All Is Quiet on the Western Front

2 Sep

Thanks for all of the great advice about the thank you gifts for the baby shower. I think I am actually going to take a little bit of everyone’s advice and do a gift basket. I hope they like it!

 

Nothing at all exciting going on around here…which is actually a really good thing.

 

The babies are thumping away in there and are actually starting to keep me up at night.

 

All of this is finally, FINALLY starting to feel real. Next week my best friend is flying out and we are having the “friends” baby shower on Friday. Honestly I think that that is going to be my only one since my mom was planning on doing one the weekend after but hasn’t so much as bought invitations yet. Doesn’t surprise me a bit.

 

Oh well. I’d honestly rather her not do one anyway. It does leave Hubby and I with the burnt of the baby buying since we won’t be having a “family” shower and that was our only hope for big ticket items, but that is also fine.

 

I don’t have a thing for the little ones yet. Well, one pack of diapers that my grandmother bought for us, a few cute outfits that Hubby and I have picked up and a TON of adorable hand-me-downs…but that’s about it. I keep saying that we should start stocking up, but I think I’ll wait until after next week. It just seems silly to do it now, even though they could come at any time, because even if they were to come TOMORROW, they wouldn’t come HOME for quite some time. So I expect that I’ll start stocking up as I approach mid October and the 34 week mark. Not that I wouldn’t *LOVE* to be nesting….::sigh::

 

I figure though, that less will be more until we can get out of my parent’s house (something we are starting to think about more and more, lol). We have such limited space that I am hoping to survive with just the stroller, car seats, a pack & play and a baby bath for now. Hubby and I are hoping to be out and on our own again by February at the latest…I figure that, if nothing else, our tax return should give us the leg up we need to get back into our own place. Mom is finally starting to wear even on my sweet natured Hubby, so it’s time to start planning our escape.

 

I hate that I sound so ungrateful. I’m not, really. I am VERY grateful that my parents are letting us stay there – I know it can’t be easy on them either. But it is just so hard to be used to being on your own as a married couple and then have to move in with someone’s parents. We can’t even have sex for god sake! Well, at least not without feeling like misbehaving teenagers – not the good time it sounds like it could be.

 

Really that’s about it. No news about the transplant yet. No news about the car yet. Everything is amazingly quiet in pregnancy land (hope I didn’t just jinx myself). I’ve been noticing a steady increase in the frequency of the contractions that I have been having…but other than that I am actually much more comfortable than I have been in a long time. Go figure.

9 Responses to “All Is Quiet on the Western Front”

  1. Ms. J September 2, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Can I offer some perspective as one of the newer gals to enter MommyLand? We have received SO much in the way of clothes, that it’s honestly too much. People love, LOVE, to buy clothes for babies, so if there is one thing for you to skip, skip or resist the urge to buy clothes, no matter how much they are on sale.

    What would I advise stocking up on? (Of course, it’s a bit different since I have a toddler) . . . wipes & diapers — but not too many – buy a pack from a couple of different brands, both wipes & diapers, and figure out post-births which ones you like best. The ones I don’t like so much I purposely put Lil Pumpkin into for times when I know she is going to pee/poo within the hour anyway, so it’s coming off again soon. And the wipes I don’t like as much I use for the pee changes, and save the wipes I prefer for the heavy-duty poo. Same thing for bottles – at first, buy a variety and you will quickly figure out which you like best.

    When you are approaching toddlerhood ask me again and I will be ready to give you all sorts of strategic buying advice on toddler foods, toys, and so on.

    YOU ARE DOING GREAT!!!!!!!!

    P.S. If people ask what you need . . . tell them a gift card, be it for Targ.et or local restaurants that offer great take out. Or for your local supermarket.

  2. twondra September 3, 2008 at 3:24 am #

    That’s awesome that things are quiet! I’m glad things are going so well.

    hope you hear news about the transplant soon!

  3. Bean September 3, 2008 at 3:36 am #

    Hi there. So glad to hear that things are quiet on the baby front, and that your shower is on Friday – how exciting! As for stuff — I have to agree with Ms. J, not only do you not need as many clothes as you’ll get, but I found it best to wait to figure out what you like (same with the bottles, diapers, etc). I got about a thousand of those little gowns when my daughter was born but they just didn’t work for us–so it was really a waste. Also as for “stroller, car seats, a pack & play and a baby bath for now” — aside from alot of diapers and wipes that’s about all you’ll need, so I wouldn’t fret. Sometimes I think lack of space is a blessing –it forces you to really think about what’s necessary and ends up saving you money. That being said I hope you all are able to move out soon. I love my parents but I sure can’t imagine living with them!
    Take care and have fun on Friday!

  4. samcy September 3, 2008 at 7:25 am #

    Quiet = good! Yay for the babyshower coming up – take lots of pics!!

  5. S September 3, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    So glad to hear that things are nice and boring on your end!!! I can’t wait to hear about your friend shower..post us some pics!!!

  6. Jill September 3, 2008 at 11:41 am #

    Have fun at the shower!! I hope you gets lots of the stuff you need.

    There comes a time when two grown women just can’t live with each other. 🙂 Doesn’t make you sound ungrateful…totally normal actually!

    I’m glad everything with the babies is going well…

    Still praying for your husband and his transplant.

    ((HUGS))

  7. Io September 3, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Gah, no matter how nice it is that your mother lets you live with them, it is totally understandable that it would drive you nuts. I hope things stay quiet on the pregnancy front (especially while you’re trying to sleep!) and that teh transplant things moves along soon.

  8. Away2me September 3, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your feelings on things not feeling real. I feel so awful for not feeling overly bonded right now with these amazing babies in me. But it’s hard to feel bonded to something that doesn’t feel real yet. I keep thinking that after the u/s I would feel more pregnant (mentally) but so far, not really. I’m totally happy and excited, but sort of, hmmmm, not feeling it could be real yet.

    As for your mom, I don’t know how you do it. I’d be a raving lunatic!

  9. Michelle September 3, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    It would be really hard to be back at home with parents and especially being married and pg. I’m surprised you have handled it so well for so long. Just a few more months!

Leave a Reply

