Playing Catch Up

9 Jan

I know I was a terrible blogger the whole time I was on maternity leave, but it was really hard dealing with two twins AND not having a lap top. lol

Since I’ve been really bad about keeping everyone updated, here is a quick run down:

At their last appointment (earlier this week) Lennon was 8 lbs 2 oz and Evelynn was 9 lbs even. The doctors were very impressed with their weight gain. =) Yay!

Until a week or two ago we were waking them every 3 hrs to eat at night, but we finally got the go ahead from the doc to let them set their own schedule and the very first time we tried it, they slept for 6 hours, got up to eat, then slept for 6 again. They have pretty much kept that routine ever since and I am SO grateful. I’m still not getting much sleep, but that’s more due to the apnea monitors than anything.

I also have two confessions to make.

The first being that I finally had to give up breast feeding. I felt TERRIBLE about it at first…but no matter what I do Evelynn will NOT breast feed!! Lennon will do it, but can’t get a full feeding that way (she’s exhausted way before she is full). I kept pumping until it got down to only getting out an ounce or so for every 15 minutes of pumping. I did try Reglan at that point, and it was starting to work, but it gave me horrible panic attacks and very, very strange feelings towards the girls. It was a terrible, miserable experience and I don’t ever want to feel that way ever again. I suppose that is what post pardon depression feels like. NOT a good situation.

I am still producing a small amount of milk and so I allow Lennon to breast feed every evening while Hubby makes their bottles. I am just finishing up the frozen breast milk now and they are doing well on the preemie formula. I am considering ordering milk from a bank from time to time for them as well…has anyone ever done this?

I’m conflicted because I want them to have the benefits of breast milk, but feeding them a stranger’s milk creeps me out a bit…ya know? Thoughts??

I also must confess that I finally broke down and allowed the girls to start sleeping with me in my bed. We all sleep SOOO much better this way, and I *love* the snuggle time!!! Particularly since I have had to go back to work now…this is my mommy and baby time.

It started out with me pulling them into the bed with me for just a few hours when they would wake up fussy between feedings…and when I saw how calm and happy it made them, I was hooked. I know people say I’ll never get them back out of my bed…but I don’t care! I waited for these little miracles for over four years! They can sleep in Mommy’s bed for as  long as they want.

7 Responses to “Playing Catch Up”

  1. seussgirl January 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    I can identify with everything you’ve written here. Congrats on trying the b/feeding for so long! And they’ll do just fine on formula. We didn’t even continue the “special” formula (We were on Neosure 22 cal) very long because they didn’t tolerate it well. We’ve done well with just Similac Advance, but man is it expensive! And we go through a lot!

    Their weights sound great! I’m glad they’re doing well!

    And we’ve been bring them to bed with us when they’re having a bad night or wake up too early and won’t go back to sleep in their crib, and I have to say I (secretly) enjoy it too; they won’t be that small and cuddly for long. I do worry (sometimes) about forming bad habits, but I’m trying to just enjoy it for now!

  2. BlueBella January 10, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh I’m so glad you’re doing so great! Yay! What a relief!

    If you still want to try increasing your breastmilk production fenugreek is an herb my lactation consultant suggested. . . only downside is it can make you smell like maple syrup. I tried it and couldn’t stand the smell, but one of my girlfriends had great success with it. Just a thought since Lennon is doing so well and you still seem interested.

    Anywho – keep us posted and post pics soon!

  3. Michelle January 11, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    I don’t think there is a person out there who would fault you for not blogging like crazy while you were on maternity leave with TWINS. I am sure you had your hands full. While it would have been cool to have constant posts, I expected that they would be far and few between for some time. 😉

    I am glad the girls are doing so great. You totally shouldn’t feel bad about the breast freeding thing either. You gave it your very best shot and it just didn’t work out. Truth be told, my fear is that I won’t be able to either. As long as we do our best, that is all anyone can ever ask of us.

    I’m glad things are going so well. Big hugs!

  4. Amy January 12, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    I’m so happy for you and your family. I actually live for 5 am….that’s when Ryan gets up to go to work and Philip wakes up to come in bed with me. We cuddle until my alarm goes off. It is the best time in the world. I also like bedtime because he likes me to cuddle him while we rock and sing. I’m in the same boat as you, back to my job that I love. I feel guilty that I love my job, but it is my identity and Philip is taken care of.

    I’m falling short on my blogging too, but I don’t have much of an excuse because I have 1 child who is pretty mobile these days. Hugs to you and I’m glad that things are getting easier for you.

  5. Sweet Georgia January 12, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    So glad to see you posting and hearing the girls are doing well. Don’t be too hard on yourself about stopping breastfeeding. Lots of children aren’t breastfed and they grow up to be strong smart capable people (without bias obviously – tee hee – I’m one of them). I don’t have any advice to give about getting milk from a bank. I don’t think I’d be able to do it though.

    How’s your hubby doing these days?

  6. annacyclopedia January 12, 2009 at 12:35 pm #

    Glad the girls are doing so well and obviously thriving, however they’re getting fed. And hurray for co-sleeping – I’m all for it, myself. It’s how families slept throughout all of human history, really.

  7. Tammy January 13, 2009 at 4:05 am #

    Glad to hear the girls are doing so well! I don’t blame you for having them sleep with you…I’d be the same way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

