Evelynn, Lennon and Nolan…oh my!

26 Aug

So, neither the plastic surgeon nor the neuro think that Lennon has ptosis. I am far from being 100% convinced, her eye improves in the AM but then starts to droop again as she gets sleepy (a symptom of ptosis). We go back to the plastic surgeon for another post op in 6 weeks, so I am giving it until then to really be concerned. In the mean time, I will expect it to heal on it’s own. Hopefully it will.

I’m still having minor freak outs about Nolan, and I feel like such an ungrateful ass. It isn’t that I’m not grateful, and it isn’t that I’m not excited, or that I don’t want him, or ANY of those things…it is just that I am completely and totally overwhelmed with everything else that I already have on my plate! I’m afraid that I am going to end up with really bad PPD (I never had it with the girls).

My job sucks, we have a ton of bills we can’t pay, we need a mini van and new baby boy supplies we can’t afford, we need to throw a birthday party for the twins that we can’t afford, Hubby is STILL getting d*cked around by the hospital that is supposed to do his IVIG (with our luck that will happen right around the time I go into labor). The girls need to be in day care that we also can’t afford. It just…ugh. Sucks right now.

Now that Lennon’s surgery is over I can’t believe how fast this pregnancy has gone by. My OB told me a few weeks ago (I missed my last appointment, Lennon was in the hospital, OOPS!) that she expects Nolan to arrive early. I do too, but I don’ think he is going to be a preemie preemie, like the girls were. I think he’ll be a 35 weeker at worst. I only say that because he is already WEDGED in my pelvis and ribs both…there is no room here at all. But, my stomach isn’t sticking out out very far yet, so maybe he can grow that way?

Anyhow, I am trying to start getting things ready for him. I have bought him a blanket and about five outfits. I need to get a bassinet, move our extra dresser out of storage and the couch we have in our room INTO storage to make room for him. I need to get a few more outfits (a friend at work has offered me her entire newborn collection that her son has out grown, yay! I gave her a bunch of the girls clothes for her new lil girl as well). I also need a little boy bath tub (ours is pink), boy wash cloths and towels, some diapers and some new bottle nipples. Not too much really, but more than I have money for right now.

At least I can start by moving the couch out and the dresser in. And I can start making a list of what I want to pack in my hospital bag. I really ought to just PACK it, just in case, particularlysince the OB thinks he will be making his grand entrance before too long…but it feel like bad luck to pack it before 35 weeks. I decided to wait with the girls…and ended up without a tooth brush or underwear at the hospital after their birth.

So, I have a question for you – dear internet – for those of you who have kids/are having kids/know someone who has had a kid: Are the childbirth classes offered at hosptials really helpful?

I would really like to take one, but I’ll have to sign up like … uh….now. And in case you didn’t pick up on this already, money is tight!

I am going to attempt a VBAC.

Thoughts? Advice?

Do they really help or is it a waste of time and money?

12 Responses to “Evelynn, Lennon and Nolan…oh my!”

  1. seussgirl August 27, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    I don’t actually have much advice on your questions; I just wanted to chime in with my “me, too!” 🙂 I feel so overwhelmed and uprepared for #3. I would say, if it even matters, that Nolan probably will never remember (or mind) if he uses pink bath accessories, unless, of course, there are pictures to constantly remind him of the fact. 🙂

    We did take the childbirth class at our hospital, and it might have been helpful had we had a “normal” delivery experience. I don’t know if I remember any of it this time around! You might be able to find some free ones if you look around, depending on your area?

  2. Michell August 27, 2009 at 4:36 am #

    Not a clue on the classes. I would say with the money issues to maybe skip if it’s going to create more worry. Or try contacting the person who is going to be doing the classes and explain the situation. Ask if she thinks the class is really necessary and who knows, maybe they’ll give you a bit of a break. I would agree with seussgirl about the bath tub. It’s great that you and a coworker are sharing clothes. that will be a really big help. Hope the next few weeks goes well.

  3. Janice August 27, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    I took the classes before my first was born and I honestly didn’t benefit from them. Everything that was taught at the class you could learn from a library book about childbirth. The nurses in L&D can show you everything you need to know. I didn’t find any of the breathing techniques to be helpful at all, but I would like to share some things that helped me. I found that rubbing an ice pack on my arm (or having hubby rub my leg) during contractions was very distracting and gave me something to focus on instead of the pain. It was like my brain couldn’t handle all of that information at once and when I focused on the cold sensation, the pain was sort of on the back burner. Also, get up and move. Don’t stay in bed until you have to. Use the birthing ball. It is amazing. Especially when someone is pushing a heating pad on your back. I hope you get to do the VBAC.

