I’m Back!

24 Aug

Well, it’s done.

Was it as bad as I feared? No.

Was it as easy as I had hoped it *might* be? NO!

That was the worst experience of my life to date (I’m talking about Lennon’s surgery, BTW, guess I should have mentioned that?). BUT, she is doing fantastically well already! We even went to Disneyland yesterday (just for a few hours and only to see the Light Parade). But she’s is just beautiful and doing awesomely well.

My only concern is that one of her eyelids is drooping and I’m afraid it might be something called ptosis. We had a post op with the neuro today and he said that he didn’t think so, but that that really wasn’t his specialty and so we’ll have to ask the plastic surgeon tomorrow.

I’m actually pretty much convinced that that’s what it is, and I was VERY upset for a few days. Then I pulled my head out of my rear and I realized that if that is the worst that came from all of this, we are damn lucky. It would mean a very minor surgery to correct it. The only real major bummer about it would be that some surgeons won’t operate until the child is at least four years old. If she has to go around with one eye half closed for the next three years I am going to be PISSED. But, once again, I’m getting ahead of myself. I will wait until after we see the doctor tomorrow to have any real melt downs.

I was a bit nervous about taking her out in public post surgery. She still has two black eyes (faintly), the droopy eye, and a HUGE f*cking scar. Hubby and I were even practicing witty come backs in the car on the way to Disneyland yesterday. Surprisingly, we got no stupid comments (yet). A few people did stare, but I just covered her head or moved to where they couldn’t see her (hey, we’re not putting on a free show here, right?). But that only happened maybe twice.

So now that we can finally put that huge, freaking horrible experience behind us (knock on wood), some other things have come into focus.

Like the fact that I’m pregnant.

And due in, oh, 12 weeks.

TWELVE WEEKS!?

Uh, yeah. Not ready. Sooooooo not ready.

I have nothing for this baby. No clothes. No bed. Nothing.

And after the roller coaster that has been the girl’s first year of life, I don’t feel like I have much to offer emotionally right now either. =(

I’m excited to meet him. I know he is going to be just as fantasic as the girls are and that I am going to love him just as much.

But right now I am just so tired. And so stressed. And so. Not. Ready.

11 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Krystal August 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    Hey! I’ve been lurking for a bit, but never commented. I just thought I’d tell you my husband has ptosis (his is pretty severe), and he never had his fixed. His parents didn’t have the money when he was very small, and when he was about 7, the Lion’s club in his area offered to pay for it. His folks let him decide, and he declined because it wasn’t as pronounced as it is now. He regrets that now, so get lots of second opinions until your satisfied, and then get it fixed because she may wish you had later. HOWEVER, I’m sure she’s still beautiful (my hubs is!), so try not to panic about it too, too much. It will be okay. It’s very, very minor, I promise.

  2. Krystal August 24, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    Oh, I forgot, his vision is perfect, even with it, so hopefully, it won’t affect her before it gets fixed.

  3. Michell August 25, 2009 at 4:25 am #

    Glad the surgery went mostly well and hope that the eye thing doesn’t require another surgery. Wow, 12 weeks until your due date. Times a flyin!

  4. Sweet Georgia August 25, 2009 at 5:52 am #

    I’m so glad that the surgery went well and that Lennon is on the mend. Regarding the droopy eyelid, you’re right – if that’s the worst thing to happen it’s not that bad. Hope for the best and prepare for the worst.

    I completely understand the not feeling ready (well as much as someone who’s never given birth can be 😉 ). Take it a day at a time, you will be ready when the time comes.

  5. Michelle August 25, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    That is wonderful news about the surgery going well. I thought about you many times over the past couple of weeks. A droopy eyelid is fixable. She is going to be just gorgeous! How fun that you took them to Disney Land. 🙂

    You’ve got about 12 weeks before your little man arrives, that is PLENTY of time. You even have time to take a few weeks to sit back and relax a bit. Get yourself back on your feet and then take care of the little things.

    BIG hugs!

  6. Away2me August 25, 2009 at 6:42 am #

    Glad the surgery went well and Lennon is feeling well enough to go see the light parade. Do you think the eye issue is just left over swelling from the surgery and it will dissipate after another week or two?

    I can’t believe you are 12 weeks from EDD!

  7. Emily August 25, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    I’m so happy that Lennon’s surgery went well. It will take lots of time to recover and I know you’ll give her lots of love. You made it this far, have had some rough times, things will only get better from here!!! Not much longer before your bean arrives, I hope you’re getting some rest. Pamper youself because you’ll be a Mama of 3 soon!

  8. Emily August 25, 2009 at 8:18 am #

    p.s. My family lives in California. In Yorba Linda and Temecula. I haven’t been down there since 2000, but went once a year through my childhood. I’ve been to Disneyland 16 times, and every time you talk about going I get jealous, hehe. Also, crazy as this sounds I miss Carls Jr. and Del Taco.

  9. twondra August 25, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    Glad the surgery went well! I was thinking of you!

    You’re so strong. I admire you for your strength!

  10. Aunt Becky August 25, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    So glad that the surgery is over. I bet you’re feeling a ton of relief now, even with the eye issue.

    And seriously, how can you be 12 weeks away?!? You just GOT pregnant!

  11. S August 26, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    I’m so happy to see you posting over here again……I’ve missed you! I’m glad it’s all over for all of you guys and so happy that sweet baby Lennon is doing well.

    12 weeks???? I can’t believe it!

Leave a Reply

