I Finally Have Transplant News!!

30 Aug

Try not to fall out of your chairs, we *finally* heard something from Cedars Sinai (yeah, after the past YEAR of waiting).

Hubby has an appointment on October 22nd to meet the transplant team. They do not have a start date for the IVIG for him yet, but they have *said* (I know their word means very little) that it will be some time very soon after that appointment. They will do three treatments that month (apparently on the first, 15th, and 30th) and then *hopefully* transplant him the next month. So (not getting too excited here because we all know by how how these things generally SAFU themselves long before they come to fruition) it LOOKS like he will be getting a transplant some time before the new year.

This is all news to us because even though we knew that he was going for the IVIG at Cedars, we did not know that they would be doing the whole transplant. Usually his transplant stuff has gone through Loma Linda.

We’re thrown for a loop just a bit here because Cedars is in Beverly Hills. We live no where near Beverly Hills (obviously, hence my constant whining about money woes). We live about an hour and a half from there, on a good day, with zero traffic. I’m a bit worried about getting “the call” and then not making it in time (they generally give transplant patents 4 to 6 hours to get to the hospital once the organ comes in). But, I guess we just can’t worry about that.

If your thinking “Gee, it sounds like Hubby is going to be starting his IVIG/Transplant stuff hours away from home right around the time Nolan is going to be born” you would be right! Anyone in the So Cal area up for volunteering to be my labor buddy? =/

In further niffty news, some of the money I have been waiting for since my car accident came in last night. I wasn’t expecting that for months, possibly even years. It’s not much, but its enough to cover the girl’s birthday party and to free up some funds to get the items I need for Nolan. Whew.

Finally? Good news? I almost don’t know what to do with myself! Yippie!!

OH, and Lennon’s eye opened up. We’re just on a roll here lately! I need a lotto ticket!

10 Responses to “I Finally Have Transplant News!!”

  1. pittplanner August 30, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    My goodness, all this great news at once?! We don’t know what to do with ourselves, eh?!

    New pics of Lennon, por favor?!

    Just wondering … Any weird stares or comments while out in public (regarding her appearance) as she heals?

  2. Michell August 30, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    Glad you finally got some good news for once. On several fronts even. I’m not really Socal but if I were I’d volunteer to be your labor buddy if you ended up needing one. Hopefully things will fall into place and you won’t need one.

  3. Sweet Georgia August 30, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Finally some good news is coming your way! That’s great to hear about the transplant, hope everything stays on schedule!

  4. seussgirl August 30, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    So glad to hear things are starting to go your way! Hoping the trend continues and gets even better!

  5. Aunt Becky August 30, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    I wish I lived closer, you know I’d help.

  6. twondra August 30, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    I’m so happy for you! Glad you’re finally getting some good news!!

  7. cookieoftheday August 30, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    Yay! You and your family have been in my prayers…. and will continue to be. Here’s to hoping for more good news. 🙂

  8. Michelle August 31, 2009 at 5:31 am #

    This is all awesome news! Yay! I hope things continue to go your way. Its finally your turn. 😀

  9. Away2me August 31, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Yeah for good news!

  10. S September 4, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    I am so happy to hear you so happy. You deserve a lifetime of good news. How about flying to Atlanta for the birth?? You can even bring the girls, and we will put them off on my husband while Nolan is born???

Leave a Reply

