Amnio Results! (for real this time)

12 Oct

They finally called this morning. They did not find any sings of trisomy 21 or anything else of concern and he is 100% boy!!

I was so sure that we were having a DS baby that this hasn’t sunk in completely just yet.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t relieved. I have worked with DS children for YEARS, and (in general) they are very lovable kids. If I didn’t have so much on my plate already I would be honored to be the mommy of a Down’s Syndrome child. However, with everything else on our plates right now I honestly think I just might have lost my mind. =(

22 Responses to “Amnio Results! (for real this time)”

  1. MFA Mama October 12, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Aww so glad you have that much less to worry about for the moment! And you’re getting past the point where any NICU time is even all that likely, wow! Congrats!

  2. Diane October 12, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    Congratulations on your little boy!! I have been reading your blog for some time, and you are an inspiration to many! Thank you for your beautiful openness to a child with Ds, even though you will not be having one. It means so much to those of us who do have a child with Ds, that you were so open. You can not imagine the stuff we have heard over the years, when someone is expecting a child with Ds, or suspect they are. You are a breath of fresh air!!!! Congratulations again! Enjoy your little guy!

  3. pittplanner October 12, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    So much to celebrate! I am so flippin happy for you!

    You do realize that you are again setting yourself up for Urban Myth status … In addition to the surprise pregnancy, you will now be referred to as the woman who was told her chances of a DS baby were very likely, and went on to have a baby without DS ;o)

  4. Aunt Becky October 12, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    *cries*

    Wonderful news.

  5. ultimatejourney October 12, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Very happy to hear this!

  6. twondra October 12, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    yay!!! I’m soooo happy for you!!! (((HUGS)))

  7. S October 12, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    I am so happy for you! I just knew everything was going to be just fine!!! Yipppeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  8. Io October 12, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    Lala! That is so wonderful! Oh, I am so happy for you.

  9. annacyclopedia October 12, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    That is wonderful news for me to get at the end of a long Thanksgiving day! I am so happy for you and grateful that you have been granted a break from the Universe on this one particular thing, and I totally understand your feelings about this. I’m quite sure I would feel exactly the same way – as would most parents.

    Huge celebratory hugs to you!

  10. leahboral October 12, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    I know you are so relieved. You don’t have to explain anything. I am so happy for you, but especially for him. I HATE first trimester screenings. They put me through the same torture. I’m glad you know.

  11. Michell October 12, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    So happy to hear that all is well. It’s ok to be relieved. Even though you would have loved a DS baby as much as any other it’s still ok to feel relieved that the baby doesn’t have DS.

  12. Away2me October 12, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

    Wonderful news. Keep him cooking a bit longer!

  13. Jennifer October 12, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    I read your blog but have never posted….just wanted to say how happy I am for your family!

  14. Sweet Georgia October 13, 2009 at 5:35 am #

    Such wonderful news! I had every confidence that regardless of the results that you would fully meet the challenge or raising a DS child; I’m so happy that this has not been added to the load you are already carrying. Sorry about the continuing false labour pains.

  15. monica October 13, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    wonderful news! I’ve been praying for you and your family.

  16. Observer October 13, 2009 at 6:08 am #

    Glad to hear you finally received the results. Keep beating the odds.

  17. Michelle October 13, 2009 at 8:59 am #

    That is wonderful news! I am so glad to hear it. One less thing for you to stress your poor head about right now.

  18. Lauren October 13, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Yea, I’m so happy for you! I know that’s a big relief.
    Is your due date Nov 15? I saw it on your ticker that you have 33 days left. After a quick count on the calendar, it looks like that’s exactly how many days I have left too! Although I really think this one will be here before then.

  19. Kate October 13, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    Great news!!

  20. staciesmadness October 14, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    congrats!

  21. Two Makes Four October 15, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    That is WONDERFUL news. I’m so happy you got great news. What a relief!

  22. Merlot October 15, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    That’s great news!

Leave a Reply

