Stepping Out

25 Sep

Hey this is Annearchy….LaLa’s best friend from Tennessee.  I am stepping in for LaLa because the girls decided it was time to step out into the world!  That’s right ladies and gentleman of the blog world the twins have arrived!!!!  I was sadly not present for the wonderful event.  The girls were born on Sept 23rd via C-section.  Over the weekend the contractions were getting worse and she upped her stop the awful painmeds (I forget the name of the meds) and her doctor wanted to see her.  Well she was dilating and they tried some Mag. Sulfate to stop the labor but…the girls were not to be stopped.  I am not sure of all the details but I know that she had an epideral and in the words of the proud papa “they came out pink, screaming and angry at the world!”  LaLa did well but was sore, a little grumpy and tired the next day.  

     Evelynn was born at 1959 hrs.  Her measurements are; head circumference was 28 cm (11 inches here in the states!), 2 lbs 12.2 oz and 15.5 inches.  Lennon was 2000 hrs with a head circumference of 26.5 cm (10.5inches), 2 lbs 6.4 oz and 14.74 inches.  The APGAR score was 8 (out of 9).  I am assuming it was not the 1 minute score but the 5 minute but don’t qoute me.  The score is impressive for premies!  Both were taken to NICU where they have been taken care of by some awesome nurses!  Both have been intubated.  Last I heard they were considering extubating Evelynn last night but I don’t know if they have.  Lennon’s lungs were slightly under developed but she was breathing a majority of the time on her own.  I talked to the papa briefly last night and he said they can’t wait to hold them but they have got to make some contact and both girls were gripping his fingers!  I think it made him feel better just to touch them.  

     LaLa just informed me that there is a chance that they might have to take Lennon to another hospital for heart surgery for a murmur if she does not respond to the meds tonight.  The hospital where they might take her is actually where LaLa was born!  And since she turned out so well I feel confident they could take care of Lennon.  The whole family is going to need all the good thoughts and prayers that you can send their way.  There is going to be some bumpy roads ahead but this family is strong.  I know how excited I am that the girls are here!  I can’t stop smiling and telling everyone I know.  I have even told a few peoplemulitple times!  But hey what can I say I am happy and proud Auntie.  LaLa wishes she could have updated herself but you know the whole recovery process…plus apparently you get alot of visitors when you have a baby and twice as many when you have twins  =) !  Who would have thought!  So remember good vibes and prayers! 

     Thank you to all the wonderful people that have supported LaLa through this whole process.  I know for a fact that this blog and all the friends she has made here is what really helped her through all the bad, confusing times and certainly though the joyous ones.

27 Responses to “Stepping Out”

  1. Away2me September 25, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    WOW. Congratulations to the entire family. I’m happy they are doing well. They are so tiny! Good thoughts heading your way!

  2. Trace September 25, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Congratulations!!

  3. Jendeis September 25, 2008 at 3:46 pm #

    Yay! Congratulations everyone!

  4. M September 25, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m so glad to hear that they’re doing well, and will be continuing to send great thoughts their way!

  5. Leah September 25, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    Congratulations and a big Happy Birthday to Evelynn and Lennon!!

  6. JJ September 25, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    Thanks for the update–congrats to LaLa and family!!

  7. Sarah September 25, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Congratulations! I will be praying without ceasing until I know that everyone is alright.

  8. Michell September 25, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    Congratulations and I hope the NICU stay is short and that everyone is doing great.

  9. Jill September 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    Yay…the babes are here!! Congrats, LaLa! Can’t wait to see pics of your beautiful babies! 🙂

    Praying for guys!

    ((HUGS))

  10. Amy September 25, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    Congratulations! Happy Birthday, babies!!! 🙂

  11. twondra September 26, 2008 at 3:38 am #

    Thanks so much for letting us know!!! Congrats!!!

  12. seussgirl September 26, 2008 at 4:07 am #

    Congratulations! I hope you have a good NICU experience (as “good” as it can be) and a speedy recovery to all!

  13. samcy September 26, 2008 at 4:37 am #

    Welcome to the world Lala’s girls 🙂

    Congrats Mamma and Pappa!!!

  14. Jennifer (jeba on nw) September 26, 2008 at 4:46 am #

    Yea!! Congrats!! I cant wait to see pictures!!

  15. Sweetgeorgia September 26, 2008 at 6:47 am #

    Congratulations! Welcome to the world girls! Keeping the whole family in my thoughts and prayers.

  16. BlueBella September 26, 2008 at 7:59 am #

    Congratulations!!!!!!!

    I’m soooooooo excited the twins are finally here – even if a bit early! Crossing fingers on their next few weeks and for making steady, healthy progress.

    Also, I have something for the girls – could someone email me where to send them? bluebellababe@yahoo.com

    Again – so glad to hear the girls are here and Mama & Papa are doing well!

  17. sarah23 September 26, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    Whoa! I hope that they get extubated soon and make steady progress in the NICU! Congratulations to Lala and her husband!

  18. Ms. J September 26, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    Welcome to the world, girls!

    LaLa – we know you are swamped, sore, and overwhelmed emotionally right now . . . take your time in returning to BlogWorld – we will be here when you are ready.

    And if you need to talk at all about the heart thing, you know I have a baby with one, too, so you can always email me on that, as well.

    CONGRATS TO MAMA AND DADA!

  19. annacyclopedia September 26, 2008 at 2:05 pm #

    Wow! This is a surprise, but a wonderful one. Glad to hear everyone is safe and sound so far, and I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers for everything to get better and better every day. Welcome to the world, Evelynn and Lennon! Well done, Mama and Papa!

  20. Nix September 27, 2008 at 3:50 am #

    Congratulations to mom and dad and a big hello to the girls!! NICU is not fun but keep your eyes on the end result: Home with 2 wonderful bundles of joy!

  21. S September 27, 2008 at 7:00 am #

    Ohhh…congrats! I am so excited for you guys! I have been out of town and just popped on to check on you! I can’t wait to see some pics of those little babies. Take care!

  22. ultimatejourney September 27, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    Congratulations to everyone!

  23. Monkey's Mama September 27, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    My best to you and the babies! You are all in my thoughts and I’m wishing for quick weight gain and healthy hearts and lungs. Please keep us posted!

  24. noswimmers September 28, 2008 at 2:05 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS LaLa!! Wow…this isn’t what I expected to read today!

    My thoughts and prayers are with you, hubby, Lennon, and Evelyn. Can’t wait to see pics of your beautiful little girls.

    🙂 Mandy

  25. Io September 28, 2008 at 6:49 pm #

    Congrats Lala! I hope everything is going well!

  26. Michelle September 28, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    CONGRATS LALA!!!! Sorry I missed being able to comment when the news was posted, but I was out of the country. I am sure the babies will be just fine. I have a good feeling about it. You are going to be such a wonderful mother. I can’t wait until you feel well enough to post and to see pictures of the beautiful baby girls. I am so excited for you! I hope you have a speedy recovery and that the girls rally quickly.

    Much love and even more hugs and well wishes!

  27. sara September 29, 2008 at 8:27 am #

    Congrats lala and the twins! I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers. I hope that the twins are on their way to a smooth recovery – I know the first few weeks especially with preemies have got to be rough. So know I’m thinking of you often, and update when you can – although I know you have got to have a ton going. ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

