Casa

26 Mar

We are thinking about buying a house.

I can’t believe I just typed that! Eeeeek!

Prices and interest rates are SO low right now, we can buy a whole house for about 1/2 of what it would cost us to rent. So, it’s sort of a no brainer. We happen to have a down payment right now, and Hubby’s grandfather has offered us another $10k if we purchase in his area (not sure why, or if we would take him up on it yet or not…). But OMG, could you imagine? That would do wonders for my self esteem – the whole 3 kids and living with mommy and daddy thing is really killin me.

Anyhow, the house(s) we are looking at are not in the GREATEST parts of town (not dangerous or anything, just old) and they will need some work. But still…::eyes glaze over as she starts to day dream::…

We have an appointment with the Realtor tomorrow to look at some properties. We’ll see where it goes – if anywhere. My credit isn’t the greatest.

My stomach hurts. I’ve always been terrified of buying.

16 Responses to “Casa”

  1. Away2me March 26, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Hmmm, how about a 4 bedroom in Hemet for a smokin deal! LOL!

    Good luck. We are thinking of buying a home closer to hubby’s work.

  2. emily March 26, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Good lukc! I love house hunting & buying!!!

  3. emily March 26, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    I meant “luck”

    not lukc.

    Hehe.

  4. noswimmers March 26, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Eeek-I’m so excited for you! Looking at houses can be SO much fun!! Then decorating…FUN!

  5. twondra March 26, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    I love looking at houses. You can dream so much. Good luck!!

  6. Michell March 26, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    Good luck. Looking and planning can be so much fun. And if the area isn’t dangerous but a bit older sometimes you’re getting a much better deal than other areas.

  7. annacyclopedia March 26, 2009 at 5:21 pm #

    That is so exciting! I hope you find the perfect house for you very soon!

  8. samcy March 27, 2009 at 2:05 am #

    Buying a house is super cool – and with the global recession – now is the right time to look – look at auction houses or sherrif sites to – you can get GREAT bargains there.

    And let’s face it you’re kinda going to need your own spot with your little miracle (not that the other 2 aren’t but you KWIM) coming along soon šŸ˜‰

    xxx

  9. Keri March 27, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    Wow – that’s wonderful news! I LOVE looking at houses. Good luck with your house hunting!

  10. Io March 27, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    Good luck! I know it’s scary, and lord knows owning has it’s own issues, but it is also an awesome awesome thing.

  11. Becky March 27, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    That’s so exciting! I’ve bought twice and it’s awesome. (selling sucks, tho)

  12. Merlot March 27, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    My husband and I were just discussing refinancing and getting a much lower rate (we were waiting to it to go down atleast a point). Hey, take advantage of it and get your own place. Congrats!

  13. Io March 30, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    Can I have the password? I apologize if I have asked for it a million times before!

  14. Jamie S March 30, 2009 at 6:40 am #

    I have been following your blog for a bit, never asked for pw.. but would love it šŸ™‚ Thanks!

  15. Jodie March 31, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    I follow your blog found you through Busted and would love to see pics of your girls. Congrats on the new one on the way. We did IVF for our 1st and hoping to have a 2nd the “normal” way but no luck yet! Here is my email Izziemommy@insightbb.com

  16. Idoia March 31, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    Turnkey turnkey turnkey. My totally unsolicited advice. DH and I bought (unfortunately at the peak of the housing bubble) what we thought was a decent house with “good bones” in a decent location. We intended to do some work to it and make it better. Four years later, I am starting to hate every corner of it. It needs so much work and our economic situation has taken such a downturn that it’s overwhelming to think about. BUT. You have a lot of choices now and will probably stumble on something pretty nice in this market. Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

