Quick Update

28 Oct

Sorry I am so MIA right now…spending all my time either pumping breast milk for the girls or visiting with them in the NICU. Oh, and I am miserable due to this lovely rash I have developed…but I’ll get to that in a sec.

Both girls are doing well. Evy has been moved to the step-down NICU and they expect Lennon to do the same within the next few days. Lennon has taken to bottle feeding like a champ, Evy – not so much. Evy is over four pounds now and moving to an open crib tomorrow…if she would just learn to eat she would be able to come home. Both girls are being breast fed once a day…both will take some milk (Lennon way more than Evy, she’s a great eater with bottles too)…but not a full feeding yet.

As for the rash…it started on my breasts about a month ago and slowly spread until they were completely covered in itchy red bumps. I have seen three doctors about it and all three told me that it was contact dermatitis (something is irritating my skin, like a soap or a fabric) and that it would go away.

Not only has it not gone away, but today I woke up with it all down my arms and in my armpits…and by this evening it was starting to crop up on my thighs as well.

I did do one round of steroids, which did nothing. And the benedryll is no long helping the itch.

It is driving me CRAZY!!! I have no idea what could be causing it. I have another dr’s appointment on Thursday afternoon, but at the rate this is spreading I might end up in urgent care long before that. =(

16 Responses to “Quick Update”

  1. Sara October 28, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    So good to hear the girls are doing well! I am sure it will be so wonderful when you get to take them home, and sounds like they are progressing more an more with each day. Their pictures are absolutely gorgeous. Don’t think I have ever seen such pretty baby girls. Keep us posted when you have time but we know your busy being super mom these days! Hope you can get some answers on the rash soon! It sounds miserable!

  2. Ms. J October 28, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    Glad to get an update on you and the girls!!!

    Okay, just a wild thought here . . . is there something on the girls skin (lotion, latex glove residue, the hospital gowns, etc.) that could be causing this? Again, seems like wild shot in the dark but who knows. Nursing bra? The breast pump do-hickey?

    Think about you four lots!

  3. twondra October 29, 2008 at 3:26 am #

    Glad the girls are doing good! Sorry about the rash…hope they are able to figure out what is going on.

  4. seussgirl October 29, 2008 at 4:00 am #

    I developed a rash when the boys were in the NICU from the sanitizing cleanser they had us use every time we entered. Doesn’t sound like that can be it, due to where you’re getting it, but I can definitely empathize with you! I hope they figure it out soon!

  5. Away2me October 29, 2008 at 4:47 am #

    So glad the girls are thriving. Sounds like they’ll be home before you know it. (Although I know it will never be soon enough for you).

    As for the itch, could it be due to the change your progesterone levels? I had a bad rash, exactly as you described shortly after I got pregnant and a lot of what I read said it was do to progesterone levels. Maybe your levels falling is the same thing as my levels that were increasing? My doc thought it was the baby aspirin I was on. Yeah right!!!

    Hang in there, I hope it goes away.

  6. Jendeis October 29, 2008 at 5:01 am #

    So glad that the girls are doing well. Hope that they are both able to come home with you soon.

    Sorry about the rash; that just stinks. Hoping that that gets resolved soon. Ouchy!

  7. Michelle October 29, 2008 at 5:33 am #

    I am so glad to hear the girls are doing so well. I was thinking about you last night and wondering how everything is going.

    The rash has got to be the pits. I can’t believe there isn’t something better than can do besides tell you it will go away. It obviously isn’t due to fabric softner! I hope they figure it out sooner than later!

  8. Amy October 29, 2008 at 6:43 am #

    I’m so happy to hear about the progress the girls are making. I can’t wait to see new pics of them. I’m sorry about your rash. I can imagine you are about scratching yourself raw. I only had the itchies in my tummy as it was shrinking, but no rash with it. Been thinking of you and the girls lots and so glad they are doing so well! Hugs!

  9. Lauren October 29, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry about the rash. I completely feel your pain–my stomach was covered in an unbearable itchy red rash after my laparoscopy last month–we finally determined that it was a reaction to the betadine they used to wash my stomach. But it was a really delayed reaction–didn’t come on until a solid week after the surgery. I’m mentioning this in case there’s been anything that’s happened over the last few weeks that could have caused this reaction, even if it’s delayed. I hope you get some relief soon.

  10. Keri October 29, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Glad to hear that the girls are doing well! Thanks for the update.

    Sorry to hear about the rash – just reading about it made me itchy! I don’t have any idea what could be causing it , but hope it goes away soon!

  11. S October 29, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    Hi Stranger,
    I’m so glad to hear from you! I know you are so busy (and itchy) so blogging is a little hard! I am thrilled to hear that those baby girls are doing so well….now if the rash would go away you will be on your way!!!

  12. noswimmers October 29, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    I’ve been thinking about you and your precious little girls. I’m so glad to hear they’re doing well! You MUST post more pics soon!

    I wish I had some advice on the rash…sounds harsh.

  13. BlueBella October 29, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    Yay for the girls!!!!! Keep eating and learning to regulate body temperature! They will be out & home before you know it – though I know exactly how it feels to spend every day in anticipation of “going HOME day”!

    And hope that rash clears up for you! What a terrible drag:(

    HUGS!

  14. Io October 29, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    Yay! So good to hear from you and get an update on the girls! I’m glad they are doing well.
    Sorry about the rash – I hope you get it figured out and cleared up soon.

  15. Michell October 29, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    Good to hear from you and glad the girls are doing well. So sorry about the rash. I know how bad that sucks as I get a horrible one from the bcps (i’m taking now) and the stims (which I’ll be taking next week). I hope it gets better and you get some relief soon.

  16. Natasha November 13, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    I don’t know you but came across your blog from someone else’s and thought I would offer what little advice I have about the breastfeeding thing. I had twins at 36 weeks gestation about a year ago and they weren’t good nursers for a long time so I too struggled with low milk supply for awhile. I also happen to be a NICU nurse. So here is what I did: I pumped my brains out, held them skin to skin as much as possible, and also took fenugreek. It helped immensely and I was able to pump for them and nurse my daughter for almost 6 months when I decided to quit. So if you truely want to do this, stick with it and it will work out. If you decide to stop don’t be too hard on yourself. Every little bit made a difference!

Leave a Reply

