A question…

17 Mar

Would you say that a man giving his wife flowers when she discovered that she was pregnant is standard proceedure?

Cause that’s never happened around here and I am starting to get my feelings hurt.

Like, REALLY hurt.

What a stupid thing to be so upset about.

Damn hormones.

PS. I’ve added videos of the girls on Flickr.

12 Responses to “A question…”

  1. Michell March 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Did you tell him you want flowers?? I know it sort of ruins the fun of it when you tell them but my experience has been that men don’t get the whole subtlty thing very well or the spontaneous gift giving.

  2. Rona Michelson March 18, 2009 at 1:26 am #

    Um, no. Never happened to me. I agree, many men need less than subtle hints.

  3. twondra March 18, 2009 at 3:01 am #

    I’ve heard of that, although I know Mark would never do it. Sometimes men need that little push but it’s sad that it has to come to that, isn’t it? I would think it would just be standard for the men to do that being you’re carrying his child. I would think he would want to do something for you. (((HUGS)))

  4. Io March 18, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    I think it’s the hormones. He probably has no idea that’s what you want. Just tell him!

  5. Amy March 18, 2009 at 5:42 am #

    Never got flowers here either. I tell my husband all the time he needs to think outside of his little world and realize that others do exist. Notice I said I TELL HIM ALL THE TIME! All I have to say is now you know how if feels to have a “normal” pregnancy! Hugs and lots of happy thoughts coming your way! Can’t wait to see the u/s pics next week!

  6. Katie March 18, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    I didn’t get flowers, although I will say I would have loved them. Heck, I think I have only gotten flowers from Thomas MAYBE 3 times in 5 years, and I’m pretty sure 2 of those occurred when we were still dating, lol.

    Men just don’t see things the same way we do =/

  7. carrie March 18, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    I wouldn’t say it’s standard procedure, but it would be very sweet and thoughtful.

    I have informed my husband that while it ruins the romance, I totally expect a gift at the birth of our son. I’ve always wanted a nice simple locket and I even did the research and sent him a link to one that I like. All he has to do is buy it and have it with him at the hospital.

    We’ll see if he remembers and does it though. :::rolls eyes:::

  8. noswimmers March 18, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    I think you deserve a garden full of flowers! Men just don’t think like that, I guess. :p I bought MYSELF flowers for Mothers Day one year (from the dogs)…that made him feel REALLY guilty, lol.

  9. Michelle March 18, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    I didn’t get flowers when we found out we were pg. All I got was a husband who refused to get excited about the pregnancy and chose to remain skeptical until she was born. And even when she was born I didn’t get flowers even though I told him I would want them before she was born. Some guys are just so oblivious and not thoughtful. I’m sorry our husbands suck. You should go buy flowers for yourself. I do that all of the time. lol

  10. ifthisworks March 18, 2009 at 8:55 am #

    Hm. Sometimes men need to be ‘told’. Otherwise they don’t clue it. (Being the inferior species that they are). 🙂

  11. Becky March 18, 2009 at 11:17 am #

    Never gotten flowers although I think we all deserve them.

  12. Monkey's Mama March 18, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    Aw, you’re so pregnant, and no, I never got flowers from him. The shine was off that star by the 3rd miscarriage. We never really believed the pregnancy would amount to anything until the day she was actually born, and then yes, I did get flowers!

Leave a Reply

