent). Though, honestly, I think my dates are still probably correct since we only had sex twice that month – lol.

But just for fun (and peace of mind) I am going with today as the day I no longer have to worry about having a preemie.

(I also know that some doctors say 37 weeks is full term, but mine said 36 – well actually she said 35 – so I’m going with 36.)

Anyhoo…now the old infertile worry wart in me emerges once again (was she ever really gone?) and I am worried about him staying in there TOO long.

I’m worried that if he gets too big that something will go wrong with my VBAC (not that I’m worried about having another cesarean, I’m all about getting him here safe…I’m worried about a rupture and him being put in danger).

I”m worried about that darn cord being around his neck.

And I’m worried because the way it was explained to me is that that quad screen test picked up SOMETHING (some hormone level or levels were NOT what they should be, and there is some reason for that). I was told that many women who have high false positives go on to have preemies and/or placental abruptions.

Evelynn’s placenta was partially abrupted, leading to an emergency c-section and my 30 weeker twins.

At the beginning of this pregnancy I had a subchorionic hemorrhage – a small placental abruption.

Can you see how I’m getting myself worked up here?

So now I want him out. Out safe. I hate him being in there where I can’t protect him from something as simple as his own umbilical cord.

I know the best place for the baby is in the womb until 40 weeks…but I don’t trust my uterus. I’m a paranoid freak…I know. But unfortunately, my fears are generally well founded.

11 Responses to “Ding, Ding, Ding!”

  1. Sweet Georgia October 14, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    Deep breaths! Things are fine to this point, so there’s no reason (or no confirmed major reason) to think that it won’t continue this way.

    Congrats on making it full term. Next time there’s a post I hope to say that Nolan is happy & healthy and in your arms.

  2. Michelle October 14, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Yay for full term!

    As for the stressing, yep, your an infertile. It was funny to me how I wanted my baby out while I was pregnant just so I could keep her safe. Then when she came out I wanted to put her back in where I could keep her safe. lol The way I understand it, we never get to stop worrying from the moment of conception until the end of time. Its part of being a mother.

    I trust that Nolan will be just fine until his birthday and beyond. Just keep an eye on things, do your kick counts and all that other jazz. If anything at all feels off, call your doctor. Go with your instincts.

    Now, sit back, relax, and enjoy the last few days/weeks of your pregnancy. He will be here soon enough, and everything will be just fine.

    *hugs*

  3. Ms. J October 14, 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    Just wondering . . . when you go into labor are they able to do a quick ultrasound (at hospital?!) to see where the cord is, and thus make a decision on whether a C-section might be safer for him? I have no idea when it comes to these things, but it popped into my head as worth an inquiry.

    Are you aware of any additional tests they might perform on him after delivery to see if anything else was throwing off that damn Quad Screen? (At one point there was some thought that perhaps he had a liver issue, right?)

    SO HAPPY FOR YOU, MS. EASY BAKE OVEN!!! (hee hee, I like to think of uterus as such!!!)

    • mrslala October 14, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

      Real quick (at work):

      My dr said that they won’t worry about the cord at all unless the baby starts having decels. If he does they will section me. Apparently its really common to have the cord around the neck and most of the time it doesn’t bother the baby, but its case by case.

      As for the liver, yes…they will do blood tests. =/

  4. Michele October 14, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Wishing you all the best!

  5. S October 14, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    It will be just fine. I think we all have those crazy thoughts (maybe even the people without fertility issues have those thoughts too??? who knows!).

    Hang in there. Those screening tests are just crazy! It’s not long now!

  6. Michell October 14, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    Ok, I understand the stress and worry. As far as the worries for delivering they will monitor you carefully and if there are any hints that he’s having a hard time they will convert you to a section. For now, him in there for another week or two is an ok thing. Hang in there.

  7. Two Makes Four October 15, 2009 at 7:46 am #

    I’m sure you could punch me in the face for saying this, but try to trust that things will be okay and that your body is going to be mercifully easy on you….?

    Okay, just hang in there! You can do this!!!

  8. Io October 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Yay for full term! I know shit about shit, but it sounds like everything will be okay. I hope there is nothing to worry about…and that Nolan gets moving soon so you feel better!

  9. Kate October 16, 2009 at 6:08 am #

    Congrats on being full term! I hope that everything goes ok – it sounds like it will.

  10. twondra October 17, 2009 at 5:21 am #

    Yay for full term! I’m so happy for you!

    Of course you’re worried! I would be a nervous wreck! But it looks like you’ve gotten some great advice from women who have been there and that’s great!

    Thinking of you!! (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

