The good, the bad, and the…well…usual.

7 May

Earlier in the week I decided to google the doctor that I have been assigned to at my new hospital. This is what I found. There was also one review on another site that simply said “She lacks basic human compassion and empathy”. Um. Crap?

When I read this I immediately called over there and asked to see another doctor. I also told them that I needed to be seen sooner (my appointment is next Friday) because I had just been told that I had a large “complex cyst” on my ovary and that I was having pains. The lady who answered informed me that there were no sooner appointments available and that if I had an urgent situation that I needed to go to the ER or Urgent Care.

I am going to the appointment, but I am bringing Hubby to protect me from the scary evil doctor. When I got to make my appointment for next month I will demand to either be assigned a different doctor or I will not be going back there.

I don’t know what I will do if that happens. I don’t want to go back to my old doctor because I REALLY don’t want a Cesarean unless it’s really necessary and Hubby is terrified of me attempting a non hospital birth.

I did get some good news yesterday though. Out of the blue the craino-facial doctor who we filed a grievence against called us at 6pm to let us know that she was faxing over the prescription for Lennon’s helmet and that it would be completely covered by her insurance.

Wooooohooooo! I guess someone told her she was going to be in trouble if she didn’t? I don’t know what worked, but I’m sure glad that something did!

My next issue is that when I called to make the appointment for the fitting the next date they had open was in two weeks! It then takes two weeks for the helmet to come in. My baby will be almost 9 months old by then (they are supposed to begin treatment between 4 and 6 months – the earlier the better – for maximum results). Hubby called and yelled at them and they said they think they will be able to squeeze her in sooner but they can’t do anything until they get the final approval from Kaiser (usually takes less than a week). We’ll see. If it’s really going to take too long I’ll go to Cranial Tech and pay out of pocket.

I’m so sick of our health care system.

Oh, and if that doctor tells me I’m gaining too much weight I will FREAK the hell out. I have gained abou 5 lbs so far, and I’m THRILLED! I had a really hard time gaining weight with the girls and they were 2lbs! (They should have been over 3 lbs by 30 weeks). I want a baby the size of a Thanksgiving turkey this time around damn it!

8 Responses to “The good, the bad, and the…well…usual.”

  1. Michelle May 8, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Holy cow. I am so glad you found the ratings on your doctor. Stay the hell away from her. You don’t need any reason to be worried or stressed in this pregnancy.

    I’m glad you finally got the helmet. I hope they can get you in and get it back soon enough to really help the poor little girl.

    You are such a good mama. Have a fantastic first mother’s day! *big hug*

  2. Bean May 8, 2009 at 6:16 am #

    I’m glad you got the prescription for the helmet and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get an appointment soon. You’ve got so much on your plate I’m sure everything that gets taken care of must be a big relief. Good luck with the doctor. My husband and I both couldn’t stand one of the 4 doctors in the high-risk practice I was going to (and I had read some negative ratings about her too). Fortunately I only saw her once for a regular appointment and then surprisingly whenever I saw her during my hospital stay she was not only friendly but always took more time with me during rounds than any of the other doctors ever did. Point is you just never know – so good luck and I hope it’s not so bad afterall.

  3. noswimmers May 8, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    Ewww…that doc does sound awful scary! I hope you’re able to switch.

    Here’s to Thanksgiving turkey–OUCH! 😉

  4. Amy May 8, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Who knows, give the doc a chance. Maybe it was just the few people who had a bad experience who posted the reviews. Maybe she will suck, but have an open mind. 🙂 Good luck!

  5. Becky May 8, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    That phrase sounds just like Amelia’s neuro. Awful.

  6. annacyclopedia May 8, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    Hope everything goes ok with the doc and either you get a new one or she turns out to be not so bad. And yeah, let’s hear it for a big old turkey-sized baby!

  7. Away2me May 8, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    What doc are you going to see. I’ve seen a couple over there! I can help you possibly on some suggestions.

  8. Michell May 9, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    The remarks about the doc don’t sound promising at all however I also know that people are a lot more likely to comment the bad stuff than the good. However if you get a bad feeling from her at your appointment definitely change docs.

Leave a Reply

