Feeling a bit better now…

30 Jan

Evelynn pushed up on her arms last night during tummy time and lifted her head WAY up!!! Wooohooo!

She also looked at her hand for a little while last night before she shoved it into her mouth and started drooling away. =)

Lennon is still grinding her poor little face into the floor, but she’s the smaller baby…I honestly think she implanted WAY later so I bet she’ll be doing it next week too.

I’m so relieved, that’s one less thing I have to obsess about.

As for the not responding to loud noises issue…Hubby and I have turned into total loser freaks. We go around randomly making loud noises and calling our babies names just to see if they will react…90% of the time they don’t. Evelynn stirred once last night when we made a loud noise while she was sleeping, Lennon startled when we were putting her into the bath and a can of shaving cream got knocked over, and then Lennon woke up and smiled during a nap when she heard my voice (I’m assuming).

Either way, I’ve decided that they are way too social and doing far too well in other areas for them to have be seriously mentally handicapped. They smile and coo and are working so hard at so many other things…if they were going to have such major issues that they were not even responding to loud stimuli – they would be MUCH further behind in other areas.

So, I am going to assume that this means that they are either Deaf (I can handle that!) or that they just don’t care about the noises.

Either way, Hubby and I have agreed that the prudent thing to do would be to start signing around them just in case. Hubby and I already know sign language, so why not? This way if it *is* hearing loss…at least their language development won’t  be behind.

10 Responses to “Feeling a bit better now…”

  1. seussgirl January 30, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    We just have to keep in mind that our precious babies have to work so hard at the little things that sometimes the big things will just happen when we’re not expecting them! I think they’re working harder than we can see. And sign language would be a great idea anyway! We’re sorry we didn’t do the “baby sign language” with our boys – at least the “more” “all done” and “please” that we’ve seen other babies communicate well with.

    I think of your girls often, and anxiously await updates!

  2. Michell January 30, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    Good idea on the signing. Go check out Flotsam on my side bar if you haven’t already. Her posts about her babies hearing stuff were maybe 2-3 months ago.

  3. twondra January 31, 2009 at 3:50 am #

    I’m thinking of you and hoping things work out for the best sweetie!!

  4. ultimatejourney January 31, 2009 at 4:45 am #

    It was probably kinda noisy in the NICU; they may just be accustomed to a lot of commotion. But great idea to sign to them — even babies who hear fine are able to communicate with signs much earlier than speech so that will be helpful!

  5. Michelle February 1, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    Can you take them to an audiologist yet to confirm or deny your fears? It has to be so hard not knowing if anything is going on. There has to be something you can do to put your mind at ease. That being said, I am sure my little girl won’t startle easily thanks to all of the noises she has been exposed to in the womb (i.e., loud outbreaks of barking by the dogs), so perhaps they just don’t startle easily. I will hope for the best.

    Hugs!

  6. Sweet Georgia February 1, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    I think signing around them is a good thing… not just because there may be some hearing problems, but because it’s been shown that you can actually communicate with your baby much earlier through sign language than vocally.

    I am thinking of you and hoping for the best.

  7. lauren February 2, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    Hi there,
    I just ran across your blog and we seem to have very similiar situations and I am also from Southern CA, I don’t have a blog, but if you would ever want to chat- please email me. My email is daphne620 at aol.com
    Take Care, Lauren

  8. sara February 3, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Very cool about the signing. Like Michelle was saying, do they recommend an audiologist? I’m not even sure when you can take little ones for stuff like that so I’m sorry for my lack of assvice. Just was wondering. But hey that’s great about all their progress…they are getting so big!

  9. BlueBella February 4, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    Good work babies! And the signing is a great idea whether they can hear or not. It has come in quite handy with my twins as they started developing communications but weren’t really ready to talk – the signing bridges the language gap until they are ready to talk more.

  10. sarah23 February 8, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    Yay babies! When Annalise was in the hospital, they hooked up some electrodes to her head and played some noises. They then checked to see whether the sounds registered in her brain (they did). I think Annalise slept throught the test, actually. Did your girls have this test in the hospital? If not, maybe your pediatrician can order it.

Leave a Reply

