And…

23 Jun

My quead screen just came back.

This baby has a 1 in 24 chance of having Downs Syndrome.

Of course it does.

Of. Course.

23 Responses to “And…”

  1. sarah June 23, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    I think you should check this blog out – http://www.mylifewithgabriel.blogspot.com/

    Perhaps it’ll be an inspiration for you – and I’m sure that if you asked her for any info she’d be more than happy to share.

    *hugs* btw.

  2. cookieoftheday June 23, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    I don’t really have anything inspiring or useful to say, but I found your blog through another one, and your strength amazes me. Prayers, vibes, good wishes and all that to your family for peace, health, and maybe even for something to go your way and work out perfectly.

  3. seussgirl June 23, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    I’m so so sorry; I really hope you get a break soon!

  4. annacyclopedia June 23, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh, sweetheart. I have been praying for the universe to take some heat off you, and it just doesn’t seem to be getting through somehow.

    I know this is really, really horrible news to hear. BUT…there is a 23 in 24 chance that your baby is completely fine. I know a number of people in real life that had to deal with similar results on the quad screen and they ALL have completely healthy babies. I hope you can breathe a little bit and get some space in the midst of all of this as you decide what comes next – amnio?

    I will still be keeping you in my thoughts, and rooting for you and this little person to be in that 23. And I’m so sorry you’re going through this, no matter what the result. Wishing I could help carry the load for you somehow.

  5. Leah June 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    i feel your anxiousness girl. mine was positive too. of course I’m not dealing with all of the other stuff you are going though. are you getting the amnio? i know you wanted to wait until later. the not knowing has been the hardest part. the chances of him being fine are greater than not. we’ll both hold our breath together. just don’t be afraid to talk about it, as scary as it is to talk about it. i’m here anytime.

  6. bustedbabymaker June 23, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    I’m so sorry – as much as I am a proponent for all of the available (non invasive) testing out there and having all info, they can cause such anxiety. I know you don’t need me to break down for you the actual chance of downs syndrome that this score indicates, but hopefully it provides some comfort. Thinking of you.

  7. noswimmersrant June 23, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Ah…crap. This is so not what you need right now.
    Sending love & BIG BIG HUGS!!

  8. S June 23, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    I’m sorry you faced with another stressful situation. Talk it out here…we’re all here to listen. Hugs!

  9. Emily June 23, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    My friend had a 1 in 4 chance. (Alot higher). Her baby did not have it.

    I know the above words mean nothing to you. I don’t relaly know what to say, other than time will tell. I know this is not the news you wanted to hear, and I know you’re in a hard place in other areas of life right now.

    Just remember that this little miracle WANTS to be in your life. How the heck else did this pregnancy happen naturally? In the end, it will work out.

    Sending hugs…

  10. Orodemniades June 23, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    One second at a time.

  11. Aunt Becky June 23, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    Oh sweetie, shit. I’m not going to try and rattle off the statistics of why this is an improbability because that probably won’t make you feel any better. It’s never helped me.

    But I’m here and I’m listening. I’m so sorry.

  12. Michell June 23, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    I’m so sorry. Remember though, this is just a test and it isn’t conclusive. It can be wrong or inaccurate. And like it was pointed out above, theres a 23 in 24 chance that things will be just fine. I know that no matter what any of us say this is still scary and stressful. I hope soon you will have some more answers that give better information.

  13. Michelle June 24, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    Honey! You poor thing! Seriously. I just can’t even put my feelings into words. I am just hoping that he is in the other 23. Is there anything they can do to further confirm anything, or do you just have to day until D-Day? I am so sorry you have yet another something to stress about. Do you even have a stomach anymore? Or did it just become one giant ulcer? 😦

    *really BIG hugs* Loads of hopeful, well wishes

  14. Leah June 24, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    Oh my gosh, this is just too much. When will you get a break? I wish I could be there to give you a giant hug, lots of money, and some answers. xoxo

  15. Cibele June 24, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    Just seding you a big virtual hug. Hang in there, I know how it is to feel that everything is going wrong. Take a second at a time,things will get better, they have to

  16. Inanna June 24, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Hoping for the best for you. HUGS.

  17. sara June 24, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    So sorry sweetie…hoping and praying for you that things are okay.

  18. Kim June 24, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Popping over from L&F.

    I know how disappointing this news is, and it must be especially difficult when you have so much going on already. I will keep you and your family in my thoughts.

    Before I was married, I was a nanny for a family with three boys – the oldest of which had DS. He was also non-verbal – but he was SUCH a sweetheart, and hilarious to boot! I have several friends with children who have DS and they are every bit as lovable as a child without it. I know that you’re probably scared/nervous/dissapointed/anxious, but I can promise you that no matter what the outcome, you will love this baby more than you ever thought possible.

  19. Artblog June 24, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    Here from L&F.

    I really, really, REALLY hope this is a false alarm. That’s all I can say because denial is usually the only way to cope I found 😦 I’ll check on you to make sure it is…

    HUGS

  20. Michele June 24, 2009 at 10:31 am #

    Sending prayers for your baby… Those results also mean he has a 23 in 24 chance of being perfectly healthy. And, if it is that 1 in 24 chance… he’ll still be perfect. I’m praying right now and wishing you peace.

  21. Ellie June 24, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    Both my 3rd and my 4th children had this result with the quad screen. They are both perfect. I know this may not be much comfort, I just wanted you to know how often this test is inaccurate. Praying for you!

  22. Io June 24, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    Aw shit. The universe really jerks you around my friend 😦
    Hang in there – the chances that he is okay are much better then the chances that he is not.

  23. Two Makes Four June 25, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    Hugs and more hugs. I know the worry doesn’t go away, but chances are that he’s fine. Do you think you’ll go with any further testing?

Leave a Reply

