Well, we found out about the transplant….

17 Sep

He’s still at the top on of the list.

He’s still on hold.

Indefinitely.

Apparently he has lost some of his medical benefits because of a raise that I got a year or two ago. Apparently we make too much money (um, hellllo? I make $30,000/a year…this is a JOKE right?!). So they said that they cannot proceed with the surgery unless he gives them a $10,000 retainer OR he has to get the medical stuff situated. I believe they gave him a time frame (3 months, or 6 months…I’m not sure…my head was spinning). Hubby apparently has a few ideas and thinks that he will be able to get things worked out…

But it doesn’t look like the transplant is happening before the twins do.

And it doesn’t look like we will be moving out of my parent’s house any time soon. Lord help me.

::sigh:: 

Meanwhile, in pregnancy land…

I had an appointment today. I am currently measuring 36 weeks…which really bummed me out considering how miserable I have been feeling! I must be such a weenie! lol The doctor kept asking me if I wanted to go out on leave. Seriously, he must have asked 4 or 5 times…

I kept asking him what his opinion on the matter was and all he would say was that it was up to me and that he didn’t want me “pushing it”. In other words, he wants me off now because I’m tired and hurting but he refuses to force me.

So, I am going to ask my work about going down to 20 hours…I am not sure if they will allow that or not. If they will then I will stay until 32 weeks (2.5 more weeks). That is my personal pregnancy goal (although, obviously I hope they stay in longer!) so I think that might be a good time.

I did ask about the strange pains and he said that they are most likely contractions. He said that contractions can be felt in all sorts of different ways and to not worry until they become rhythmic. I am not dilated at all yet, but I do think my cervix is thinning. Things just feel “different” and even the doctor mentioned that he can feel baby A’s head through the cervix now. Oh, and I spotted significantly after the exam, which is new. I’ll be interested to see how things look on my ultrasound in 3 weeks.

6 Responses to “Well, we found out about the transplant….”

  1. Away2me September 17, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    The transplant issue must drive you nuts, not knowing and now having money issues be part of the wait. Maddening!

    Glad your appointment went well and I hope you can cook those babies for a lot longer!

  2. twondra September 17, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    So sorry about the transplant. 😦 How frustrating.

    Glad the appt went well! I’m thinking of ya!!

    Say, any tips on giving yourself a shot? I’m supposed to start on Monday and I’m FREAKING! 🙂

  3. Jendeis September 17, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    Just praying and hoping that everything works out for the good.

  4. Io September 17, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    That’s freaking ridiculous dude. Healthcare is fucked up. I hope things get worked out quickly.
    I hope you are able to hang in there and make it another couple weeks!

  5. BlueBella September 17, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    It’s always mixed news, huh? I feel for you!
    What a weird ass thing to happen with the insurance – WTF?! At least hubby is still at the top of the list, but what if an organ becomes available and you haven’t paid the retainer? Will they skip him over? I don’t think that’s right so that sounds pretty stupid – but what do I know.

    And I totally feel you about the parent thing – I don’t know how you’re doing it. Mine have been “living” here for the past 3 weeks and I’m already scratching my head. Not that I mind – I need the help – but you and hubby must be saints:)

    About the twins – are you getting this ravenous feeling when you eat – like you could not eat another bite you are so full but you’re still starving? That’s what happened to me 2 weeks before the twins were born – I think they somehow knew it was coming time soon and I had had an ultrasound @ 27.5 weeks I believe and they approximated they weighed just around 2 lbs. So @ 30 weeks when they had to take them I was sure they were too small (especially since twins are generally just a little smaller at weekly measurements than singletons), but they were born at 3.5 lbs each @ 30 weeks. All that ravenous eating I did really allowed them to fatten up fast!

    And a gal I talked to the other day had her twins @ 34 weeks and they were 5 & 6 lbs respectively. I think @ 32 weeks if you’re eating well the girls stand a great chance of being good sized.

    Hopefully you can make it longer, but if that’s your goal you NEED TO REST as much as possible! Every day they get inside is several saved in the NICU. And if your insurance is effing with you – believe me, you don’t want to see the NICU bill. 6.5 weeks there for my twins & 1 week for me cost over 350K! Thank God for my great insurance!

    Anywho, doll, I’m pulling for you and the girls and an uneventful next several weeks! and for hubby to get his transplant in good time! (((HUGS)))

  6. JJ September 18, 2008 at 5:45 am #

    Glad he’s at the top of the list…just sorry you all are still waiting.
    Always good to see your update! Sending you happy thoughts=)

Leave a Reply

