10 Things I’ve Learned Since Having Preemie Tiwns:

14 Dec

1) It is possible (though not always advisable) to hold a bottle with your chin.

2) It won’t hurt them to let them cry while you feed the other one. But it might make them puke all over  the new outfit you just put on them.

3) They will NOT fit in those adorable little preemie clothes for long. But you will buy way to many of them anyway because no matter how many times you are told that, you will never be live it.

4) Pampers are better, but Huggies have coupons.

5) A baby sling and a binkie is the best way to calm a hysterical baby (at least my hysterical babies).

6) It is possible (and easier than you would imagine) to get and keep twins out of the house for the whole day. And yes, you do need two diaper bags.  

7) Babies try to claw their own faces off when they get upset. That’s what the mittens are for.

8) The mittens don’t fit preemies.

9) Getting upset when they are crying in the middle of the night only makes them cry harder and longer. Even if you think you are hiding it well, they will know.

10) Don’t clip their nails with a nail clipper. Even the kind that has a magnifying glass and says that it is made for infants. And don’t call the paramedics…the bleeding WILL stop. =(

10 Responses to “10 Things I’ve Learned Since Having Preemie Tiwns:”

  1. Michelle December 14, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    Aren’t life’s lessons fun? It sounds like you are catching on really fast. Sad about the finger nails, but I am sure every mom does it (I am sure I will do it one day). Its all just part of learning how to be a new mom. I hope you’re getting rest in between learning all of your new lessons. 🙂

  2. Nix December 14, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    Those mittens (with a tie) make wonderful socks for micropreeemies with cold feet though

  3. Annearchy December 14, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    Yeah but you can always call this paramedic!!!! I promise I won’t let you go insane from all the new learning you are doing! Give me 3-4 months and I will be there! Loved the lessons.

  4. Ashley December 14, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Way to go Mamma! 🙂

    The very first time I clipped my daughters nails, I got a little piece of her skin under her nail and clipped it too!! It was horrible!!! (probably worse for me than it was for her… Ok, maybe not, but it sure seemed like it!)

    Needless to say, I didn’t clip her nails for a while after that.

  5. BlueBella December 14, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    You are doing awesome!!!!!!

    Try cuticle clippers – you can get much better control of those flimsy rubbery nearly invisible things babies call nails:)

  6. seussgirl December 15, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    I agree with all of the above! I also learned that newborn diapers don’t come in cases, although you go through way more of them with preemie twins than the average new parent. And yes, Pampers are best, but soo expensive!

    Not that you’re looking for advice, and this wasn’t the greatest method, but we used nail files instead of clippers for awhile. They mostly just tore the nails though. And I did cut a finger the first time I used clippers – it seems like so much blood!

    I hope all is going well!

  7. Sweet Georgia December 16, 2008 at 6:03 am #

    I have no advice to give, but it sounds to me like you’re doing very well!

  8. Lauren December 16, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    Hi there, yes, I saw the movie. I went into it figuring that it wouldn’t be as good as the book, and it wasn’t. I was pretty disappointed, actually, because I felt like they left so much important stuff out of the movie. Their relationship seemed so trite compared to weighty it was in the book(s). But, you’re right, it was sort of entertaining anyway. I’m very interested as to how in the world they’re going to make the second and third books into movies, since there’s so much “otherworldly” stuff in the books. I wonder how they’ll make it realistic.

  9. jessica ratliff December 16, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    it is kinda crazy taking them out for a whole day you have to pack like their is no tomarrow!!

  10. sara December 18, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    Isn’t it the truth about the little ones clawing their faces when they get upset? I do love the Pampers as well – Brynn’s butt seems to get so red in other ones. Ouch for the clippers…I used a nail file for brynn but it just seems to tear her little nails. We should get to work inventing something better. La la and Sara to the rescue!

Leave a Reply

