Preterm Labor…No Biggie (apparently)

2 Oct

This morning I woke up feeling a lot of pressure and some cramping in my back. I’ve felt this before. And called. And was told that it was normal. So I didn’t go in.

At my next OB appointment my doctor scolded me for not going in for that and told me if I felt it again to go to L & D right away.

So today I debated.

And debated.

And went to work.

Because every time I go to L & D (for the girls), it turns out to be NOTHING.

I a few contractions all day, but nothing rhythmic…the wierdest thing was this strange achiness in my back that I’ve never felt before.

My last appointment at work cancelled on me, and my next to last appointment was pretty close to my hospital (which is no where near my house). By then I was having some really painful…well…whatever they were. I can’t call them contractions because I have no idea what the f*ck a contraction is or is not…apparently. Anyhow, I was having trouble not driving off the road.

So I got there, and long story short, they said I was contracting twice every ten minutes (does that mean every five minutes?!), that I was 40% effaced, 1 cm dilated, and that the baby was at -2 station.

They gave me a shot of terbutiline.

It calmed things down for a little while (an hour, maybe) then the contractions came back.

So they gave me another shot.

I sat there for an hour, had a few contractions, nothing rhythmic or as painful as before.

They checked me, no changes.

So they sent me home.

An hour after the second shot.

Yes, I’ve had a few contractions (pressure is gone), nothing rhythmic.

I asked for steroid shots for Nono’s lungs…they said that he’s far enough along that that’s not nessecery.

So what the F*CKING hell was THAT!?

Either he’s mature enough to come, or he’s not.

Either I”m in labor, or I’m not.

I am pissed beyond WORDS right now.

Would it really have hurt to have observed me for a FEW more hours?! Did they read my history at ALL!? Why would the second shot continue to work for more than an hour if the first did not? Or how about; why would it work on me when it didn’t work during my LAST pregnancy!?

Oh, and after the cervical check? Yeah. I bleed. A lot. As in, not spotting…but blood. (It stopped, but STILL!)

History of preterm labor, placental abruption tocolytic drugs not working….ummmm…hellllo?

Oh, and they said nothing about going off work, bed rest…nada.

So I know. I *know* I’ll end up in active labor again, at least within the next few days…if not tonight. What a freaking waste of time.

I’m not going back to that place until, pfffft, I don’t know when. Unless my water obviously breaks how will I ever be sure I’m *really* in labor?

*PISSED*

9 Responses to “Preterm Labor…No Biggie (apparently)”

  1. Sweet Georgia October 2, 2009 at 5:11 am #

    Sorry they were such asshats. (I tried to think of a non-swear word that would work, but this sums it up best I think). I hope that you do not go into full on labour until that little guy of yours is good and ready. I’d be ticked too if I were you.

  2. Michelle October 2, 2009 at 5:21 am #

    Dang girl. Did you call your doctor and ask them what they thought? I’d be pretty cheesed too. I hope things calm down and that you get some kind of direction from your doctor. Hang in there little Nolan! Its not time yet.

  3. Michell October 2, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    I second the call your doctor and ask what they think. As far as the hospital you would think that they would have kept you a little longer. Who knows what is going on there. Hope the little guy hangs in there at least a few more days.

  4. Two Makes Four October 2, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    Um yeah, you ought to call your doctor, IMO. With your history, I wouldn’t leave anything to chance!

  5. S October 2, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    Call your doctor!

  6. Ms. J October 2, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    Gawd, you always seem to get the sh*ttiest care, I swear. I say that with a lot of love, LaLa, but I feel like you are constantly get the shaft, medically!

    I feel like kicking some ass today — who wants to fly to southern cal with me and do so on LaLa’s behalf?!!

  7. Sonya October 2, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    When I went in at 32 weeks with those same symptoms, they kept me in the hospital for the weekend! And then put me on bedrest…so I agree with the others that a call to your regular doc is in order (I didn’t deliver until 38 weeks fwiw). I’m sorry this happened to you…

  8. Aunt Becky October 2, 2009 at 7:58 am #

    Good LORD. I’m just…wow. That’s awful.

  9. pln October 2, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    sorry for you… just relax and try to rest as much as you can!

Leave a Reply

