Poor Bug

19 Apr

Hubby just left to take Lennon to the hospital.

Yesterday I told him that I thought she might have a cold, but it was so minor we couldn’t tell for sure. Today she spent most of the day screaming and frantically rubbing her nose and eyes…we decided that it was allergies. We took her home (we were at grandma and grandpa’s), gave her a bath and put her to bed with the humidifier on. About 30 minutes later I walked in to check on her and she was making the most horrible noises in her sleep, and gagging.

Hubby and I tried to wash her sinuses out with saline, but it did NOTHING to help her breathe. Poor kid keeps snorting and then crying because she can’t get enough air in.

She doesn’t have a fever and it doesn’t sound like it’s in her chest – so I’m really hoping that we are just overly freaked out first time parents…

But with all of the poor babies I have been reading about lately who are either very very sick or who have passed suddenly, we don’t feel like taking any chances right now. Poor kid already has heart issues and asthma, I’ll feel better if we just find out for sure.

If it’s a cold, she got it at Easter – about a week ago. DAMN people for not washing their hands! I *knew* should have been even more of a nazi than I usually am. We had a whole crowd of people over and I kept asking people to wash – I know some of them didn’t. That makes me SO freaking angry. That’ll be a post for another time. Right now, I just want my sweet princess all fixed up. =(

4 Responses to “Poor Bug”

  1. seussgirl April 20, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    We were such sticklers about sanitizing for about the first year and now we’ve eased up. But we would carry travel sanitizers and if someone reached for the baby, we’d hand them the Purel instead. If someone refused to Purel, they didn’t get the baby. And we managed to avoid getting sick enough for doctor’s visits and/or meds until 2 weeks ago. And I think that came from letting them crawl in the doctors’ office. Ironic. But there is no way I can keep 2 active almost-walkers in a seated, non-mobile position while waiting 1/2 an hour for the doctor!

  2. ifthisworks April 20, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    Hoping Lennon gets better soon! Poor little sweetie!

  3. noswimmers April 20, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    Awww…poor little one! Better to be safe than sorry, though. I hope she feels better soon!

    Grrr to the people who didn’t listen to you…make sure they know she got SICK!

  4. Michelle April 20, 2009 at 7:44 am #

    Sad. I hope she starts to feel better soon. Poor little girl. 😦

Leave a Reply

