Update on Evy and Len

13 Oct

Both girls are doing good!!

They have both been on room air (21% oxygen) nasal cannula for about two weeks now, and today when I went in to visit them the cannula were gone! So the girls are breathing 100% on their own! I am so excited, please keep your fingers crossed and keep us in your thoughts and prayers that the girls don’t have too many apnea spells so that they can STAY out.

Both girls had blood transfusions a few weeks back which caused them to have jaundice for awhile, but they have also been off the lights for about a week now as well.

All in all, were doing great. They would have been 33 weeks tomorrow and at 34 weeks they will let me start breast feeding them. Once they master that, can maintain their body temps on their own and they stop having apnea they can come home! (Prolly another four weeks or so, we hope).

I have been pumping like a crazy woman, trying to keep up with what the girls are eating (about an ounce each every three hours) right now and also obsessing about keeping my milk supply going until I can actually breast feed them. If anyone wants to know, Mother’s Milk Tea does seem to help a little bit.

That’s about it really. My whole life is expressing breast milk and visiting my babies! lol I’m pretty dang boring right now.

I have a million pics so I’ll post those in another PWP entry, hopefully later tonight.

18 Responses to “Update on Evy and Len”

  1. twondra October 14, 2008 at 2:38 am #

    I’m so happy for you! And so glad to see an update! You’re in my thoughts and prayers! 🙂

  2. Away2me October 14, 2008 at 2:57 am #

    Oatmeal! Oatmeal cookies, cereal, whatever. But eat lots of oatmeal it helps with your milk supply. I induced lactation so I could breast feed our adopted son. Now, I didn’t make too much milk , but I did make some and I noticed that oatmeal made a big difference!

    I’m so glad they are thriving! I can’t wait to see pictures!

  3. seussgirl October 14, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    I’m so glad they’re doing well!
    “My whole life is expressing breast milk and visiting my babies,” oh, I was there for 8 weeks! Good job at working on your milk supply! Are you stocking your freezer with any extra? I probably had over 200 bottles (ranging from 2-4 oz each) in my freezer when the boys came home…it didn’t last long.
    Hoping the girls continue to progress rapidly!

  4. Michelle October 14, 2008 at 5:50 am #

    I’m glad to hear the girls are doing well. They will be home using all of their baby gear before you know it. I hope you are recovering well too and that you aren’t too sore. I can’t wait to see the pictures and I can’t wait for the post when you bring your babies home. 🙂

  5. Amy October 14, 2008 at 6:11 am #

    I’m so glad the girls are doing well and I will pray they continue to keep hitting those milestones. I am taking fenugreek to keep my milk supply up and that stuff works big time! It is a natural herb you can buy anyplace that sells herbs. It smells like maple syrup but doesn’t hurt you or the babies. Google it. I make sure I take it everyday and it has helped with my milk supply. Can’t wait to see more pics! Hugs!

  6. Ms. J October 14, 2008 at 7:54 am #

    Been stalking your blog (along with many of the other posters, I am sure), keeping all four of you in my prayers.

  7. Sarah October 14, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    hi – could i get the password?

  8. S October 14, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    So happy to hear from you and the girls!! Glad things are going well for all of you!

  9. sara October 14, 2008 at 6:39 pm #

    Blog stalker here also wondering if I could have the password. I am so happy to hear they are doing well! I am sure they are just beautiful and good luck on bringing them home asap. I am sure that will be the most exciting day for you guys! Keeping the 4 of you in my thoughts and prayers

  10. Amanda October 14, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m glad they’re both doing so well and hope they keep up the good work. They’ll be home in no time!

  11. Keri October 15, 2008 at 6:26 am #

    I’m so glad that the girls are doing well! I will keep your family in my thoughts.

  12. Sue in WI October 15, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Have been reading your blog for several months now. I’m glad the girls are doing well and would love to have the password so I can view their pictures.

  13. Jill October 15, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    So happy to see a post from you and to hear that the girls are doing well!!

    I want to see a pic! 🙂

    Praying for those baby girls to be home with you soon…

    ((HUGS))

  14. Renni October 15, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Been following your blog for a while, so happy for you. Please send me the password so I can view the pics! Thanks!!

  15. annacyclopedia October 16, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    So great to hear good news. Glad the tea is helping with your milk supply and I’ll second the comment about fenugreek – my sister used it and said it made a big difference. The other thing is getting enough rest and good nutrition, so make people wait on you as much as possible!

  16. Jodie October 19, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    I am glad they are doing well. I follow your blog from Busted babymakers blog and would love to see pics of your girls. I have a blog about my infertility journey and then my IVF miracle baby!

  17. Renni October 25, 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    Hi, I am so glad to hear everyone is doing so well. I am still waiting on the password so I can see the pics!! Can you please send it to reneealeshire@yahoo.com *hugs*

  18. Renni October 28, 2008 at 7:09 am #

    Hi, so glad to hear everyone is going great!! I ´ve been viewing your blog too for a while now. Can I please have the password? renni1010@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