  4. pittplanner August 27, 2009 at 6:43 am #

    A few thoughts . . . why can’t Nolan be bathed in a pink tub, and be washed with pink washcloths? So what! In China, pink isn’t a feminine color, and we were constantly asked by Chinese people if Lil Pumpkin (wearing pink) was “boy or girl?” LOL.

    As for the mini-van . . . time to check out used/pre-owned models and find what fits your budget, trading in your current vehicle.

    I thought you had found a day care option (although this may have been pre-Nolan)?

    Hit the consignment shops or thrift stores for other items you may need (‘cept car seats, which should always be new – I noticed in photos that your girls and my Lil Pumpkin have exact same one!)

    As for birthing class . . . are you getting drugs? If so, I say skip and save the money. Maybe if you searched online you could find a free video to watch (YouTube?!) or some other resource that’d save you time & money.

    You are allowed to be cranky, scared, overwhelmed – so stop torturing yourself! I had someone comment onmy blog recently that she may have to stop reading my blog because she can’t understand my lack of complete joy and mixed emotions over our Urban Myth in-utero. WHATEVER!

  5. S August 27, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    I’m so happy to hear the good report from the docs. I’m hoping the droopy eye is gone before the next visit.

    The classes…hmmm…I did them with #1 then ended up with pre-eclampsia and it all went out the window. I think they were very beneficial for my husband to discover what would take place during delivery. I had been present during the birth of my two best friends’ babies so was a little more prepared. I think you would live without them…check y o u t u b e and see if there is something there. Are you doing drugs during delivery?

  6. sarah August 27, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    Nolan isn’t going to care that he’s in a pink tub. And neither should you – colours are just COLOURS. putting gender into them is crazy.

  7. Kim Austin August 27, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    Ditto what Sarah said about the pink tub. Who cares? I re-used all Maggie’s gear (pink or not) for the boys. It would be a complete waste of money to me to not use perfectly wonderful baby gear I already own.

    As for the classes, we didn’t take them with any of the kids and did just GREAT!

  8. Christine August 27, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    You might check with your OB, but when I had a VBAC they required me to have an epidural (concerns about uterine rupture – they wanted me numb if they had to rush me into surgery). If you’re having an epidural, skip the class.

    Actually I’d say skip the classes anyway unless you can find someone to run through the basics in a couple of hours. I didn’t think the classes were helpful.

    Oh – didn’t mean to sound scary. VBAC went fine. No rushing to surgery.

  9. Michelle August 27, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    I liked the class even though I was automatic c-section just because they tell you what to expect before, during, and after the birth, as well as how to care for the new baby and yourself. It was all just good-to-know info. Our class was free through our hospital. Have you looked into if your hospital offers them? Maybe ask your OB.

    As for blue vs. pink, I don’t think Nolan will know he got bathed in a pink tub with pink washclothes and swaddled in a pink towel. Save your money right now and focus on the things that you really, really need, like diapers and a minivan. 🙂

  10. Alicia August 28, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    I’ve taught those classes… I think they are a joke and waste of time. Just coming my own experiences tho!

  11. MoDLin September 3, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    I agree with the other gals – keep the pink tub and towels! And I’m totally into going to thrift shops for babies. Many baby clothes are rarely or never worn because they are outgrown too fast, so you should find plenty of things in excellent condition. And you can be sure someone will give you burly boy outfits as gifts.

    Check your library to see if they have any videos on “natural childbirth techniques.” Take a tour of your hospital L&D (should be free) and ask questions as you go. As others have said, best made plans often get changed by cirsumstances, so an expensive class may not be what you need right now. The March of Dimes has many video clips on labor and delivery on their website. Check it out: http://www.marchofdimes.com/pnhec/39679.asp

  12. jessica ratliff September 14, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    i think that it is a waste of time and money…they will coach you through the birth process ..with alana i wasn’t able to do the class and i was worried…but it turned out great… they directed me each step of the way…breath with your stomach and not your chest and you will do just fine….. dont be nervous it will be great
    jess

Leave a Reply

