I am starting to get a very bad feeling about this…

16 Jun

Since most of you do not live in the state of California and, therefore, may not know I’ll start with the background details.

Our state is f*cked.

Basically, we have no money and none left to borrow and are on the brink of filing bankruptcy. Of course no one who works for the state is going to get paid after July which is when the state has announced that they will run out of funds to make payments.

Guess who’s employer is funded by the state?

YEP!

We had an emergency meeting last week at which we were told that we have enough money to stay in business for three months after we stop getting paid and that is it. Already the specific program that I work with (which is funded pretty much entirely on grants and donations) has lost funding this year.

So yea. I’m screwed I think.

Lovely.

Oh, and did I mention that my OB said she wants me off work at 29 weeks? Ohhh yes.

On second thought, maybe that’s a good thing. That’s about 10 weeks from now and then I could collect disability before I have to start collecting unemployment. ::sigh::

The most frustrating part is that I can’t even look for another job. Cause I’m pregnant. Who would hire me (in this economy particularly) just to have me go on maternity leave in a few months.

If I have a single hair left on my head by the end of all of this I’ll be amazed.

Oh, and I am currently waiting for my quad screen test results to come back. ::biting nails::

8 Responses to “I am starting to get a very bad feeling about this…”

  1. Michelle June 16, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    Holy cow girl! You seriously have some of the worst luck. You need to catch a break already. Things are such a roller coaster for you. 😦 I hope that things start to look up and turn around sooner than later. Maybe you will find out you had a rich great-aunt who died and left millions no one knew about until now and you get a hefty share of it. I’m going to hope for that. If I win the lottery, I’ll throw some your way. πŸ˜‰ (And yes, I have a ticket.)

    On a completely unrelated note, do you like word press better than blogger? I know you started out on the latter, and I am thinking of switching over too, but I’m not sure.

    *big hugs!*

  2. Emily June 16, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    You do NOT need this type of stress right now. I’m so sorry the economy is still in the tank. It will get sorted out though… it always does.

  3. noswimmers June 16, 2009 at 8:51 am #

    Shiiiiiit…I’m so sorry. Like you need this stress? 😦 I wish I could take some of it away from you.

    Emily is right, though…it will work itself out somehow.

    HUGE ((HUGS)) to you in the meantime.

  4. Michell June 16, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Yikes. That sucks. Hope there is some sort of answer soon.

  5. annacyclopedia June 16, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    Oh, crap. I’m hoping some good news comes your way very soon to compensate for all the curve balls you’ve been thrown lately.

  6. twondra June 16, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    Wow. When it rains, it pours. I’m soooo sorry. I don’t even know what to say. You’re going through so much. 😦

  7. Aunt Becky June 16, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    Maybe my trip out there on Friday will single handedly cure the budget problem. Because I will be going on a shopping spree.

    Hang in there, friend.

  8. Sweet Georgia June 17, 2009 at 4:33 am #

    Sorry to hear about your job. You’ll get through this!

Leave a Reply

