Materinty Leave

9 Sep

No, I’m not on it yet…but I’m not sure when to start.

My poor supervisors keep asking me what the plan is, and I have NO idea what to tell them. I try to explain to them that I am at the mercy of the fates at the moment and that the babies could come at any moment…OR they could decide to hole up in there until my due date. I’ve tried to tell them that most twins come around 34 weeks (which would be October 21st for me)…

Apparently I get 8 weeks off for having a C section, but I can take up to 12, and I can have up to two weeks before the birth.

I’m clueless.

I am thinking that I should tell them that I am planning on taking the whole 12 weeks, then I can always come back sooner. But when to start the leave??

How can I predict when they will come? Sometimes I feel like am about to go into labor any second, and most of the time I feel like they are going to stay in there forever! lol

In other news, the BFF is on her way out here tomorrow (yaaay!) and my first shower is on Friday night. I had been thinking that we weren’t going to be getting most of the stuff that we needed (everyone is buying clothes, which is fine, but that leaves us with a TON of stuff to get still). However, apparently my two sets of grandparents got the  bath, the pack n play, the stroller, the thermometer AND the car seats! WOOOT!

I think I mentioned before that my mom and grandmother gave me the money from my great grandmother’s estate sale to buy cribs with, so I have that covered (I just need to order them). And MIL asked me over the weekend what else I really needed and I told her a rocking chair and a changing table.

So that only leaves us with a few little things – Yippie!

Oh, and Hubby finally got a new car…we bought an older SUV (we already have one brand new car, we just needed something to throw the kids and the dogs in and get around town). I *love* it though. I am thinking about trying to convince him to trade me for my Matrix. =)

STILL no word on the transplant.

10 Responses to “Materinty Leave”

  1. twondra September 9, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    I hope you hear about the transplant soon!

    Glad you’re able to get a lot of the stuff! I’m not sure about the maternity leave….I would think they would understand that it’s kind of up in the air? I would take the full 12 weeks. You definitely deserve it!

  2. BlueBella September 9, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    It is hard to be at the mercy of the babies, but hey, it’s pregnancy, not an exact science! I wish I had some good advice for you about what to expect with birthing twins, but really there is no way to tell. Stick with what your Doctors tell you and what you feel in your gut, it’s the best you can do.
    And I’m so glad to hear you’ve got so much stuff for the babies! Better to be ready early & not worry. Glad you’re feeling good, too!

  3. Michell September 9, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    Set a date somewhere around term or 36 weeks or so but yet tell them this is subject to change.

  4. Michelle September 9, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    No clue what to tell you on the maternity leave. Like you said, you are at the mercy of when the babies decide to make their appearance. And how do you determine when it is two weeks beforehand?

    I’m glad that things have been all quiet on the baby front lately. I am sure you enjoy the break from all of the stress.

    Yay for the new car!

  5. samcy September 10, 2008 at 4:10 am #

    No idea at all about the maternity leave! BUT I do hope you hear about the transplant SOON!!

    xxx

  6. Sweetgeorgia September 10, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    I agree with Michell, pick a line in the sand e.g. week 34 and then let them know that you’ll reassess as you get closer to that time. I am from Canada so maternity leave works a little different here. When I get pg (let’s hope that’s soon!) I can take a year off with 60% of my salary paid for by the government – it’s actually unemployment insurance that I’ve paid into all of my working life. So, what does 8 to 12 weeks maternity leave mean? Is that fully paid? Can you take a longer amount of time? Sorry, to hijack the comments – it’s just that I have read a lot of blogs that talk about 2 or 3 months of maternity leave and it’s left me a little unclear about things.

  7. Jill September 10, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    I would hang in there for as long as you can before the babies come (if it were me)…I have a feeling you will want as much time as possible with them once they are here! 🙂 Hopefully your employer will let you play it by ear. *fingers crossed*

    So waht kind of SUV did you get? Alex and I are going back and forth on whether to get another car or get an SUV when we trade mine in.

    ((HUGS))

  8. Io September 11, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Grr on not hearing about the transplant. No doubt the gods are just trying to see how screwy they can time it.
    Dude, the two week before? How is anyone supposed to know that? And especially you.
    Oh! And do you want the packnplay sheet I got at a garage sale (it’s new)? If you send me your address, I will mail it to you.

  9. sara September 14, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    Planning sure can be hard when you’re pregnant, huh? I hope that things work out soon with the transplant – I’m still thinking of you two (and the little ones) often. Hopefully the maternity time stuff works out too, I feel like such a smuck when I don’t know when to tell my work I’m coming back. Don’t you wish we had a crystal ball to know when the kiddos were coming? Maybe we could work on creating that together, LOL!

  10. Jessica September 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    Just found your blogger blog through the blogspot search engine.

    Congrats on your impending twins! I would think your work would be a bit more “flexible” about the when and wherefore lol I would say take the 12 weeks…as you said you can always come back early.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

