Uncharted Waters

12 Sep

As of tomorrow I will be 31 weeks pregnant. I have never been 31 weeks pregnant before.

recent baby activities 6-09 017

Everyone at work has been saying that I am bigger now than I was with the girls right before they were born. I don’t think so, and he sure as heck doesn’t feel as heavy! I think I am much smaller…plus he is a totally different shape.

We had a yard sale today to get rid of the girl’s old clothes and things that they don’t need anymore because they are…(sob)…growing up!

I’m a little bit sad tonight. They will be one year old in a week and a half.

I just opened the last can of baby formula today.

Oh, does anyone need baby girl’s clothes? I have boxes and boxes of stuffΒ  that the girls have out grown…most of it is really nice stuff and I can’t seem to sell it to save my life.Β  I would love to give it to some fellow bloggers!

I have been making progress on Nolan preparations as well. I have a bath tub (yes, I caved and bought a BLUE one…shut it). I have a ton of newborn clothes (although I am now wondering if I’m going to be able to use them if he ends up the butter ball they are predicting) and some 3 month. I have a triplet stroller and a new-to-us car seat for him that fits into said stroller (it’s Peg Perego).Β  I haven’t bought a crib yet and I don’t think I will until he is a few months old because I plan on keeping him in the room with Hubby and I for awhile so I may as well keep him in a Pack n’ Play. I might get a Moses basket or bassinette…but, again, if he really is a 9 pounder he may not fit in those for long.

I think I’m pretty much set. We just need some new nipples for the baby bottles, some towels and wash clothes, some blankies and receiving blankets, some diapers, and a mini van. =)

The only Nolan purchase I’m not happy with at the moment is the used Medela breast pump that I got on Ebay. I had reservations about buying a used one to begin with and I am regretting it now. I researched the heck out of it, and with Medela as long as you buy your own tubing, shields, etc and are only reusing the actual machine then it is sanitary. But the one I got showed up smelling like cigarette smoke!

It’s not the machine itself that smells, it’s the bag (it’s the Medela Pump In Style). I’m going to try Lysoling the crap out of it or possibly looking into replacing the bag…but it might have to go. I’m just way too grossed out. =/

Anyone else use a pre-owned pump?

12 Responses to “Uncharted Waters”

  1. noswimmers September 12, 2009 at 7:58 pm #

    I’ve been researching the hell outta breast pumps too. The damned things are expensive!! It might not be the smartest move, but I’m going to see how things go before I decide what “type” to get. I would be soooooooo grossed out if something showed up all smokey! I would just toss the bag…or maybe wash it and hang it up outside?

    The girls are going to be a YEAR old?? Awww…they’re growing up so fast! What sweet little pumpkins. πŸ™‚

    Thinking about you.

    xoxo

  2. Michell September 12, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    Congrats on 31 week and happy birthday to the girls.

  3. Lissa September 12, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    I know I’m fairly new to your blog but I just found out on tuesday that my twins are both girls so if you want to send some of the girls clothes my way that would be awesome.

  4. Beth O. September 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe that the girls are almost a year old already!! Congrats on 31 weeks. I am so glad things are going well for you. =o)

  5. twondra September 13, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    Wow! Time sure flies! I can’t believe the girls are almost 1 year old!

    Yuck! I hate cigarette smoke. And I think it’s so sad that a pump will smell like smoke so bad….makes you wonder what kind of home the poor baby was in. 😦

  6. annacyclopedia September 13, 2009 at 9:54 am #

    If you can wash the bag in the machine, you can add plain white vinegar in the fabric softener cup and it will TOTALLY get the smell out. It works better than anything else I’ve tried to get rid of smells in fabric. You can also use vinegar water to wipe down any parts of the pump you can’t actually wash or immerse. It might sound weird, but the vinegar smell doesn’t really linger and it actually eradicates the smell instead of just covering it up. Plus it’s totally non-toxic.

    I will be using a used pump but it is from my sister, so at least I know where it’s been, etc. But I know lots of others who have used second hand pumps, and it’s true – as long as you buy your own tubing, etc. it is totally fine.

    Yay for you being 31 weeks! I have been given lots of boy clothes (mostly larger sizes than 3 month) and if I end up having a girl, I plan to be sending some of them to you!

  7. S September 13, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    That stinks (literally) that your pump is all smokey. I second the vinegar idea….it’s great for cleaning and removing odor! Good luck!

  8. S September 13, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    Wait…me again. I forgot this in the last post…

    What amnio? Did I miss something?

  9. Ms. J September 13, 2009 at 5:47 pm #

    Disgusting. Do you pay on PayPal? If so you might be able to return it and file a claim?!

    And I am seconding the inquiry by another blogger/commenter, based on your twitters . . . did you wind up having the amnio? I know that has been something you were struggling with (whether to have it done or not).

    XOXO.

    You look darn cute to me!

  10. Michelle September 14, 2009 at 6:22 am #

    I cannot believe it has already been a year since the girls were born! Holy cow where did the time go?!

    As for the baby clothes, do you have anything in 9-12 mos? I had to go shopping for the Bean this weekend and spent way too much money buying her new 6-9 mo clothes. Hubs wanted to kill me. πŸ˜€

    As for the pump, I think I with you on the grossed out. I don’t think I could handle it either. How old is it? I borrowed one from my sister when the Bean was born, then I rented a Symphony from the hospital for a month, and then I bought a brand new Pump-In-Style and used it for all of 3 weeks before I got mastitis and had to quit. I would see if you can return the one you bought and then check with your hospital to see if they have a boutique, and if it does, if they offer discounts to patients. Mine did, so I got 20% off my pump. Perhaps I could buy some of your baby girl clothes off you and you can put the money toward a pump? Just a thought.

  11. Cheryl September 14, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    I have a brand new pump n style backpack style still sealed I would sell to you for $175. I bought it because I thought that my first one was breaking down, it never did and now I have 3 weeks and 2 days before they are one and I will not need it and too late to return it. Let me know… πŸ™‚

  12. seussgirl September 14, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    31 weeks – yay! I remember with every week I made it past when the boys were due thinking “I haven’t been here before.” And then I got started thinking that I was going to have to deliver an 8.5 lb baby instead of 3.5 pounders, and that wasn’t so exciting!

    And while it’s kind of sad that time moves so fast, isn’t it kind of nice to be opening that last can of formula? Milk is sooo much cheaper. πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

