OB Appointment

13 Jun

First of all, what a HUGE difference seeing a high risk OB makes. And being seen at a real (fancy) hospital this time around doesn’t hurt either.

I knew I should have pushed harder to be seen by someone else when I was pregnant with the girls. ::sigh:: Oh well, too late now.

Anyhow, so the OB lady DID give me a hard time about my weight this time. lol I’m up 8 lbs since I got pregnant. Which, I guess is a lot…I don’t know. It doesn’t seem like it to me because from what I understand you’re supposed to gain around 25 lbs or so while pregnant and if I keep gaining at the rate I have been (about 2 lbs a month) I’ll be at around 20 lbs when I have this lil guy. Maybe she’s taking into consideration the 15 lbs I had yet to lose after the girls?

I’m sort of irked, but at the same time I *have* been eating really badly (french fries and coke anyone?). A bit more veggies and fruit and a few less sugary drinks is not going to be a bad thing. We’ll see what happens.

I refuse to ignore cravings or diet though (unless I develop gestational diabetes of course). Last night, for example, I was craving chocolate – so I ate a few Reese’s Pieces. I could have eaten the whole bag, but I didn’t. =) See? I’m learning.

What really shocked/impressed/scared the crap out of me though was that she said that she doesn’t want me to work past 29 weeks.

Um.

Really?!

She says she wants me off work by the time I started going into labor with the girls. She said she would consider letting me work a few weeks longer if it was a reduced work load (ie, no more driving all over Southern Cali like I usually do).

I was not prepared for that. Plus I am already in hot water at work (I have been really slacking and a complete zombie ever since we found out that Lennon was going to need this surgery). Ugh. Not sure how I’m going to handle this one. Of course I’ll do whatever I have to do to get the Bean here safely – stay tuned.

OH! And I’m 28 today. Totally snuck up on me too!

PS. Hop on over to the other site and check out how cute Lennon is in her helmet!

6 Responses to “OB Appointment”

  1. seussgirl June 13, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Ha – my doctor told me to only gain a total of 15-20 pounds this whole pregnancy. I figure – whatever – I have extra to lose anyway when I get there, I’ll worry about it then. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope you’re able to work out something with your work situation!

  2. MC June 13, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!

    Good luck with the work thing. I hope that it gets worked out fairly easily! Good luck with the weight, too. It’s not fair that they tell us to gain weight, then they tell us not to gain too much!!

  3. Aunt Becky June 13, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    Happy Birthday!

  4. Michell June 14, 2009 at 1:08 am #

    Happy Birthday!! I’m glad you’ve got a doc who’s proactive this time. Hope everything goes well with work etc.

  5. twondra June 14, 2009 at 3:14 am #

    Happy birthday! Wow…you sure have a lot on your plate. I’m thinking of you sweetie!!

  6. Two Makes Four June 15, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    Happy birthday! Dang, you’re young! ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

