Baby Steps

24 Apr

Sorry I’ve been MIA – we have had a lot going on lately.

I’m still going with allergies for Lennon. She rubs her eyes and nose non stop (poor baby!) and other than that acts totally fine! She has pretty bad congestion that comes and goes but Evelynn has never caught anything from her. If it was a cold Evy would have gotten sick for sure (they share EVERYTHING). Day before yesterday Eveylnn spiked a fever of 102 though, scared the crap out of me, but she was fine. I dosed her with Tyleonl and it was gone and she was back to normal by the next day.

Good gawd this parenting stuff is scary. I love those babies with every cell in my body. I lay awake at night in fear of earthquakes, fires, and crazy maniacs breaking into the house. I’m so paranoid that I put a chair up against their nursery room door so that if it were opened in the middle of the night I would hear the chair fall (there are two door to their room, one through my room and one from the hallway). Yeah, I’m THAT paranoid. I can’t help it – they are so wonderful.

Oh! We also got some really great news yesterday.

Are you ready? (ahem)

HUBBY IS FINALLY ON THE TRANSPLANT LIST!!!!! (again)

We don’t know where on the list he is yet, but it doesn’t sound as though he is close to the top or they would have told us so. We’ll see, we still have our fingers crossed. If he hasn’t gotten a transplant by the time the new baby is a few months old I am going to give him one of mine. I tried to once before getting pregnant with the girls and I was disqualified for high blood pressure. I do *not* have high blood  pressure…I was just REALLY excited about giving him a kidney! So this time I have a plan. And the plan is called Xanax. 😉

So far so good with the Bean. Morning sickness is still haning around, although it’s been better this week (finally).

So, I guess I’ll go ahead and talk about things a bit more now…though it still scares the crap out of me.

I did transfer hospitals so that I might be able to attempt a VBAC. I did not mind having a C section with the girls at all, it was necessary, but the idea of being cut open again for no good reason horrifies me. The hospital I had the girls at has a strict no VBAC policy which, after much research on my part, I have decided is based solely on the fact that it is a VERY busy hospital and they simply don’t want to deal with it. So I have transferred to Loma Linda which is a huge, famous, fantastic hospital. It is where Hubby will have his transplant surgery and it is also were I was born at 29 weeks and began the first few months of my life in the NICU. =)

It’s about a 1/2 hour from where I’m living right now, could be up to an hour in traffic. Pretty reasonable.

I have not been cleared for a VBAC yet, I have my first appointment on May 15th…

I considered a home birth or a birthing center birth as well, but decided that I would feel more comfortable in a hospital since these pregnancies are so close together. If I am blessed with a fourth (a post for another day) I will probably go the home birth route with that one.

And I did cave and buy that triplet stroller off Craig’s List. Eeeeeek. I know! It was too good of a deal to pass up. I figure if anything goes wrong (knock on wood) I can always sell it.

Other than that, I have just been feeling very overwhelmed. I want to be very clear – I am THRILLED about this pregnancy. This is a gift, a miracle, and I love my daughters so much that I couldn’t be happier that I am getting another one!

BUT, overwhelmed. Hubby is about to get a transplant, my girls (well, Lennon) has some health issues of her own, I’m just finishing up college and about to try to find a career, we live with my PARENTS…

And we were trying for ONE baby. And now we are about to have three.

Like I said, this is all GOOD news, but also something that we did not plan for. We will make it work and it is going to be wonderful…but I have to admit, I’m nervous. Ok, I’m scared shitless right now. But we’re working on it. One day at a time, right?

8 Responses to “Baby Steps”

  1. annacyclopedia April 24, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations to you and hubby on getting on the transplant list! That is truly wonderful news.

    And I so appreciate your honesty about feeling overwhelmed with all you have going on right now. You have every right to feel exactly how you feel, no matter how that is, but if I were in your shoes I would definitely be feeling overwhelmed. It is a lot to absorb and a lot to plan for and a lot to get through. I know you will do it beautifully, one day at a time, just like you say. Thinking of all of you today and wishing you peace with the deluge of good news!

  2. Becky April 24, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    HOORAY FOR TRANSPLANT LISTS!!

  3. Michell April 24, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    That’s fantastic about hubby getting put on the transplant list. I hope his wait isn’t too long.

  4. twondra April 25, 2009 at 5:03 am #

    Yay for your hubby! I do know how exciting it is when the transplant is finally in sight. 🙂

  5. Michelle April 26, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Wonderful news about the transplant list!

    One of the guys I work with took one of his twins (conceived via infertility) to the doctor last week to find the cause of her allergies and they had to take so much blood her vein collapsed. Sad! She’s just over a year old. I hope you don’t have to go through that.

    I am so glad the baby is doing so well. Good luck with the VBAC appt. 🙂

  6. BlueBella April 27, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    Yea for transplant news! I hope the timing works out to your advantage!

    And you have every right to feel overwhelmed. Here’s a huge hug!

    Having babies changes everything, but you’re a Mom who can handle just about anything. You care so deeply and that is the foundation that makes you successful. Yes, it’s scary. But it all really will be alright:)

  7. Kate April 28, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    That’s wonderful about the transplant list! Sometimes when life throws a lot at you at once, all you can do is go one day at a time….even when it’s good news. 🙂

  8. Idoia April 28, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    I applaud you for trying to keep your head about you and look at the (b)right side of things. So many people would just lie down and let life steamroll right over them. Yep, it’s overwhelming and a lot to take in. But it is exciting too. You guys can do this! One day at a time is a perfectly fine way of handling it.

    That’s awesome news about the transplant list. Fingers crossed. And I hope you can do a VBAC! That’d be awesome.

Leave a Reply

