Thrush?

3 Dec

So Lennon finally decided that breast feeding was something that she could and would do…over the past two days she has taken to the breast with a vengeance. Great right? Except that as soon as she started latching on and sucking hard enough to ACTUALLY breast feed, I started having such terrible burning pain in my breasts that I couldn’t stand it and I had to pull her off. Great.

I have been Googling like mad, but all I can come up with is that it might be  Thrush. I have been on antibiotics and steroids both during the past few weeks, so that would make sense, but I don’t see a think white coating on the girl’s tongues, nor do I have anything on my breasts. I’m so frustrated.

Any ideas guys? I’ve been wiping my nipples with a viniger solution just incase, but it’s not helping.

It doesn’t hurt when I pump, only when I breast feed.

Is this the normal pain of breast feeding? That doesn’t seem right because I’ve been pumping for so long (I already went through the painful period, didn’t I?)…and I have breast fed a few times before and it was not painful at all (well, the milk touching my skin burns, but that’s a whole ‘nother story).

8 Responses to “Thrush?”

  1. Away2me December 3, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Could it be her latch? An improper latch will hurt badly. Sorry you are having pain, that’s no fun at all. But I’m glad she’s nursing!!!!

  2. BlueBella December 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    We’ve had a case of that, too! Except it’s just my left breast. Weird, I know. Only thoughts here are that since she’s sucking so well your breast is getting emptied and stimulated much better than with the pump, so it’s working harder to keep up. Have you noticed more milk?
    The shooting pains stink, so maybe try just a few minutes at a time to see if it subsides over time. . . and unless you get a lump or red spot infection shouldn’t be an issue. But keep pumping in the mean time so you don’t lose the milk.
    Good luck doll – it’s hard and frustrating – but you can do it!

  3. Ashley December 3, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    I only breastfed for about 6 or 7 weeks and about 3 or 4 of those, I pumped. It was pretty painful, but I don’t remember having a pain like your describing. I don’t really have any advise to give 😦 but just wanted to send you well wishes! Hang in there girl, hopefully it’ll get better soon. 🙂

  4. annacyclopedia December 4, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Sounds like thrush to me – it doesn’t always show up in the same way on everyone. But the shooting pains can definitely be thrush. I would recommend getting a really good probiotic/acidophilus supplement (you should take lots of it for a while, and then a lower dose just as a preventative). You can also break open the capsules and put the powder on your nipples before you nurse so that the babies get some in their mouths, too. The other thing I’ve found helpful in dealing with yeast issues is grapefruit seed extract – you can get it in liquid or capsules. If you can find capsules, totally do that cause the liquid stuff is the bitterest thing known to humanity. I find it works really well to clear up yeasties as well as many other things.

    It could be latch as well, or instead, but with the other issues you were having, it sounds more like thrush.

    You can email me anytime on this stuff – I may not have my own babies yet, but I know a lot of breastfeeding, granola moms who’ve had thrush issues. Hang in there. You’re doing great!

  5. Sarah December 4, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    Breastfeeding can be painful in the first stage. It does go away, but it can be quite sore. Thrush doesn’t always show up on the tongue. It can be on the gums, and the insides of the cheeks. My little one had it along her top gum under her upper lip. If she does have thrush, getting the pharmacist to mix some nystatin with oral gel so that it sticks is a HUGE help. The nystatin doesn’t work well unless it can hang around for a while. The gel just makes it stick and clears it up very quickly.
    Hope it gets better. I had a bad latch and was hurt pretty badly and then I got thrush later. Ouch!

  6. Amanda December 5, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    I’ve got no advice, but I hope you manage to get it cleared up!

  7. Babychaser December 6, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Obviously, I have no advice from personal experience, but I have a friend who had a baby in May that finally gave up on breast feeding because it hurt her so bad (and never got better). Her baby gets 100% breast milk–she just pumps. It’s a PITA, because it takes more time out of her day, but it’s saved her considerable pain and frustration. So that’s an option, I guess.

    But yay for the baby who eats!!! 🙂

  8. jessica ratliff December 16, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    reguarding the purple nipples. i would get them when their was really good suction because their was a lot of stimulation i would even get them when i pumped! also their is the la leche league it is a team of women that have pretty much an unlimited supply of knowledge for breast feeding and nursing. also if you decide to stop and still want them to have breast milk they have a donor program that you can get if from. they test it and everything. they have this league all over so you can lookit up in your area! i know it is a pain but do what you can. you aren’t going to do them harm you will always do what you think is best for them. and if you have doubts about something talk it out with who ever till you are okay with it or not!!! take care of you and the rest will follow

Leave a Reply

