It’s about time…

17 May

…that something went my way!

I had my OB appointment with Dr Scary on Friday. And she was anything but!

Those online reviews had me so freaked out that I made Hubby go with me. I went in armed with a list of questions that I was not going to leave until I had answered, and a list of doctors who had gotten good reviews that I wanted to switch to for my next appointment.

But she was friendly, eager to answer all of our questions, interested in hearing what we had to say…She didn’t mention my weight once (I’ve actually gained 3.8 lbs since getting pregnant) and she drug in an ultrasound machine JUST to take a peek and gave us a picture for a souvenir (we didn’t ask)! Um, this was NOTHING like the woman described in those reviews.

She was very concrened about this baby (as are we) becaue Evy and Len have multiple birth defects and she wants us to meet with a genetic counselor, have extra ultrasounds, blood tests, a fetal echo, etc and she wants those things to begin by the end of this month. She wasn’t even thrilled about us going on vacation because she said that we would need to be seen a lot, but was very willing to work around it. =)

She is also pushing us for an amio, which I totally understand given the circumstances, but I still don’t think I can do it. I know two people who have lost their babies after having an amnio…and I don’t think that we could terminate no matter what. Well, I suppose if they could prove to me beyond a shadow of a doubt that the baby was going to be SEVERELY handicapped and that it would suffer – I would consider it. But generally they can only guess at the baby’s condition and even then, I don’t know if I could do it. Let’s just hope it’s a decision I never have to make. I bet if I had all those tests with the girls I would have been told to terminate those pregnancies too.

Oh wait, they did tell me that with Lennon. And yeah, she has some issues…but my world wouldn’t turn without my L-Bug! Yeah, it sucks…but we can handle this stuff. Doesn’t mean we’ll have anymore kids, but this one is already here in our opinion.

Anyhow – off my soap box.

The Dr Rocked.

I am wondering if she is more into our case because we are high risk and that’s why she was more chatty? (Turns out she’s a high risk OB)

Oh yeah, I’m high risk until proven otherwise. Yay for THAT (again).

12 more days until I am laying in a tropical paradise with a virgin Mai Tai in my hand. ::sigh::

10 Responses to “It’s about time…”

  1. noswimmers May 17, 2009 at 9:56 am #

    I bet she is bored to death with “normal” ob cases…sometimes its nice to be “special”! I’m so glad to hear that she wasn’t anything like you expected.

    So excited for you & your vacation–you deserve a break!

  2. Michell May 17, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    I’m glad the appointment went well and that the doctor is being very careful with this. It’s nice to feel like someone is paying attention. I hope you have a nice vacation too.

  3. Becky May 17, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    After Amelia was born with her NTD, I was extra glad I hadn’t gone the amnio route. Like you, my numbers would have been way high.

    So, so glad you had a lovely experience with this OB. You deserve a bit of good news.

  4. Stephanie May 17, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    I’m so glad your appointment went well. I ended up with an amnio with baby C, and it wasn’t as bad as I expected. I hope this pregnancy is just plain and uneventful from this point forward! Have a wonderful trip!

  5. twondra May 17, 2009 at 10:19 am #

    So glad she was good! What a relief.

    I sure hope you have a nice, relaxing vacation. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. seussgirl May 17, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Yay! I’m so glad she was better than expected! (Much better than expecting her to be good and she sucks!)
    It’s also great that she’s so interested in making sure everything is okay, but I can understand the trepidation at the extra testing. We also made the decision to pass on testing, knowing we wouldn’t terminate either.

    Have a great vacation!

  7. undez May 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    I am a woman and after the birth of my little boy, I won a lot of fat in the stomach and hip. I joined www,buildsixpacknow,com and I am very satisfied, I found my size of girl :-).

  8. Michelle May 18, 2009 at 5:29 am #

    Wow. I am so glad she turned out to be a great doctor. Perhaps she read her reviews and decided to be a gentler version? Who cares. I am just glad she is taking care of you. I am sure this baby is just fine. It came all on its own with no help from man, but from God.

    Keep dreaming of that vacation and don’t stress about anything else. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Leah May 18, 2009 at 7:58 am #

    I am a little confused and hoped you could clarify. You mentioned that both girls have multiple birth defects. Can you talk about this a little more? I thought the only thing going on was Lennon’s most recent diagnosis. ????? Hoping and praying that she doesn’t need surgery. Oh, and by the way, can I have the password to view photos of your girls?

    Thanks!!

  10. Idoia May 21, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Wow, I wonder what all those reviews were about, then. Maybe she saw them and changed her bedside manner! Or maybe the patients were jerks. Anyway, I’m glad she was cool after all. Vacation’s almost here!

Leave a Reply

