SOS

15 Sep

Dear Internet Buddies, I need your help again!

During my ultrasound last week the 4D scan revealed that the umbilical cord is around Nolan’s neck.

He has been active before and since and so I have been trying not to obsess. I made it almost an entire week. Now I’m starting to worry. I asked the tech about it at the time and he said not to worry because there was nothing that could be done either way. He also mentioned that it might not really be around the neck, but just draped across the neck…it sure looked to be around the neck to me! It was very close in there. Grr.

As if I need something else to obsess on, right?

It doesn’t help that there used to be a girl here at my work whose sister lost a baby at 6 months to this. What am I? OH! That’s right, 6 months. FRICK!

So, I’ve been good. I made it a whole 6 days before having my melt down. I have an OB appointment tomorrow and I need to know how much I am allowed to panic. Are we demanding a birth as soon as the lungs are mature (complete with steroid shots ASAP), or are we just going to sit tight but scrap the VBAC?

 Help!

10 Responses to “SOS”

  1. Emily September 15, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    I do believe that my midwife/doula told me that about 1/3 of babies are born with a cord around their neck. So, it’s not necessarily a problem. It seems that the issue is not whether it’s around the baby’s neck, it’s whether it’s tight around the baby’s neck. If the baby is moving well, then the cord is fine.

    Can it be a problem? Sure. But a lot of things that can be problems don’t turn out to be problems.

    It’s one of those things that if you hadn’t know about it, you wouldn’t be worrying about it. And, as you can’t control it, I guess you just have to let it go as best as you can.

    The risks of keeping the baby in there with the cord around his neck have to be compared with the risk of having the baby be born early. And plenty of babies are born vaginally with a cord around their necks, too. My daughter was. 🙂

    I’m sure it will all be fine. 🙂

    <>

  2. seussgirl September 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m not sure if you’re looking for examples to lean on or just encouragement; I’ll try to give you both. 🙂
    My SIL was told early on in her recent pregnancy that the cord was around baby girl’s neck, but that it was very very common and wasn’t a problem. She did end up delivering c-section, however, because they kept a close eye on the baby, and she ended up breech with her feet over her head, with the cord still around her neck.
    So I’d say – breathe, it will all still be okay, they’ll just keep a closer eye on him now. And maybe that means you’ll get to see him more often?
    And remember, you’re farther than you’ve ever been. : )

  3. Aunt Becky September 15, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    I think that Alex was born with the cord around his neck too, but I don’t remember. I don’t think they told me (I didn’t have any US past 20 weeks, though).

    *hugs*

  4. Leah September 15, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    I’ve got no assvice. Both of my kids were born via c-section and I was never told if their cords were around their necks or not.

    You can freak out as much as you want. Seriously. Don’t feel about it at all. This is your BABY we are talking about!! See what your OB says and then figure out what to do from there.

    Thinking about you… xo

  5. ash September 16, 2009 at 4:04 am #

    Hi. I’ve been reading for a while but never commented before. Your writing is very striking.

    I wanted to offer only the following advice: try to calm down. I know that’s almost a ridiculous thing to say given that this is your child, but there is nothing that can be done right now. Like the others have said, plenty of kids are born with their cord around their neck. I was, and I’m a healthy adult.

    As for the VBAC, why don’t you wait and see? Plan for VBAC, but make sure everyone is aware that a C may be necessary and be ready to change your plans.

    I’m sure you know how hard ultrasounds are to read. I can never make any sense of the things. Trust the technician if he says it might not be around the neck.

    Talk to your OB tomorrow, but try not to freak out too much. That said, if you’re worried, make sure the OB knows and deals with your worries.

    Sorry, that’s probably no help.

    Ash

  6. Sweet Georgia September 16, 2009 at 5:38 am #

    Hugs. I have no advice to give. I would just bring it up with your Dr at your next appointment and hear what they have to say.

  7. Michelle September 16, 2009 at 6:01 am #

    I would leave it up to the advice of your doctor. Maybe see if they can do another scan just to make sure things are okay. Keep monitoring the movement, and call the second anything changes with the pattern.

    Best wishes and big hugs!

  8. pittplanner September 16, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    Wait, you are way beyond 6 months, unless my math is freaky?!

    Push the dr. hard this morning on what should be done for the best outcome and do not take any evasiveness in their answers!!! Growl if you have to, Mama Bear!

    I know you’d like to avoid having Nolan come out too soon, but both your girls were 10 weeks early, if memory serves, and he has been baking longer than that, and with more room to grow than the girls had (since they had a roommate). He is already estimated to be 4 pounds (and that was last week), which is proof of his good size, should the decision be made to have you deliver early to safeguard against a cord-situation.

    Please update us ASAP!

  9. twondra September 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    Oh sweetie….like you needed this. 😦 I don’t have any advice, but I don’t blame you at all for freaking out…I would be too. I’m thinking of you!!!

  10. jessica ratliff September 18, 2009 at 8:58 am #

    my midwife says that it is not always as bad as it seems… when you are in the delivery process they are able to loosen the cord and take it from around the neck…although most doctors will not take the time to do that and go straight for c section…. but i would just talk with your doc because the route that you are going they might be willing to…iut is usually bad when it is also around another limb as well….

Leave a Reply

