A Facelift & My Daily Dose of Guilt

4 Mar

It was time for a new look…you like?

I also went through my blog list and removed all of the blogs that are no longer active. I still need to go through and add my new friends and update those who have moved (I left the links alone for now if they were linked to a new site).

What’s with the “guilt” you ask?

Evy and Len have an appointment this morning for their Synagis (sp?) shots and while I was getting them ready (clean clothes and a wipe-down with a wet wash cloth) I noticed that Lennon’s neck was really red. Like, REALLY red. Thinking that she must have spit up on it during the night (they get baths before bed each night, BTW) I started wiping it. And it started BLEEDING!

Um, yeah.

I’m not sure what exactly is going on, but I’m thinking maybe thrush?!

Poor baby started screaming, holding her hands up to her neck and staring at my like I was the Antichrist.

I feel so awful. I am really careful to wash under their necks every time they get bathes, but I feel like this is somehow my fault because I let her be “dirty”. =(

I smeared some ointment on it to hopefully help with the rawness and Hubby is going to ask the doc about it when they get there.

I. Feel. So. Bad.

**UPDATE**

It was a fungal infection from not drying their necks well enough after baths.

Poor kids.

I feel like an idiot.

In the spirit of making light of my guilt, the situation did make me think of this shirt that I saw:

fungi

10 Responses to “A Facelift & My Daily Dose of Guilt”

  1. seussgirl March 4, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Ah, I was beginning to think we were the only ones getting those shots! Man will I be glad to get through March and be done with them!
    We also went though a period of redness and infection; partly because they spit so much and it would get trapped in all their little creases. The ointment they gave us worked really well though, and we just kept it on hand for any recurrences.
    I’m glad you were able to get it diagnosed quickly!

  2. angie March 4, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    I’m trying to piece your story together……I’m guessing you got twins? I hated when my boys got their synagis shots……..I could tell it really hurt. Glad the fungal infection is being treated and will soon be a thing of the past. Thanks again for stopping by!

  3. Io March 4, 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    I do like the new look!
    Poor kiddo with the fungus, but maybe you can get the shirt in onesie form!

  4. Ms. J March 4, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Awwww, poor lil thing!

    Makes me remember one day over the summer when I was buckling Lil Pumpkin into her car seat and she began SCREAMING! I was like “Enough already, you HAVE to sit in the car seat!” I unbuckled her for a second, took a deep breath, and then started to rebuckle her and THAT’s when I realized . . . I had pinched her right thigh into the buckling device and there was a BRIGHT RED WELT!!!

    OMG, did I feel terrible! Of course she had a pediatrican appt the following day! I immediately confessed to the pediatrician, lest she suspect abuse. Her reply? “Oh, don’t worry – I see that alot with parents of toddlers, LOL!”

  5. Michell March 4, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    Hang in there. I hear that parenting is a lot of trial and error. They won’t even remember much of it.

  6. Monkey's Mama March 4, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    Lovin the new look. That is heartbreaking to hear about the neck! And I have also buckled Keira’s chubby flesh right into the snap of the stroller/car seat like Mrs. J. Get ready for that one!

    I hear you about the survivor guilt too. After 4 years of anguish, at my core I will always be “infertile”, even after one successful pregnancy via in vitro. We are all bound by that intense suffering, and as soon as your baby-challenged readers achieve their dream they will be here, reading up on how to survive those first months. Yours is an important job: Reminding women in the dark depths of miscarriage, in vitro or infertility that there is so much hope, and that it CAN…it WILL happen.

    Keep up the great work!

  7. Michelle March 5, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Sad! That was totally not your fault though. Yes, it was from not properly drying their necks, but you were doing the best you could. Now you know to dry them thoroughly, you’ll fix it. Don’t beat yourself up. It wasn’t that you didn’t dry them because you just plain didn’t care. You didn’t realize it.

  8. sara March 6, 2009 at 10:52 am #

    Oh girl…you are such a good mom and shouldn’t have any guilt I swear! I love the new blog look and I am still reading even though not commenting as much as I’d like ((Hugs))

  9. BlueBella March 6, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    You are such a great mommy! As I see it parenting is just a parade of guilt that really never ends. Today it’s not drying their necks enough, tomorrow it will be something else:) Never fear – you know what’s best for your girls and you’ll always strive to do the right thing for them. You really can’t go wrong, but in your mind you’llprobably always question yourself.

  10. Kim Austin March 8, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    Maggie’s neck was like that, too when she was little and got infected so we started blow drying it after her baths on low air and low heat. We do it to Lachlan now, too.

Leave a Reply

