Miss me?

22 Jan

Sorry I’ve been quiet lately. I came back to work to find a HUGE pile of work waiting for me and (long story short) there was a lot that I needed to get caught up on before an event that we have going on this weekend. Whew.

 

The girls are doing pretty well…still not sleeping through the night as well as we would like them to. They go to sleep between 9 and 11, wake up between 2 and 4 to eat, then sleep again until 8 or 9am. Not bad, but not great.

 

Developmentally things seem to be going alright. Neither girl is rolling over yet…but they are responding to sounds now (turning their head in the direction of the sound). They are also following toys with their eyes and reaching for them. They are cooing and smiling more now though. Pretty much the cutest thing I have EVER seen. I think I am confusing the crap out of my poor children though. Every time they smile and coo at me I burst into tears (I’m just SO happy that they are finally HERE!) that they stop and frown at me. We’re going to have to work on that.

 

We have some people coming out next Tuesday to spend some time with them and evaluate them for special services (mainly occupational therapy). I’m hoping that they qualify…they should be rolling over by now.

 

AND I am losing my mind living with the ‘rents. They are fine and all, and we REALLLLY appreciate them helping us out by letting us stay there…but it feels so very wrong to have a family and be living at home. Unfortunately, due to the crapirific state of the economy…Hubby is pretty much not working at all. Ok. He’s officially not working at ALL. So far my job seems secure (knock on wood)…but it’s just too tight to move out at the moment. Oh so frustrating.

 

Probably for the best, though, since we are still trying to get to the bottom of Hubby’s transplant issue. The last thing we heard is that he needs to go through a whole battery of tests (AGAIN) to prove that he is healthy enough because it has been too long again. It’s a never ending cycle of red tape.

 

I’m thinking of trying to get them to test me again. I have a feeling I would be a match (knock on wood, again).

5 Responses to “Miss me?”

  1. annacyclopedia January 22, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Yes,I have missed you! Glad things are going ok for the girls. I hope things start moving on the transplant stuff. That has got to wear on a person, wondering about that and waiting and waiting. It would be great if you were a match!

  2. seussgirl January 22, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    We have Early Intervention coming every other week; it’s been good to know where the boys are on the developmental scale, even if it’s just confirming that we’re doing things “right.” I hope that you get good evaluators and good therapists if it comes to that!

  3. Orodemniades January 23, 2009 at 4:48 am #

    I hate to tell you…but that’s a lot of sleep! Glad to hear you’re all doing well.

  4. sara January 23, 2009 at 5:56 am #

    The twins sleep schedule sounds so much like Brynn – they must be partners in crime. I hope the therapy stuff comes through too 🙂 I’m keeping you and your husband in my thoughts and prayers on the transplant thing…lots of hugs! Great to hear from you!

  5. jessica ratliff January 26, 2009 at 3:39 pm #

    okay tell me again how long recouperation time is for the donar? i know that it is tough liveing with rents or at least next to them but everything will pan out just as God has intended. glad to here about the girls giving you such joy and i think that even though you are crying they know that you are happy as long as you don’t put them down when you start or smile while crying . glad to also hear about your grad program it will be nice to finnish completely.

Leave a Reply

