Q & A

11 Mar

How does it feel being an IF Urban Legend?

– Wow. I jut never thought it would happen. People always say “just relax” or “just adopt” and IFers everywhere see red. I could see it when undiagnosed infertility,  but Hubby and I BOTH had fertility issues! We were BARELY able to conceive via IVF with the girls (we only ended up with four embies). How do you make a baby when you have no sperm? lol We’re shocked. Grateful,  but shocked.

How did this happen?

– I have no freakin clue! Hubby’s health situation is exactly the same, so it’s not like he magically got healthy and started making swimmers. Well, at least I assume not. Who knows?! I can’t stress enough how SHOCKED I am. Literally, I almost passed out when I saw those two lines.

But didn’t you have two people dream this before it happened?

– Yep. I laughed.

You mean you still have time for sex with baby twins?

– Go look at my chart. We had sex exactly TWICE last month…and neither time on a day that I would have expected to result in pregnancy. It was CD 10 and CD 16 (I guess that was the winner).

How are you taking it?

– To be perfectly honest, Hubby and I were really upset at first. It’s a bit embarrassing, even though there was NO way we could have known this would happen. Mostly it was just a huge shock and something we weren’t planning for. Now that we’ve had a few days to digest the news, we’re thrilled.

How are your parent’s taking it?

– I was dreading telling my mom, but she practically peed herself with glee! I was floored. She’s already plotting (a new crib, more bottles, etc).

 What about the frozen embryo?

– Yeah…Of course I am going to wait to make sure that this pregnancy pans out alright…but assuming it does we are going to have to donate that embie. Which breaks my heart! I’ve been thinking about that baby since it was conceived…I really want it, but there is just no way I’m going to have another one right after this baby is born. Just. No. Way. And from what I understand, the embies are only good frozen for 3 years.

Are you going to change the name of your blog?

– I guess. I think it sort of still applies…it explains why I am crazy at least! lol, but, I’m open to suggestion? “My Crazy Uterus” perhaps?

6 Responses to “Q & A”

  1. sarah March 11, 2009 at 11:05 am #

    you know, i’ve been thinking….

    what if this one is twins as well? Have you thought about that at all?

  2. ifthisworks March 11, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    Haha, ‘There’s a Party in my Uterus’.

    Anyways, what a shocker. I’m glad your mom was happy.

  3. Becky March 11, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    I’ll think of a great name for a blog, but in the meantime, this is just wild!

  4. Io March 11, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

    Yeah, way to reinforce the urban legend 🙂
    I wish we had your type of “no sperm”!

  5. ibcheryl March 11, 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    We used frozen embryos that were 5 years old that resulted in twin girls

  6. Sweet Georgia March 12, 2009 at 5:30 am #

    Your crazy uterus – indeed!

Leave a Reply

