A little of this, a little of that…

10 Dec

After doing some research I have decided that I most likely do not have thrush but a condition called Nipple Vasospasm. I noticed that since I have been breastfeeding my nipples have turned purple. Wonderful. I am going to try the fish oil capsules, as the article suggests, and I am also going to ask the doc during my next appt. Since the girls STILL aren’t breastfeeding, it’s not too much of an issue.

I have started taking the Reglan to increase my milk supply (WOW, it really works well). But I am only planning on pumping for another few weeks until I go back to work. I haven’t decided if I will continue past that point yet or not.

The girls are doing fairly well. Lennon is starting to come out of her Bradys on her own now and Evy is eating better. They checked Evy’s kidneys and can’t find anything wrong, and her heart mummer seems to have resolved itself.

We did get one bit of really bad news yesterday, however. Lewnnon’s heart murmer turned out to be something a bit more serious. She has a heart valve defect called Aortic Stenosis. The doctor said that he is hopeful that she will lead a perfectly normal life until she is in her 30’s or 40’s, at which point she will need to have the valve replaced. I am hoping to get a second opinion soon, but we are going to wait until after her next appointment with the cardiologist next Friday because he is doing an second echo cardiogram to confirm the diagnosis.

As terrible as that is, I’m relieved that we at least seem to be wrapping things up as far as diagnoses go. At least we are starting to learn what we are actually dealing with and what we are not. The unknown is worse, I think.

The cardiologist suggested that we get genetic counseling before having any more children (LOL). Thanks. As if I didn’t already have enormous guilt for forcing nature and making sick babies.

Although, I did find that there is thought to be a link between the antibiotics that I took throughout my pregnancy for recurrent bladder infections and congenital heart defects. ::sigh::

Oh, and I have pictures! I’ll be posting another entry with the pics. Same password as usual.

4 Responses to “A little of this, a little of that…”

  1. Kimberlee B December 10, 2008 at 10:45 am #

    Hi, i read your blog all the time and would love to see pics of the girls, can i have the password ?

  2. annacyclopedia December 10, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    Hey there – I don’t have your password! could you please send me an email at annarchyinjapan at yahoo dot com if it’s not too much trouble? I’d love to see your girls.

  3. Natasha December 13, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    You posted a comment on my blog and I would love to have your password so that I can see your pics of your girls.

  4. jessica ratliff December 16, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    okay my twins when they were born had a heart murmurs they ended up having to have surgery to close a valve on the out side of their heart called the PDA what it is all babies in urtro(?) use the PDA valve to by pass the lungs. many premees when they are born the valve does not close causing a heart murmur, very slow weight gain, lots of aptnea or bradies ect can be very serious!!!!! but it is a simple proceedure and almost immediate results. when a full term baby’s PDA closes automaticly. please excuse my spelling i dont have any excuses. ask about it!!

Leave a Reply

